We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place was spectacular and deserving of its 5 star status. The lobby is actually on the 9th floor so you have this amazing view of the ocean from their lobby. It's a luxury hotel in every sense. Obviously you're going to pay a lot to stay here but you will get superb services. Their pool is outstanding. Their jacuzzi/whirlpool though was not as impressive as the water was only luke warm. Obviously the beach is nice. The bar and the food at the bar was actually pretty awesome. The actual hotel restaurants are supposed to be top notch but they were way to expensive for the reviews I saw for them. They gave us free water bottles which is a nice little touch, but I don't recall there being free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jts813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Aloha jts813,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. The captivating views and uncompromising service make us a truly unique destination and we appreciate your acknowledgement. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,175 - 2,181 of 2,921 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

We splurged and went upscale for our Feb 2012 5 night trip to Kauai. The room was divine. we spent a lot of time in the room just gazing at the unbelievable view! Sunrise, sunset, rainbows over the mountains and sea. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the liquid crystal window in the bathroom was over-the-top fun! we loved it. I was a bit concerned that I would find the staff a bit too obsequious for my simple taste, but the staff were courteous, and mostly understated...perfect. The only two negatives: would really prefer to have self park than to have to wait for, and pay for, valet (even with calling ahead there was a 15 min wait one night--when the car was only steps away). The food was really expensive. we ate elsewhere for the most part. be sure to ask for a refrigerator in your room and go to the local grocery store for breakfast and lunch. the food in the nicer restaurant was good, but the service was poor. I specifically asked for, and was promised, a window table when I reserved, to celebrate our 25th anniversary. But, the two walk-in customers who got off the elevator with us, got the last two window tables. The hostess was less than apologetic. The waitstaff must have been playing a game of poker in the kitchen. he brought out our meal, which was not cooked quite right, and did not come back to check us until we had completely finished eating (at least 20 minutes). he only was serving 1 other table during that time. So that meal was disappointing. but, you can't beat the view at this resort. we were mesmerized!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JasperHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Aloha JasperHiker,

Mahalo for taking the time to post your review and for the kind compliments. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leaders and staff. We look forward to another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which the St. Regis brand is known. Warmest aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. The hotel is great with the mist incredible view. Great service and food. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ask5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Aloha ask5555,

Mahalo for the kind compliments of The St. Regis Princeville Resort. Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. I will be sure to share your comments with the culinary Team and Staff. Warmest aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Met Pierce Brosnan in the lift, Elizabeth Taylor used to stay here, so so amazing cannot put this place, and Island into words. Went to see whales and saw 100's , Its well worth saving up to visit here just once. Late review as went in Februray 2008

Room Tip: Afternoon tea was not good everything else amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Aloha sugarflick,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Regardless in the time of your review, we truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The St. Regis Princeville. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the St. Regis Princeville Resort for our anniversary, and we were extremely impressed by the hospitality of the staff. In particular, Mrs. Makana Bacon reached out to my boyfriend in advance of the trip to ensure that all off the necessary arrangements were in place so that we could relax and not have to worry about how to make the trip amazing. As part of this effort, she coordinated delivery of a special surprise gift from my boyfriend, which I found upon entering our room! In addition to the upfront work, Mrs. Makana Bacon sent us a very kind note and welcome package the evening of our arrival, a completely unexpected and thoughtful surprise.

Overall, the entire hotel staff was incredibly friendly, and it felt like they went out of their way in thinking of our needs first. For example, when we arrived at the property, our room was not ready. Instead of taking our bags and sending us to the bar, they made sure that we had everything that we needed while we waited, including free mixed drinks by the pool. This type of hospitality continued through the entire trip, whether we were interacting with housekeeping, the front desk, or the valet.

The property was clean and the grounds were beautiful, particularly the outside pool area and beach. The only negative I would raise is that the hotel itself feels a little bit dated, though that seems common throughout Hawaii. One tip for other visitors: the restaurants in the nearby towns were worth the short drive. Particularly, The Tavern, Postcards, and the Blue Dolphin Sushi Bar.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robotmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Aloha robotmaker,

Thank you so much for your review and congratulations on the celebration of your anniversary. We are honored that you have selected the St. Regis Princeville Resort to share in a very momentous life milestone such as your anniversary. Our staff takes great pride in providing service that goes above and beyond our guest’s expectations. I will be sure to forward your comment to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed St Regis for 4 nights for our first trip to Kauai. Everything is so perfect! We stayed at the junior suite on 11th floor. The view is AMAZING! 180 degree ocean view. We enjoyed our trip so much. All the staffs are really helpful and they did tried their best to make our trip unforgettable. I have to say this experience was incomparable. I have never been taken care of better. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The hotel offers 100 /night upgrade to junior suite. This is an excellent deal! This give you the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linyliny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Aloha Linyliny,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind compliments of The St. Regis Princeville. Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of The St. Regis. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort. Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was our "splurge" hotel on a recent trip to Hawaii where we stayed at a number of Starwood hotels. We were really excited to stay at this hotel following its appearance in "The Descendants", and the views of the beach in their photos. Admittedly, I was a bit concerned after I read a previous TripAdvisor review advising against using Starwood points at this property, but we decided to keep our booking anyway.

Check-in was a bit messy, with the agent clearly not knowing how to deal with a points stay. There was no personal greeting or mention of our anniversary, even though it was noted on the reservation. Our room was average sized and the decor was a bit dated. No separate shower in the bathroom. The view was quite good, and the one notable feature of the room.

We went down to the pool and found the towel stand unmanned. After walking around the pool and being ignored by every staff member we encountered, we headed back to the towel stand and stood there for about ten minutes until someone walked by and reluctantly agreed to get us towels. Then he walked off behind a building and we never saw him again. In the meantime, a number of other guests came over and said that they, too, couldn't get towels, and that we would probably not see the attendant again. One woman said she had literally rented 40 rooms at the resort (for a business group) and the attendants wouldn't move a chair for them or get them towels. Uh, wow. Needless to say, we never got towels or saw the attendant again.

The only time we actually received "service" at the pool is when my wife sat down in a chair and was told that the chairs were for hotel guests only. When she said she was a guest, the guy gruffly asked her about her name and room number and then walked off. I guess she didn't look like she should be sitting in a St. Regis chair.

To top it all off, the valets and desk staff kept trying to make small talk, but it never seemed genuine or sincere. Perhaps we just didn't "look the part" or spend enough or stay long enough to be treated well. Or, maybe this is what "treated like royalty" feels like. Whatever the case, we found a lot of other excellent properties on our trip, and we didn't take it too personally when the staff member checking us in to the St. Regis said "you're staying THERE?" when we told her we were also staying at the Westin down the road. Note to check-in staff member: you could probably learn a lot from the customer service over at the Westin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue O, Guest Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Aloha TheInternationalLine,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leaders and staff. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which the St. Regis brand is known. Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $590 - $1,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing