We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME VACATION!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Princeville villas and we'll go back every year now! It was so wonderful that we purchased the Ownership! The beach is 1st class and the access to the new St. Regis is a very nice "perk". The service at both properties made us think we'd died and gone straight to Heaven! The food was excellent at both resorts also. All in all, I would highly recommend this property to anyone seeking an "Old Hawaii" experience. The peacefulness was the best!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahotttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
There are newer reviews for Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

request the third bldg with ocean view from living room. the suites have it all: full kitchen, washer-dryer. the many pool areas are a nice variety. within walking distance to great snorkling, check out sunset from the st regis near by

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JanetH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My family fell in love with the North Shore of Kauai, and have stayed 3 times previously at the Hanalei Bay Resort (HBR). This year we wanted to try different lodging. I planned a 2 week trip , the first half staying at the Hanalei Colony Resort (HCR) in Haena, the second at the Westin. I planned the Westin second thinking we didn't want to get spoiled by the luxury there, and then have to go out the the less well appointed rooms in HCR. As it turned out, within an hour of arriving at the Westin, we made arrangements to return to HCR ASAP. This review will explain why.

The good news is the Westin delivers much of what it promises. If these are the most important factors for you vacation, it might be just what you need.

The rooms are new, modern, elegantly furnished, and have some great features. The bathroom is large, big shower, amazing whirlpool tub with jets and room for 2 adults ;) ;),
and comes with Bath Robes. The kitchen is very modern, functional and has most of what you need to cook your own food. Having a laundry in your room is nice. The rooms are packed tight, we were on the second floor of a 3 story building, but I never heard the neighbors unless I was in the hallway. But, it still feels like a Hotel room, not a condo, for better or worse. Each room has a big TV set in it. That might seem like a plus, but for us, it just meant our 6 year old daughter was back to watching Disney Channel - we would rather go without.

The Pools and grounds are immaculate. Some of the landscaping is just getting going, but it is all kept up very well, looks lovely, and is all fenced into a controlled resort space. There are multiple lovely pools. My daughter loved the water slide, although it exits you into a 1.5 foot deep pool, so watch you backbone! They have poolside dining, which we tried for lunch one day. It was quite good, and nice to eat by the pool, not sure it was $60 for sandwiches and salads nice, but we enjoyed it.

They had some interesting looking activities, like an evening star gazing session, that we did not take part in. Some people might really appreciate that. The food we ate there was good, not great, but good.

Now for some of the things that turned us off.

The Location is not ideal. It is on the Kilauea side of the Princeville peninsula, so you aren't looking out over the amazing Hanalei Bay, or seeing Puff the Magic Dragon or Mount Makana (aka Bali Hai). There are many rooms, like ours, that don't have any kind of view at all, not even from the Lanai. Our view featured some Gas BBQ grills, the parking lot, and a golf course in the distance - I could well have been in Orange County instead of Kauai. The views you do get, like if you walk up the the fence along the cliffs, are dramatic, but mostly straight out over a long blue ocean. I much preferred the views at HCR, which you could get from your Lanai, and the best views were probably at HBR, where you see the Ocean, Makana, and the mountains all at once.

The other issue with the location is beach access. There is a path that leads down to Anini Beach, but it is a long, steep path, which was difficult to traverse after the rains, and was not going to be fun for my daughter to make. Anini beach is OK, nicely protected by a long reef for kids and snorkeling, but it has a very narrow beach. Ke'e and Tunnels are much better beaches for both kids and snorkeling IMO. So that walk down the path to Anini is not worth it to me. The Westin gets around this by shuttling people to the Princeville beach, in front of the 5 star St. Regis. They give you a letter explaining this when you arrive - and warning you not to make fools of yourself, or use the Regis pool, or walk through their lobby, when you are at that beach. This was insulting. We had been to that beach many times in our stays at HBR, and frankly, it is nothing special, similar to Anini, and there was no way I was going to get on a Shuttle to get there and back with a bunch of other Resort goers (not to mention my wife gets car sick if she isn't driving).

The service is high quality, but for me they are way too aggressive. The concierges are on you the moment you arrive to plan things for you. I just want to check it out first k? I'll come to you if I need you. They want to do everything, and nickel and dime you for tips. They don't force you to use Valet parking, but then tell you it will be hard to find parking if you don't. I very much believe in tipping well for services rendered, but I want a choice of what services I want done. Meanwhile, they make a big point to tell you it will be an extra $9 a day for parking. How is that not included in the already substantial nightly rate? Are we expected to get a cab from the airport and just take a shuttle to the beach every day - no thanks - I need to get out of Princeville and see the North Shore please!

Overall, the vibe of the Westin is very corporate. They give you a bunch of cards, and letters and rules when you arrive, and more letters, customer reviews, and rules when you leave. They are constantly advertising their services. They are brutally inefficient in some ways. e.g. The one full day we were there, we didn't want them to clean the room, so we put out the "Serenity" Do Not Disturb sign up. Well, they still had to call and tell us they didn't clean the room, but would if we called housekeeping, but they wanted us to know "We respect your privacy". Which immediately made me feel like they didn't, and really wanted our behinds out of there, so they could make sure we weren't trashing the place. Another time, they called to tell us that the Tsunami warning for today was canceled - which was funny because they hadn't told us it was in effect in the first place. It felt like they were constantly covering their rear ends from some kind of legal infractions, and taking us along for the ride. I got busted a couple times for minor infractions, like sitting on the edge of the infinity pool. I just wonder what would have happened if one of the Security guards on Segways caught someone smoking in the parking lot :(

Basically, when we were at the Westin, we felt the luxury, enjoyed the pool, and appreciated getting all our clothes clean in our room, but we didn't feel like we were on the North Shore of Kauai. Kauai is always the last bastion of indigenous culture - they were the last Island the second wave of Polynesians took over from the Menehunes, they were the last Island for King Kemehameha to unite under a single Hawaiian government, they are the only larger Hawaiian island to have introduced Land Use rules before they were covered with Hotels and Condos. If you appreciate that fact, staying at the Westin, feels like staying with the enemy, go stay in Haena or at at least at a VRBO condo in Princeville. If you could care less about that, this is probably a great place to stay - if you can't get rooms at the St. Regis.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank HCRfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed in one of Westin's villas and were very pleased with our room. It was very clean, modern, and luxurious. The staff were very service oriented and treated us like vacationing royalty. It is, however, about an hours drive away from the Lihue airport. I would strongly suggest renting a car. Taxi's are incredibly expensive, and you will need transportation to see the island.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesd970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We are owners and this was our 1st stay! We were in a 1 bedroom premium unit in building 2. Nice room - granite everywhere -- loved the jacuzzi bathtub -- and the washers and dryers in room --- great balconies -- ours overlooked the main building, gardens and pools -- very beautiful. We found out to request building 3, 6 or 7 for views of the ocean. Learned something new. We bbq'd outside - got eaten by bugs! trail down to ocean was not recommended since it had rained, so we drove -- we also went to the St. Regis, valeted parked, and then also took the shuttle for dinner ---
The pools here are warm, very nice. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. Small market in resort, 2 blocks down is a foodland - get your groceries here or back by Kapaa at the Safeway -- they're probably cheaper and probably have a better selection - but don't get frozen items - will thaw by the time you get through all the road construction. There's 1 road -- and lots of road construction. The road from the airport takes approx. 1 hr to get to Princeville. Gas was hard to find on the way to the airport. Should have filled up in Kapaa.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Wanted to stay at the St. Regis but all rooms were filled, so stayed at Westin. All rooms have kitchens making it nice if you want to cook your own meals, but the smells were at times overwhelming from the adjoining rooms and especially in the hallways (fine if the food always smelled good, but most often not the case). The walls were very thin making it impossible to not hear the people in the adjoining rooms talking or watching tv - we had to turn the fan on while in the room to drown out the other guests. There are no king beds in the studio villas which was a big negative since there was only the two of us and did not need a 2 bedroom villa. There is no breakfast service at the small restaurant on ground, just a "market" in the check-in area to buy coffee and small items. There are 3 pools on the grounds which were nice, but never got deeper than 4 feet. This place was definately geared towards families or groups travelling together. Our room was superfically cleaned each day but the floors were not vacuumed or moped, the sinks and shower not cleaned out, and there were dark hairs on the linens (we both have blond hair). The best thing about this resort was the close location to the nearby beaches, incredible mountains, hiking, horseback riding, and beautiful scenery of the North side of Kauai. We did not spend much time on the resort and most often left each day by 11 am and did not return until 6pm or later, preferring to spend our time exploring the wonderful island and not just the mediocre resort and grounds.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onwaldenpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The rooms included a nearly complete kitchen and had grills just outside the rooms. The staff were great and the grounds were nicely kept.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $306 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing