We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't buy a timeshare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't buy a timeshare”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lovely villas but save your money on the timeshare. Over priced, no value later when you try to sell and you really don't get better service being a Starwood. Also annual dues are very expensive. Beware!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    597
    207
    61
    44
See reviews for
587
1,002
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time staying at the Westin Princeville. It is a lovely resort, although there is no beach access. We were upgraded to a one bedroom unit, however, there were a few items in the unit that obviously needed repair, including including including kitchen appliances, faucet, and will weatherstripping on the doors. The sales presentation was extremely high powered, and we were treated quite poorly when we shared The fact that we felt financially it didn't make sense! As a result of that, I probably will never return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 85Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The bad part: the electricity went out for 5 hours midday. According to a local shop owner and the front desk, seemed to happen often enough. I loved the eternity pool and the preschoolers turtle slide/waterplay area was awesome! Great to bring small kids here. The hotel crowd actually looked like time share/regulars. If we had stayed longer, I would have definitely enjoyed firing up the barbeque. We did have a nice little kitchen and lanai. I definitely recommend a ground floor facing the pool area for easy access. Super relaxing and can't beat the location and beauty. Also regular shuttles to St.Regis luxurious sister property was fabulous beach and view. There was a great calm bay for the little ones. If I came back I would treat myself to a nice meal or appetizer here. Simply divine!

Room Tip: ground floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Aloha 808love: We are delighted that you had a nice escape during your recent stay and that you enjoyed the pool experiences that we have to offer. We apologize that during your stay the Kaua’i utility company had an outage and are glad you were still able to enjoy the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you are able to enjoy a great meal at Nanea Restaurant or Wailele Bar & Grill. Mahalo & Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We left the island early to avoid hurricane iselle and julio. They refused to refund money that we paid. They also charged us for a rollaway that was never brought to our room. The hotel and grounds are beautiful but over priced. The restaurant had good food but was overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Sharie123,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and for taking the time to review your stay. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel grounds and the restaurant, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience when changing your itinerary due to the recent storms. As we are unable to locate your guest information, we kindly invite you to reach out to us at your earliest convenience so that we may be of assistance. Please ask for a guest services manager at 808-827-8700. We look forward to speaking with you soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an ocean/golf course view room onvrhe first floor. The mosquitos made it impossible to sit out in the patio in the morning and evening as we were bitten numerous times. The rooms are standard Westin timeshare rooms but the floors were dirty, the woodwork paint was peeling, the air conditioning and refrigerator motors were loud. The beds, as in most Westins, we're outstanding and comfortable. As noted in other reviews, the knives were dull and the neighboring rooms noise was disturbing. There are no beaches in walking distance unless you want to go down steep hillsides off-property but the views from this cliff side resort were breathtaking. The pools were warm and large enough to handle the guests and we never had a problem getting lounges. The kids pool should stay open longer and the pool bar should be placed better (it is located in an out of the way corner) to enjoy the view and have a drink and a TV ball game. They would probably triple their sales of drinks and snacks if this were the case. Groceries should be purchased at Costco in Lihue or Safeway in Kapaa. The Foodland is close but prices are higher and the place was always packed with people. There are plenty of grills on the property, some with outstanding views of the coastline. Unfortunately, Lihue is about an hour drive away on the two-Lane road to Princeville.

We enjoyed our stay but our previous stays at the Westin Ocean in Maui was much better as it is closer to restaurants, the beach and the property feels and looks better maintained and modern. The staff here was very nice except for a bellman who tried to tell us that the large tip given to the employee who unloaded our vehicle of luggage was not shared with him. He had his hand out for more but we told him to work it out with the first bellman.

The property is nice, relaxing and the surrounding area is "old Hawaii style" but we probably won't be back as the Maui property is far superior.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Aloha Gilroygarlic,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and taking the time to review your recent visit. We are sorry the condition of your room did not meet your expectations and invite you to reach out to us to provide your room number as we would appreciate the opportunity to ensure our high standards are maintained. We take the quality of our guests' stays seriously, and look forward to addressing the lapses in quality you experienced. On behalf of the Westin resorts in the islands, we hope you will join us again and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom villa (which was actually a single and studio with connecting door). Disadvantage: This meant was only one closed bedroom. One child on the studio and the other two one the sleeper sofas in each "room". Advantage: Two kitchens and two washing machine/dryers. Also made the total space very spacious. The rooms were nice and bed was comfortable. Bathrooms had both tubs and showers. Kitchens were adequately stocked with equipment and dishes. The grounds are immaculate with spectacular views of the water and golf courses. The pools were very nice but a little too small for the number of people there so during high season get there early. You have privileges at the St Regis next door except the pool. We did not go there, however. Pool side food and bar service available. There is a kids pool but it is only for really small ones so the main one is packed with "older children. If you have all older teenage children or none at all, this is not very relaxing. Fitness room available with nice equipmen Concierge service good. Big pain is you pay for $13 per night for overnight parking. Crazy, just build it into the price of the room. Good value though is in exchange for giving up daily cleaning of your room you get a breakfast brunch at the Nanea restaurant. With two rooms and our breakfast package, we enjoyed buffet everyday. They have Viking grills outdoors for guest use that are convenient and cleaned everyday! The Sunday brunch is very good. The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tablefor5NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Aloha tablefor5NC: We are pleased that you had a great family vacation with us. Thank you for your feedback on the room layout and amenities. The resort has 4 pools in which one is the Keiki (kid’s) pool and the Malie pool at the east end of the resort is designated as the tranquility or quiet pool. Thank you for participating in our You Tidy, We Treat program where our guests have the option to forego daily housekeeping service for one breakfast buffet per day. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to enjoy the Sunday Brunch in Nanea Restaurant as well as some of the 20 BBQ grills that we have spread throughout the resort. We do have a $13 overnight parking fee for either valet or self parking. We do not charge a resort fee although we provide amenities such as complimentary high speed internet access in the villas as well as throughout the public areas. We hope you will choose to have another family vacation with us in the near future. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We are SPG members and property owners here and we love it. The unit is spacious and decorated nicely. We always make sure to stop at the Safeway or Foodland in Kapaa to pick up food and if we get in early the staff always stores it for us. We also make sure to pack a swimsuit, in case we get in early and our room is not ready and just go swimming in one of three pools. I do wonder why the two smaller side pools could not be designated adult only pools, since the main pool is big enough to accommodate children and the noise they make, it would be nice for couples to have a quiet place to go. I don't think it would be an issue and I have seen this done at The Grand Wailea in Maui and the Westin Hotel in Maui and it was very pleasant. The small pools are to small for a big group of kids. Anyways, just a suggestion not a complaint. I love coming here and will continue to do so. We did not eat at the restaurant, but have heard great things about it. The grounds are immaculate and the staff are very friendly. It is great for couples and families and close to many great beaches off site.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dremwver86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Aloha Dremwver86: Thank you for your review and for your loyalty as an SPG member as well as owner. We appreciate the recommendations on tips for grocery shopping and preparing should you arrive earlier than the check in time to enjoy the resort while you wait for the room to be available. We are delighted that you enjoy the pools at the resort. There are 4 pools including the Keiki (kids) pool, the main two level pool and two smaller pools – the Malie pool and Na Pali pool. The Malie pool or tranquility pool is designated as the quiet pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing