We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hotel in Paradise”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We checked and were delighted to recieve a room with ocean and mountain views. We noticed later that there are some rooms that are closer to the ocean, but they do not have mountain views. We loved the room, complete with modern updated everything. It was a spacious one bedroom with a large bathroom, kitchen, and shower. The Sunday morning buffet was amazing. Make sure you request an outdoor table next to the water fall. There is a grocery store that has good prices on the main road near the hotel, and that is helpful. You have a shuttle that takes you to the St. Regis so you can use their beach. The views there of the ocean and mountains are magnificent. You can grill outdoors and eat near the pool. The pool is lovely, and they actually have several. On Monday at nine they have a party to inform you about what is available on the island and hotel. They give away lots of prizes. My son and I played the par 3 golf course on the 22nd ranked golf course. It is five minutes from the hotel. The cost was only 15 dollars for me and free for my son. That includes your clubs, but bring your own balls. They have a first class kids club also. We love this place, and found the resort and service there exceptional.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Naplestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    597
    207
    61
    44
See reviews for
586
1,002
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I cannot rate this place highly enough, especially when I compare to my other experiences (see other review) on Oahu.
This places exceeds expectations on many levels. Staff. Pools. Cleanliness. Gardens. Tranquility. Facilities. Gym. The list goes on. At no time did we use the onsite shops or restaurants, but they looked popular and decent value. Shops nearby allow you to self-cater. Excellent restaurants in nearby Hanalei (see other reviews) are truly awesome.
It took around 30-45 minutes to get here from the airport. No big deal, but if you have a heavy right foot when driving....leave it at home. You will need a car to get around. There is plenty of car parking, but be prepared that it's not always available right next door to your property.

We managed to get an upgrade (paid) and we moved from building 7 (great view apparently) to building 3 which suited us down to the ground as it had a pool right outside our patio door and was really quiet. Pool also had a wonderful waterfall and a spa pool. Could have a few more beds and shade perhaps?

There were several other pools on the property and suitable for all ages. Nine of them appeared deep enough for "proper" swimming in though I may get wrong.

The room was spot on. Comfy bed ( as always with Westins). Kitchen was adequate (though I would prefer a proper cooker than a microwave) and great bathroom with shower and spa bath.

Weather? Forecasts say it will be cloudy and will rain every day. It didn't. Rained badly on 2 out of the 10 days. So we got in the car and drove south. Very convenient for beaches, snorkelling, restaurants. Ok, so maybe a lot quieter than the east or south, but it suited us nicely.

Also very convenient for golfers who have plenty of money to spend.

If you do fancy Kauai, the views are just amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear teLeeds: We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate that you shared many levels of the resort that exceeded your expectations. We have recently upgraded and added pool chairs around all 4 pools at the resort. An additional pool that is available complimentary to the Westin guests is the lap pool located at the Makai Golf Club. The complimentary resort shuttle can transfer you there and back as it is located just 5 minutes away. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were here for a wedding and we had several family members staying here ranging from 85 to 10 and there was something for everyone! Not only were the rooms great and accommodating, but the pools and amenities were great!

I realize the cost is a little pricey, but you are in Kauai where everything is imported and the island is dependant on tourism. Our reseverations were going to overlap with the hurricans Iselle and Juilio, we went ahead with our plans and the weather was beautiful! I am so happy with everything this resort has to offer and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amykramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Aloha amykramer: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an awesome family vacation. In spite of the tropical storms that were heading our way, we are happy that you moved forward with your plans and that everything turned out beautiful. We appreciate your comments about what the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lovely villas but save your money on the timeshare. Over priced, no value later when you try to sell and you really don't get better service being a Starwood. Also annual dues are very expensive. Beware!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time staying at the Westin Princeville. It is a lovely resort, although there is no beach access. We were upgraded to a one bedroom unit, however, there were a few items in the unit that obviously needed repair, including including including kitchen appliances, faucet, and will weatherstripping on the doors. The sales presentation was extremely high powered, and we were treated quite poorly when we shared The fact that we felt financially it didn't make sense! As a result of that, I probably will never return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 85Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The bad part: the electricity went out for 5 hours midday. According to a local shop owner and the front desk, seemed to happen often enough. I loved the eternity pool and the preschoolers turtle slide/waterplay area was awesome! Great to bring small kids here. The hotel crowd actually looked like time share/regulars. If we had stayed longer, I would have definitely enjoyed firing up the barbeque. We did have a nice little kitchen and lanai. I definitely recommend a ground floor facing the pool area for easy access. Super relaxing and can't beat the location and beauty. Also regular shuttles to St.Regis luxurious sister property was fabulous beach and view. There was a great calm bay for the little ones. If I came back I would treat myself to a nice meal or appetizer here. Simply divine!

Room Tip: ground floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Aloha 808love: We are delighted that you had a nice escape during your recent stay and that you enjoyed the pool experiences that we have to offer. We apologize that during your stay the Kaua’i utility company had an outage and are glad you were still able to enjoy the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you are able to enjoy a great meal at Nanea Restaurant or Wailele Bar & Grill. Mahalo & Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We left the island early to avoid hurricane iselle and julio. They refused to refund money that we paid. They also charged us for a rollaway that was never brought to our room. The hotel and grounds are beautiful but over priced. The restaurant had good food but was overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Sharie123,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and for taking the time to review your stay. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel grounds and the restaurant, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience when changing your itinerary due to the recent storms. As we are unable to locate your guest information, we kindly invite you to reach out to us at your earliest convenience so that we may be of assistance. Please ask for a guest services manager at 808-827-8700. We look forward to speaking with you soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Vacatia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing