We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hawaiian Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hawaiian Honeymoon”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here invite honeymoon. If I could give the location 5+++ I would! It is luxury in paradise. Absolutely breathtaking spot over Hanalei Bay. Sunrise, sunset from the hotel room, bar or Makuna terrace were out of this world. The lovely Hanalei town is a scenic and quick drive away.

Breakfast was included in our package and was handsdown one of the best breakfasts we ever had with a drop dead view.

Dinner at the main restaurant, Kauai Grill, was excellent with fast and attentive service. Order the chicken samosa appetizer!

Rebecca in guest services was great and went out of her way to ensure our stay was perfect.

The pool is amazing, with a gorgeous tile floor and lots of cool nooks to hang out in and watch the views from. After a long day of hiking, it was a true oasis. There are a fair amount of families with children but many couples of all ages as well.

The hotel is beautiful with great views throughout. You do have to take 2 elevators to get to the beach from a top floor but didn't bug us one bit as we got to savor the views

We definitely plan to return!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyctripbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay at our resort. Congratulations on your special day and allowing the St. Regis Staff the honor in creating a Bespoke honeymoon stay. The breathtaking view of Hanalei Bay and sunset over-looking Mount Makana is truly magical. We are privilege to be amongst such grandeur and to call Hanalei home.

Your comments shared are well received and will provide other couples considering Kaua'i and The St. Regis Princeville Resort for their honeymoon vacation an unbiased view point.

Thank you for kinds words for the staff and dining experience and mention of Rebecca in Guest Services. They are greatly appreciated and shared during the all staff meeting this morning.

On behalf of the entire St. Regis Ohana (family) congratulations to the two of you, and we look forward to welcoming you back on many anniversary celebrations. A hui hou – until we meet again!

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    524
    266
    112
    71
See reviews for
634
1,665
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I kind of did things backwards and booked our trip and then read reviews. The reviews I read were not kind but got better towards the end so I was a little nervous with the choice I made. We made our way from the airport to the resort in darkness and didn't know what to expect. From the greeting of a huge water feature, brilliantly lit at the entrance to the community to the lovely drive up to the St Regis and the beautiful entrance to the resort we encountered we felt immediately welcomed. The Concierge are very knowledgeable and helpful and most of all welcoming. The bell man took us to our room and showed us all of the features and we tucked ourselves into a lovely room with comfy beds.

We awoke in the morning, drew back the shades and were aghast at one of the most breath taking views I have ever encountered. Amazing mountains, beautiful bay and a welcoming rainbow greeted us every morning.

The only drawback to the resort were the restaurant choices. But saying that the breakfast buffet was great and eating on the terrace overlooking that wonderful vista every morning made you forget all the stresses of home. Once we found the restaurants we liked in Hanalei we had no issues. By the way make reservations for Baracuda Tapas Bar. The food is amazing.

Other than that I have to say that I have never encountered so professional and welcoming staff at any resort worldwide I have stayed at. It is what you would expect at a St Regis and it won't let you down.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixielms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days and it was the 5 best days in a hotel I have ever spent. All the other positive reviews are right on the mark, but I have a few things to add:

1) Stayed on 2 floor which is very close to the pool and beach and has excellent views.
2) Matt in Valet has great info to offer and Rocky at the pool is the best.
3) Yes it is very expensive for drinks and breakfast and I am from NYC but the everything was excellent.
4) Take a tour of the NaPali coast with the UFO boat - it was great
5) There were a lot of kids around (they must have wealthy parents) but really didnt boter us.
6) Pool area is fantastic, it not gimmicky but somehow very intresting to hangout in. Great job by the designer.
7) Staff really cares and goes out of its way for you.

Again this is a great hotel on the quieter side of the island and we hopefully will return in short time.

Room Tip: 2nd floor to be close to beach and pool and still have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raincheck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We just left the island a few days ago and we are already planning our next trip.
We love the St Regis, this was our third stay at your hotel!

The hotel is beautiful and completely wheelchair accessible. The staff is wonderful, the food exquisite. The spa is amazing, we got quite a few treatments and the therapists were all great.

Mahalo for the hospitality,

Francesca Orlando

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca_orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was an amazing hotel. The staff was incredible, the views were amazing, the restaurants were tasty.... we could not have asked for anything more!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay at our resort. We are delighted you had an amazing stay and your experience with our staff and restauarants were incredible. Your kind words were shared during our staff meeting this morning.

On behalf of the St. Regis Ohana (family) we look forward to your return to Hawaii's Quintessential Address. A Hui Hou!

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My wife and I first visited Princeville 4 years ago on our Honeymoon and vowed that we would be back. All of the recent upgrades were a tremendous improvement and I think they hit all of the right spots. We contemplated going to Indonesia or Thailand and we couldn't be happier that we chose the St. Regis Princeville. Princeville is a very special place and we can't wait to get back.

ROOMS: Most, if not all, of the rooms overlook Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai, the views are simply amazing. We could even see a couple waterfalls from our room on the 6th floor. The rooms are all updated and very spacious with some of the most comfortable beds that we have ever slept on. We came back from our trip refreshed and relaxed. They kept the original tile in the bathrooms and the privacy glass window (very cool!), but upgraded the hardware. There were double sinks with plenty of counter space, the shower/tub setup was great, good water pressure, and there were plenty of hooks for towels, bathing suits, etc. They even have hooks in the room for the leis. For families with kids: I would recommend rooms on floors 1-4 as you'll only need to take 1 elevator to get to the pool. The hotel is built into the hillside and you will need to take 2 different elevators if you're staying on floors 5-11.

POOL: Ridiculously awesome! There's plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and an additional 2 levels of lounge chairs near the ocean. We never had any issue finding chairs with an umbrella.

SERVICE: Unbelievable, omnipresent, at times a little much. All of the staff goes above and beyond to make sure that you're enjoying your stay. Valet parking is expensive at $20 per day, but we never had to wait for our car. We'd call the valet when leaving our room and always got someone within 3 rings, very nice. By the time we got to the lobby, our car was always there before us with fresh towels and water. The guys at the pool were also really helpful throughout the week and even let us store our paddleboards overnight. They also didn't hesitate to help my wife take her board in/out of the water. In the rooms, there are buttons for Privacy and Service. Our room was always spotless and the nightly turn down service with bottled water was a nice touch. Bring a lot of dollar bills.

COST: Take out a mortgage... seriously. The St. Regis Princeville is absurdly expensive and I'm not even talking about the rooms. At the pool, cocktails are $15, a veggie wrap with potato chips is $18, and a burger is $26. At Makana Terrace (the main restaurant) it's $18 for coffee, oj, and a danish, $24 for eggs, and $34 for the breakfast buffet. Nothing looked or smelled out of this world, so we had all of our meals in Hanalei. Amazing food at a much more reasonable price. Our favorites were Java Kai and Bar Acuda. We didn't eat a single meal at the hotel and only had drinks at the pool.

Overall, this is an extremely luxurious hotel that doesn't disappoint. It's intimate, great for a romantic getaway or a splurge with the family. Everything will exceed your expectations: scenery, service, and even the final bill.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BPK_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the St. Regis for two nights, arriving June 16th. Next time, we'll stay much longer! It exceeded our expectations.

We had a condo rental (something we rarely do- I prefer hotels. It was a fundraiser for a good cause though) on a Sat-Sat basis, but wanted to try a hotel for a few nights before and after. I checked Trip Advisor and went with the recommendations on the north shore (St. Regis) and the south, Poipu, area. I always research on Trip Advisor before booking anything these days. It worked perfectly this time too, especially with the St. Regis.

I booked through Orbitz because the hotel was sold out one of the nights when I called the St. Regis directly. I booked an oceanfront room ($500 per nt) and we ended up in room 1040, which is a deluxe room (an upgrade! thank you!). We loved the room, bath and the view from our room!

Backing up, we arrived to a warm and efficient welcome from the car parking staff. Our son received a stuffed St. Regis seal and we all got leis! The parking attendant offered to take our photo, which was very nice and is our favorite photo from our vacation.

Check-in was efficient and welcoming. The lobby is beautiful- very elegant and impressive. Bell-man, Toppy, took our luggage up and showed us the room. We all said , "Wow!" It was beautiful and what a view! There was no balcony, but a giant window with a seating area in front. I actually liked the window better than a balcony because it was more private and elegant.

Our son is 10 and is a "hotel-man". He loves hotels and wants to know and see everything. He's getting ideas for his own hotel chain... For him, I sometimes ask for a hotel tour and sometimes he gets one. I had emailed a request to Michelle Davis (whose name I had seen on Trip Advisor reviews). She very kindly made time to take our son on a tour the day after our arrival. The St. Regis was very busy, so I appreciate this very much! Amazingly, the manager, Mr. Sgarbi, also took a moment to shake hands with our boy and welcome him to the St. Regis. Mahalo, Mr. Sgarbi and Mrs. Davis. Our son insists we return soon and for longer!

We loved the pool (no slide for kids, but no problem for our son, who loved it anyway), beach (good snorkeling) , pool restaurant (great service, great food and drinks).
One evening, we stayed for a lobby musical evening with a Hawaiian three-man group. Our son fell asleep on the sofa, but my husband and I had food and drinks and stayed till 10pm. Wonderful, charming group of singers (and a lovely Hawaiian dancer too). Our bell-man, Toppy even took a moment to join in one of the dances with the lovely Hawaiian lady :) It was special and genuine.

I liked the incidentals shop in the lobby where I bought magazines, sunblock and forgotten travel items. It was well stocked and organized. My husband took a look inside a jewelry shop in the lobby and liked what he saw (for me? not yet, if he did)

I tried to book a waxing in the spa, but they were solidly booked for days, so book ahead, as I should have done.

Our stay could not have been better! Mahalo to the warm and professional staff. We'll be back for a longer stay soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveliseducational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay at our resort. May I start by mentioning, “It was my pleasure to share a site tour of the resort with your son (whose name is withheld for privacy). He is a smart, well traveled, well mannered, bright young “hotel man” who is destined for success!” Your love and dedication in providing the very best experiences for your son will reap great benefits for his future. It is in these Bespoke experiences that we strive to create indelible memories for our guest stay.

The impromptu performance shared by Toppy our Bellman along with the hula dancer is what the Hawaiian people refer to as “Kanikapila”, the sharing of impromptu song and dance. I’m delighted to know you experienced this sharing first hand.

On behalf of the entire staff including myself personally, it was our pleasure creating a magical stay for you and your family. We look forward to your return to Kaua’i real soon and the privilege of welcoming you back to Hawaii’s Quintessential Address. A hui hou – until we meet again!

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing