We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Emerson, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We were met with smiles from the curbside attendants to the rooms attendants, the service was awesome. Cons: they charge for parking whether you valet or self park, same rate; check-in is at 4pm, and check-out is at 10am; hotel is not on the beach. Pros: after checkout they offered us a complimentary hospitality room for 45 mins to clean up later that day. The hotel is on a cliff with spectacular views of the ocean, and they offer complimentary shuttle to the St.Regis Hotel beach near by. The rooms are very spacious apartments with fully equipped kitchen, dining table, living-room, separate bedroom, large bathroom, washer/dryer, really beautiful. Location is close to many hikes and other activities. Overall this is a winner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Trekerbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Trakerbrat: Mahalo for your review and for your comment about the great stay and awesome service you encountered during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations with the in villa amenities that you outlined in your review. The resort is located on an ocean cliff and does not have direct beachfront access, however, we are fortunate that the north shore of Kaua’i has many beautiful beaches located within a short drive from the resort. The staff provides a beach guide that provides information on the nearby beaches, what facilities are available at the different beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. The resort does have a parking fee. We do not have a resort fee and amenities such as high speed internet access in the rooms and throughout the public areas at the resort in complimentary. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    606
    213
    62
    44
See reviews for
606
1,018
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at westin princeville and for the most part enjoyed ourselves. We are owners at this property and we noticed some wear. The carpet was buckeling in areas. And we didn't think the bedding was as nice. Don't know if heavenly bedding is still being used.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear S J: Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves on your recent stay. We are pleased that we will be refreshing our villas with a soft goods renovation in the fall of this year. Carpet replacement is included with this refresh along with other enhancements. All of our villas include the Westin products including the Westin Heavenly Bed, Bath, Robe and bathroom amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Book your stay here and you won't regret it. The service was great, from Dan who checked us in to the valet guys.

The units are impeccable and the beds fantastic. You will stay in a fully equipped studio or condo, and if you like to grill something one evening there are several grills at each building for your use. The grounds are beautifully kept and the view is to die for.

The Princeville location is truly a much better choice than the south end of the island, unless you like all the hustle and bustle, as well as crowded beaches. Here you can find many long, empty beaches within 5-10 minutes drive. I just love this island and I will be back.

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Aloha susannahSeattle: We are delighted that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for recognizing the staff members including Dan at the front desk and our Service Express Attendants that greet and service our guests in the front porte cochere. It is great to hear about your positive experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us. Mahalo until we meet again,Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This timeshare property is located on a cliff in the Princeville community. Many have noted the lack of direct beach access but there are paths to the ocean and the easy access to the lovely beach at the St. Regis makes this a charming property for couples and/or families that don't mind driving to the fantastic beaches of the North Shore. The staff here is very friendly and helpful and there was no pressure to attend a timeshare presentation-just an offer which we passed on. The weather in March on this part of the island is tricky and brilliant sunshine can vanish to dark clouds and rain. Flexibility is crucial here and it's what makes this island so special. Lots to do at the Westin and a great jumping off point to the sights of this area.

We used the baggage delivery service affiliated with US Airways to transport our luggage here. No waiting at baggage claim and the Westin stored it until we arrived (following a COSTCO run)! Great service when you are arriving after a long day ($49 for 4-10 bags).

Room Tip: We were in Building 4 and took a first floor room. Beautiful view of the ocean and golf course. Fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Aloha William S: Thank you for your review and comment about The Westin Princeville being a great resort of the North Shore of Kaua’i. We especially appreciate your comment about staff friendliness and helpfulness as they make every effort to ensure our guests have a great experience during their stay. I am certain that readers of your review will appreciate your tip on the US Airways baggage delivery service. We hope we will see you back with us again soon on your next visit. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We like adventurous travel, but the Westin 6 day 5 night $800 including rental car credit offer came on a dark night after a bad day at work, and I succumbed. They aren’t our people but they live very
comfortably and we enjoyed their friendly staff, fancy sheets, luxurious towels and great location!

We were in building five, looking over the parking lot to the golf course and ocean. Super well insulated room so always quiet, kitchenette with everything but an oven (and we managed to bake our calzone in a BBQ so no impact0. Our concierge Tracy gave us lots of ideas for exploring areas we had not visited (like the Buddhist monastery). We agreed to go on the Timeshare presentation (not required but a $100 resort incentive is offered) and that was quick and painless since they identified the lack of a vacation match quickly.

Great location a ten minute walk from Anini Beach which offers the best swimming on the island and 15 minutes drive to Hanalei where we rented SUP for the river and ocean from the guys in trucks at the pier.

Princeville is really spendy so if you get a visit offer, take it! Stock up at Costco and Safeway and enjoy the resort life for a change!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I recently took a trip to Kauai with my parents and stayed at this resort. The grounds were very beautiful and so were the pools. We stayed in a timeshare unit so we didn't hear word one from the concierge, which I thought we may. So the pressure to sign on as an owner that we heard about didn't apply to us. Kauai is a small island, so getting around wasn't that big of a hassle. This resort was located near Hannalei which was a fun town to walk around and explore. My only problem was that when you walk into the room, as a husband of a smoker, you look at the smoking policies in the provided resort rules and regulations book. On one of the last pages it stated specifically that you could not smoke in the room, but could on the Lanei or balcony. My wife, knowing this, smoked outside for 4 days, no problems. Then on day 5, we get a call that the neighbor was complaining and were told to quit. I walked down to the front desk and talked to someone there. I was told that on Jan. 1st, they instituted a new policy of no smoking but in an area in the parking garage which was not close to our room and one other area. She also stated that they were in the process of reprinting the policy books. I was thinking, ok, until I was walking around resort and saw other people smoking on their balconies and also smoking cigars around the grounds. 1. If you are changing the policies, you should hand out a piece of paper when you check in stating the change. 2. make that policy for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha Todd M,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and the pools, as well as our beautiful island. With regard to our smoking policy, we apologize that your in-room compendium included outdated information due to our transition and are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have since completed the transition and are pleased to note all in-room information is up to date. We hope you will consider our resort for a future visit, and look forward to the opportunity to be of service again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you have complaints about being on the North Shore of Kauai? No one should listen to you. We flew in last week as the weather broke for the day after a couple weeks of heavy rain. Woke up to an amazing, thunderous Storm to welcome us. It left the Island lush & Tropical for our stay - for which we were grateful. Especially since we're in the middle of a severe drought back home! Having stayed at the Westin Villas on Maui, we knew just what to expect from this resort - and were, again, completely satisfied with our stay. We upgraded our Studio room to the 1-Bedroom for $100/night since we travel with our child. While we didn't take the time to fully utilize the conveniences of the Kitchen, we quickly found eating on-site is quite expensive (although, delicious). We also took advantage of their offer to treat the little one to the Kids Club while we did the Vacation Ownership Tour. Everyone was friendly, professional & we're excited to return soon! Be aware there is no beach at this resort - although, a terribly steep walking trail will take you right down to one next to the Property in about 5 mins. This resort is rather simple + smaller than others - but, I would still highly recommend it. Our room only looked out onto a corner BBQ area surrounded by trees - which was tended to each morning at 6:45am! Clank Clank. Otherwise - perfection!

Room Tip: Ask for a map of the property to select your room. Building 2 is great if you have Kids since it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear facosmo: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a nice family vacation and that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations and amenities at the resort. Although we are not a beachfront resort, some of the best beaches throughout the islands are located nearby and the staff provides beach guides that outline the location including driving directions as well as facilities available at these beaches. The guide also provides ocean safety information for our guests. It is nice to hear that you will be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo and until we meet again, Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing