We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Location BUT 3 Star Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“5 Star Location BUT 3 Star Resort”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and two young children (ages 3 yrs and 17 mos) just returned from our family vacation. I left Kauai in love with the island but very disappointed with the St. Regis Resort. The location and views of the resort is pure is magnificent. However, the St. Regis does not do it justice and takes advantage of their very special location. I was anticipating a 5 star experience instead it was just average.
To begin with there was no acknowledgement upon arrival of our 10th year anniversary. The rooms are seriously outdated. The carpet was torn and dirty. The closet is badly painted. There is a huge and ugly air conditioning system in the room. The bathroom décor is very dark and felt claustrophobic.
The service around the children’s pool was spotty. Staff appeared not to be happy to work there and room service was really slow. The guest to staff ration appeared not to be at a 5 star standard.
Finally, accommodations for kids are very limited. Visited the young voyagers club on three occasions and no one was there. The 4h floor play room was very poorly stocked.
There were some selected employees that were very helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, we could not see pass all the other shortcomings.
My husband expressed our discounted to a supervisor on the night before our departure, and his answer was,” that is what happens when you book through a third party” (Delta Vacations). Not even an apology. I am also a loyal SPG member, but that did not seem to matter to them.

Room Tip: If choosing the ground /lanai rooms request one with direct access to the pool. Some don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love2travel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    523
    266
    110
    71
See reviews for
630
1,664
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the sister property, Westin Villas which included use of St Regis beach. Adjacent to the beach, there is a beautiful grassy/sandy area. Removed beach chairs over there since it was shady. a security guard came out and cautioned us to keep our chairs behind a certain line because of liquor laws. We sat there ALL day one day, spent $200 and decided it was such a great day we'd come back for our last full day.
We came back to the same spot 3 days later and a manager came out and told us it was illegal to serve alcohol anywhere near where we were sitting. When we told him we were there for an entire day earlier, he said they would serve us (all of a sudden he didn't care about laws?)
The waitress was then rude until we asked her (nicely) if it would be better if we walked up to the bar to get our own food and drinks... In fairness, she recovered after this and was pleasant and polite.
Bottom line, this hotel is missing a huge opportunity. If they had pleasant, fast service at the beach with a good menu, they would be making significantly more money out there... And have happy customers...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing a detailed feedback of your stay at our resort.

As a luxury-service organization, we value every business opportunity and guests alike within our resort. We take great pride in being able to deliver service of the highest standards. We are also aware of the state mandates no alcohol service by areas close to the ocean shoreline, including setbacks purely for safety reasons. All servers and beach and pool attendants are made aware of this regulation in addition to signs posted in 3 areas across the beach.

As a thorough investigation is carried out on the incident in specific, we would like to get more details from you to allow us to ensure consistency in our luxury service standards. Our Director of Outlets, Tshering Ghale would be delighted to hear from you at Tshering.ghale@stregis.com.

Your time and consideration is greatly appreciated and look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Put frankly, visually, this is one of the most stunning resorts I have ever been too. Immaculate interior, amazing views and well put together rooms. Breakfast buffet is the best in the world! Pool service was top notch also. Relaxing pool though never crowded or loud. Make sure to go to the beach at night when no one is there and star gaze.
Only complaint was some service issues, staff seems a little gruff, fake at times. Most of the waiters, cleaning staff were great and friendly, the managers walking around definetly are not from Hawaii, and dont show much aloha at all.
This place is pricey, ocean views start at 500 to 600 dollars. There is no need to stay here more than 2 days to enjoy the facilities, grounds, rooms and dining.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

If you can find a better place to unwind , please let me know. The hotel has been remodeled and it looks great. I was at the St. Regis before they remodeled it... Great job>> Rooms are spacious and you always have a view of the pool and of Hanalei Bay. The most impressive was the service. From the doorman to housekeeping they were there to please you. They were always friendly and when I asked for something, they meet my request with a smile. The sunset from the bar area was spectacular every day. Food was pricey but excellent. Well worth every cent and every bite. You must the the different drinks they offer... WOW!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great. Make sure when you leave t your room you turn of the green light for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

First of all, let me start by saying that we can be a bit picky when it comes to travel, so to impress us this much was quite an accomplishment. The St Regis in our hometown is quite stuffy, and the staff is actually a bit rude - so when we got to the St Regis Princeville, we were blown away by how beautiful the grounds were, and how friendly, helpful, and accommodating the entire staff was at this resort.
Staff:
Here were some of our favorite people while staying here:
Noah - best beach/pool server ever!
Justin - very friendly server at Nalu Kai Grill and Makana Terrace!
Lee - the nicest butler with great recommendations!
Duane - friendliest valet ever, and always prepped our car with towels and water for our adventures!
Irwin - the nicest bellhop - he even stopped on the lobby bar balcony for 15 minutes when checking us in so we could watch our first sunset - very thoughtful!
Accommodations:
We were lucky enough to be upgraded into one of the St. Regis Suites with a view of the ocean and of Hanalei Bay for our stay. It was absolutely beautiful - nice and spacious.
Food:
We were very unimpressed by the entire experience at Kauai Grill. After a poor review to the concierge following dinner that night, the Food and Beverage Manager - Josh called us directly the following morning and asked us to dinner the next night to make it up to us. He could not have been more friendly, and definitely made up for the night before.
The ahi appetizer by the beach/pool is amazing! The food there is very good.
I do think they could use one more restaurant that lends to a more casual feel. Nalu Kai Grill is by the pool, it is a tapas style (which I didn’t actually love) and is a bit more casual. For someone who is looking for a simple meal any night of the week, there are not many options at this resort.
The sunset ritual at the Lobby Bar is a must atleast one night. It is a cluster of people and cameras, but totally worth the experience.
The breakfast at Makana Terrace is enormous, and amazing! Don’t do it everyday (unless you want to gain 15lbs here) but do it atleast once.
Activities:
We were very active while we were staying here, but it was nice to come back to the quiet beach each afternoon for a few hours of relaxation (except for the one day when a bunch of annoying New Yorkers were very drunk, and very loud).
Queen’s Bath – it’s right up the road, and definitely worth it!
Mauna Loa Helicopter Tour – doors off is the way to go…it’s an amazing experience!
Na Pali Zodiac Tour – we booked this through the hotel, and it was an incredible trip! A definite must!
Princeville Ranch Zipline – it’s so close to the hotel, it would be a shame not to experience the Zip and Dip!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica21Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My appreciation of the St. Regis Princeville started a week or two prior to our trip when my husband was contacted by a guest services representative to find out how our stay could be made more enjoyable. The arrival process at the St. Regis lived up to our expectations, and I have to commend all of the valet staff we encountered during our stay. Unfortunately the junior suite upgrade we anticipated was only available for the last night of our stay and we were placed in a terrace room with two beds. However, I actually enjoyed having a large terrace to sit out on, and the convenience of being able to walk right out to the pool and beach. We took this trip to celebrate an anniversary as well as "babymoon", and it was a very nice touch that a chilled bottle of non-alcoholic sparkling cider and two flutes were waiting for us in the room. Strangely enough, on our second day we had to call housekeeping because no one had serviced the room. They came right away, but we didn't have turndown service that night either. For our last night, we were finally moved to a gorgeous junior suite on the 11th floor. It was just a shame that with the limited time we had in the junior suite we couldn't fully utilize the services of our butler.

During our stay, we had the breakfast buffet at Makana Terrace a few times, dinner at Kauai Grill, and several meals/snacks by the pool. The food, service, and view from breakfast were all outstanding. Kauai Grill lived up to all the hype, and I simply can't rave enough about it. The food was fresh and innovative, from the appetizers, to entrees, to dessert. I recommend making reservations so that you can watch the sunset. There is honestly no shortage of vantage points throughout the resort to catch the spectacular sunset, and the St. Regis bar also has a champagne ceremony outside during sunset.

I had the most relaxing pregnancy massage at the St. Regis spa, and I also used the salon one night to condition and blow out my hair. The staff at the spa and salon were excellent and attentive, and the coed relaxation lounge is incredibly tranquil.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the St. Regis and hope to be back again in the future, next time with baby and grandparents in tow.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We recently stayed with our sons at the St. Regis Princeville. The setting of the resort is simply magnificent, and we especially enjoyed watching the sunsets at night with other guests. Our room was also very comfortable, nicely appointed, and the views of Hanalei Bay and the mountains were beautiful. However, the shower in our bathroom had a high step and was difficult to get in and out of. We did not like the glass separation between the shower and bedroom. Amenities in the room were nice and sitting area was great.

The cafe/pastry shop had limited offerings and expensive but good quality coffee. Look forward to seeing more retail shops in the hotel which have yet to open. The corporate property sales office next to the concierge gave the lobby a bit of a "time share" quality. Snacks served with drinks in bar area were stale. The workout room was average. Felt very cramped and my wife and I elected to take walks instead.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay and the concierge, front desk staff and valets at the hotel were all extremely nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobLoriLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. The natural beauty of Kaua’i and lush verdant surroundings of the north shore of Hanalei are captivating. Sunsets are magical from our resort. The sky erupts into a kaleidoscope of many different colors. Similar to an artist canvas and are meant to be enjoyed with others.

The transparency glass reveal which separates the bathroom and bedroom is a unique design for our resort. Electronically controlled glass transforms from clear to opaque allowing the guest privacy or views.

Na Pali Café gives our guest added options for morning food and beverage offerings. Freshly baked items, 100% Kona Pea Berry Coffee, lattes and espresso’s are a sampling of items found at the cafe. The 24 hour fitness center is equipped with the leading Cardio Tech equipment from stationary treadmills, stationary bikes, free weights, balance ball, and amenities. The designated walk path in Princeville is measured at 4 miles round-trip and offers both scenic views and cardio work-out walk nearby.

Our staff strives to deliver the highest level of service and is committed to the Ho’okipa (hospitality) Culture Traditions found only in Hawai'i. Should your travel return you to Kaua’i we look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Regis Princeville Resort.

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing