We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a Retirement Community”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nihilani at Princeville
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This place looks beautiful in photos, but if you have kids BEWARE. The management at Nihilani is outright discriminatory against children. Pool looks nice -- great place for the kids to play, right? WRONG! If they make a peep, the management will be down your throats to tell them to be quiet, and not in a nice way either. Rude, rude, rude. I have stayed in many wonderful hotels and vacation rentals all over the world and never have I been treated the way my family was treated here. If you are under 55 years of age, STEER CLEAR.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Nihilani at Princeville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

First off, let me say that the condo itself was beautiful and well appointed - we stayed for 5 days in May 2011. We had a 3 bed/2.5 bath condo (sorry, forgot the #) but it looks like all the condos are very nice. Ours had granite in the kitchen, new appliances, and it just made you feel at home from the minute we got there. Exactly what a rental condo should feel like - and it had great lanais for morning coffee or relaxing after a great day on the north shore. The ONLY downside to the stay was a grumpy owner of one of the condos - who apparently sits on the homeowner's board. We have a family of 5 (3 kids ages 13-10) and were enjoying the pool one late afternoon (its a very nice pool), around 5pm. This gentleman approached us and somewhat arrogantly stated that the noise traveled a long distance in the pool and that we needed to be quiet. I can tell you that we were not being loud. We are very respectful of our surroundings and I'm always cognizant of others. It was so out of line that after we got out of the pool and went to the hot tub, a lady who had witnessed what had happened came over and apologized for his behavior. She is also a owner of one of the condos, was extremely nice, and stated that they have had issues with this gentleman and that we were definitely not being loud. She made us feel better about the incident but our kids still felt bad and were very self-conscious about going to the pool from that point forward. It really put a damper on the whole experience.

All in all, very nice condos and a great location, but with a family I would suggest staying elsewhere until they (or this one individual) figure out if they are "family friendly" or not. Its definitely advertised as "family friendly" and the pool area is great - but with some of the condos being right on top of the pool, you would think that the owner's realize they might get some noise in the late afternoon. Apparently, talking in the pool or kids playing is too much at 5pm. Again, it appears this is just a one person issue - but we will probably look elsewhere when we return for a week in May 2012.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank SunloverBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

What a fabulous place to stay! Well kept condos. We stayed at 3A and our friends stayed at 11C. 3A had the 3 bedrooms upstairs. The master bedroom and the queen bedroom both had balconies. The bed was so comfortable. I didn't get my usual backaches in the morning. I'm sad that I didn't have time to use the large bathtub in the master bathroom. We used the bogie board and fins and beach mats. I also saw some baby stuff there too. The washer and dryer was convenient. I cannot really comment on the kitchen since we ate all our meals at 11C. What a beautiful home.
The layout for 11C was better for a large group. There was a large table all 10 of us could sit at for meals. There is a nice community pool and jacuzzi to use.
Location was near Foodland. Foodland in Princeville is so expensive. I recommend you stop at Costco when you arrive at the airport. There's another foodland that we stopped at that was cheaper than the one at Princeville. A rental car is a must. I really liked the beaches on the north side. I loved Tunnels beach for snorkeling and Secret beach for bogie boarding. We hiked from Ke'e beach to another beach for the view. It took 3 hours round trip and it was worth it. Next time i would take a boat or kayak along the Na Pali Coast. Go to St Regis for expensive drinks and great view of the sunset. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank YL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was our second stay at Nihilani at Princeville and it is just so easy to feel at home there. It takes no time to get settled, and we defintely didn't want to leave. It is by far the most well appointed vacation rental we've ever stayed in. This year we invited some friends to come out and they brought their 20 month old- the condo was perfect for him. The pack'n play, highchair, even baby utensils were put to good use. Everything we needed was readily available. We also appreciate how clean it is. You can truly unplug and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We loved our stay at this condo. Everything is nice, clean, modern & comfortable. Quiet, relaxed community. It's stocked with anything you'd need. We would stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart-nay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

24C at Nihilani was amazing! It is an absolutely beautiful condo, extremely comfortable, everything is new and perfectly thought out. Great patio to read books, great master bed and bath! The condo has a pool with waterfalls and barbecue area. After 4 days it felt like home and I was sad to leave! I am definitely coming back and staying again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannine1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Review:
We spent 3 weeks in December 2010 at 27a and found it most relaxing. Nihilani is an upscale condo community with mostly owners or long-term rentals. 27a feels like a home with quality appliances and furnishings and fine detail work in construction. Most pleasant and we did not need the A/C at all, although it covers the entire unit if needed. Possible limitations: a walk to the pool making it too difficult to have a cookout (the two grills were inoperable when we were there); no workout-exercise room in complex; beach is a drive away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeville hotels
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.3 mi away
The Cliffs at Princeville
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makai Club Resort
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihilani at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihilani at Princeville

Address: 4919 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5356
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: $284 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nihilani at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Nihilani at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihilani At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Nihilani At Princeville Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing