We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large attractive room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Large attractive room in a great location”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

After expressing dissatisfaction with a one-bedroom unit overlooking an industrial-sized central a/c unit outside building six, we were offered a similar large & well-furnished room overlooking the main pool & gardens.

The facility is very spacious, nicely landscaped & does not feel overcrowded like the big resorts in Poipu. Lagoon-type pool was enjoyable; ditto for the pleasantly hot outdoor "tub." Numerous Viking propane grills are available adjacent to each building, plus a restaurant where food was quite good except for a very mediocre buffet breakfast.

Location is great for North Coast hikes, surfing, golf, birding around Kilawea Lighthouse or other outdoor activities. Recently resurfaced tennis courts & pro shop are available just down the road at Makai Golf Club, where a $70 one-month membership is an excellent deal unless you hit a week of rain like we just experienced.

Major downsides are 1) few if any rooms have ocean views, and 2) no easy beach access. There's a pleasant enough sandy public beach down a moderately steep dirt road by the resort entrance, or Westin guests have beach use rights at the St. Regis, about a mile down the road.

In short, this Westin is not nearly as fancy or well-equipped as the Grand Hyatt, but it's a lot more tranquil & family-oriented & not so obviously aimed at just the 1%, though it's still quite pricey.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear DonL. We are delighted that you enjoyed a tranquil escape with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. Thank you for mentioning that it is a great place to stay when exploring the North Shore of Kaua’i and the many activities and attractions nearby. The one bedroom villas are spacious accommodations with almost 800 square feet of living space with many amenities included such as fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, whirlpool tubs and many other comforts of home. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    590
    206
    61
    42
See reviews for
575
985
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

great cliffside location next to Hanalei where theres shopping and good eats. Not much else in Princeville except the more expensive homes and a small shopping center where we went to Foodland for steaks(grills are available on the property) poke (seasoned raw tuna- really good if you're into sushi) even souvenirs. we stocked up on macadamias and hawaiian sea salt for gifts. they also have fresh leis. This Westin showed us great Hawaiian hospitality; all employees very nice and accommodating. we were here last week for a promotional deal; had to sit through 1 hr sales but we are already SVO owners in cancun and are happy with current ownership. bed, room, kitchen, bath all in good order very clean. mind the wild chickens and roosters that have free run of the place and all over the island- i was surprised the roosters crowing in the morning didnt wake me up- good windows!
we had a wonderful, relaxing time on this quiet, green, beautiful island- didnt want to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firsttimertogermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear firsttimetogermany: Mahalo for staying with us and providing a review for our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments and recognition of the employees providing you with great Hawaiian hospitality. It is very nice to see that you enjoyed one of the 20 BBQ grills we have spread throughout the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Kaua’i. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautiful resort (we are Starwood owners). Clean villas, beautiful pools. However, customer service issue again. We requested one villa type in a particular building because it has a great view of the ocean and the "cliff pool". When we got to the resort, we were assigned a villa that was away from everything, including the ocean. We asked to be moved and was said that there was no way, but perhaps our "second week" we could have what we wanted. I talked to manager, same story, my husband got steamed and we were escorted outside where we wouldnt draw attention. We did finally get the location we had requested (a year in advance) and was able to stay the two weeks in the same villa. All was fine in the end, but wish I didnt have to go through the drama. I also think that guests should have some courtesy for other guests and if not, the staff should suggest "options". We were at the main pool and this man was playing his foot stompin' country music on his radio or CD player. I was hearing piped in Hawaiian music in one ear and that in the other. VERY annoying. I shot some great frowns over at him, but he wasn't getting it. I asked a staff member if she could ask him to turn it down a bit so not ALL the guests at the pool had to listen to it. She said that she couldnt do that, that a guest can listen to whatever they wanted. Well, how about earphones???

Room Tip: Building 6 or 7 is the BEST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvemaui08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Aloha lvemaui08, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We love to hear from our owners and are pleased you enjoyed the clean and beautiful facilities of The Westin Princeville. We are sorry to hear that your check in process was not up to your expectations and are pleased that your preferred location was available during your stay. Kindly note for future stays that preferences for villa locations are strictly based on the time stamp of your confirmed reservation. With regard to your experience at the pool, we are sorry you were inconvenienced by another guest. Our team does gently encourage guests to be mindful of others, and we are pleased to provide the lush Malie pool area for those seeking quiet relaxation. Your feedback is taken seriously, and we appreciate the opportunity to improve our guest experience. We look forward to your return to the islands soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

$795 for five nights in Hawaii in a Starwood Hotel?? NOW I see why the promotional offer was so cheap. The place is overrated. We stayed in bldg 6 (which was supposed to be one of the best). We upgraded to a one bedroom with a partial view of the golf course (in exchange for $175 and sitting in a 1.5 hour sales pitch) and were surrounded by guests who smoked either cigarettes or pot. We couldn't open our windows without our room becoming saturated. The temperature was in the mid 70's and we were stuck inside with air conditioning instead of enjoying the island breeze in the mornings and evenings. If it wasn't the smoke that kept our windows closed it was the roosters that managed to cackle starting at 2 am in the mornings. The one bedroom villa was fine, it had a busted sliding door, definitely nothing special. The one breakfast we tried at the hotel was cold and bland but the dinner we tried was good. There is no bar to enjoy unless you want to be in a corner out by the pool which doesn't stay open in the evenings and was pointless when it was raining. Even though it rained 90% of the time with 40mph winds, the island was still beautiful. The surrounding restaurants in Hanalei were fabulous. I guess you get what you pay for.

If you plan on cooking at one of the 500 grill stations every night and smoking and drinking on your lanai (like our neighbors), then this is for you. I was shocked to find out purchasing a residency was $130,000 for only two weeks a year plus a yearly maintenance fee for $ 6,200 a year. Are you kidding? You can stay for 14 nights in a 4 star hotel for less than the yearly maintenance fee and actually feel like you are on vacation. Of course, we didn't stay at the sales pitch long enough to see how much they would actually come down from that price, nor did we care.

We stopped by the Grand Hyatt on Poipu Beach on the way to the airport. BEAUTIFUL resort and started at $299 a night. I'm sure there are negatives to every property, but the boys selling the timeshares at the Westin as a 5 star villa are delusional. The salesman even tried to tell us the place was smoke free. I explained even the front desk told us that it was not a smoke free property and as long as they were on their lanai (aka. tiny balcony within spitting distance of another balcony or someone's window) there was nothing they could do. I would make this a 2.9 star destination and that's only if they could get the smell of mildew and smoke out of the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Aloha tnb2013,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas during your recent trip to the islands. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautiful island and our north shore location, however, we are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. With regard to smoking on the lanai, the resort is implementing an initiative in the coming months that will eliminate the inconvenience to our non-smoking guests. However, the use of illegal substances is not tolerated, and it is our hope you reached out to our team regarding your neighbors. We would like to thank you for affording us time during your vacation to present the multiple benefits of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas ownership during your stay. Your valuable comments have been shared with our team, and we hope your travels will bring you back to the islands again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from the Westin. 1st time stay for us on the north end of the island. Seasoned travelers with our adult children and grandson. The property is very well maintained. They were working on the pools and kept us informed of alternate pools that were available at all times. The rooms were spacious and well appointed for a condo format. We shared a studio /1 bedroom with our kids. Other than the feral chickens wake up call everyday, I have no complaints. A late check out was requested and denied, we were on a red eye flight and would have really liked some extra time in the room, football game and all. We made do with the common areas on property. Building #2 was perfect for us ground floor. Close to the kiddy pool, and the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XRAYColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Aloha XRAYColorado: Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family get away on your first stay on the North Shore of Kaua’i. The spacious accommodation provides the comforts of home and is convenient especially when travelling with a family. It is nice to hear that you were communicated effectively on the much needed maintenance of the pools as we made every effort to schedule it with the least amount of inconvenience to our guests. We apologize that we were not able to extend a late checkout and hope it was not too much of an inconvenience. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We wondered if the promotional offer we received in the mail from Westin for a studio villa was too good to be true when we booked it in June. So when we arrived four months later, we weren't that surprised when we were told there were only two studio villas available: one on the ground floor next to the parking lot (our concierge told us 'don't even bother looking at it' - I'm not making this up, that's what she said); and the other had a very, very loud generator right outside the window and no view. But we weren't expecting to be told there was only one upgrade available (a one-bedroom villa - $100 more a night) with no view and the very same loud generator right next to it. When we said the upgraded villa wasn't acceptable, the desk clerk took another look at his computer and found one more one-bedroom villa that was available. It was overlooking a parking lot and BBQs but there were some trees and a sliver of ocean as well and we were exhausted. Our check-in took almost three hours, and as we were finally heading to our room, we walked past the main swimming pool which was being drained and barricaded - to be closed for maintenance the entire six days of our stay! No one mentioned this to us, not even when I asked during our marathon check-in if it was competitive to get a chaise lounge at the pool the way it sometimes is at other resorts. 'No', I was told, 'not here - I don't know why, but it's not.' We knew there was no beach and were fine with that, but no pool? We aren't golfers so the next morning we went to one of the two very small pools on the property and were greeted by "Pool Closed" signs there, too.

Warning - bring ear plugs and do not take a room with trees nearby because the roosters (that are everywhere on the north shore of Kauai) for some reason make an ungodly racket every morning before 6am as they fling themselves out of the trees. They do their 'cock-a-doodle-do' at all hours day and night, but this thing with the trees is something else. Horrible.

When we told our concierge that we didn't think we should be charged the $100/night upgrade since we were sold something that didn't exist, i.e. a beautiful swimming pool, she offered us a complimentary five-course prix fixe meal in the restaurant where we'd had dinner the night we arrived. Maybe some people would be pleased to accept this offer - we weren't.

In spite Westin's awful welcome and check-in, we loved Kauai and were glad to be able to enjoy the beautiful beach at the St. Regis. Unfortunately, there was no exception made to the "no Westin guests permitted in the St. Regis' pool" while the Westin's pool was closed for maintenance. It is strictly off limits.

A tip: if you do stay at the Westin, note that the path down to the beach from the Westin takes you to the tip of a beautiful beach - Anini Beach. To avoid the steep climb, it's possible to drive to Anini Beach and follow the road to the end. While the water is very shallow, it's very clear, uncrowded and really beautiful.

And one last tip: be sure to bring swim shoes or swim socks - the coral is very sharp and can cause pretty painful cuts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SFTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha SFTripper,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and for taking the time to provide us with valuable and constructive feedback. Your comments are important to us as it serves to improve our service and ability to create memorable guest experiences. On behalf of our team, please accept our deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations with regard to your arrival experience, villa assignment and lack of communication regarding the temporary pool closure. We were delighted to have the opportunity to communicate with you offline and turn around your impression of the resort. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the islands in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Westin Princeville. We had really liked it on the previous 2 visits, but weren't as enamored this time. We had stayed for 4 nights at the St. Regis and had decided to spend out last 2 nights on Kauai here. We were in building 7 on the first floor in a studio. They tried to give us a room in a different building, but it wasn't a good location. This room (7116) was in an excellent location. The problem is that the room felt much more dated and worn then the last time we stayed (2012). The furniture was looking sort of shabby and the bed wasn't too comfortable. The refrigerator "rolled" out of its space every time it was opened. I still love the general layout of the property, but probably wouldn't stay here again. We ate at the pool bar for lunch (okay) and Nanea (very bad). Finally, the staff at check-in wasn't particularly accomodating. I booked the room months ago and specifically asked for a certain location and they still tried to give me something lesser, even though I am an SPG Gold member.

Room Tip: Building 7 has ocean views toward the end and is a very nice place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StudioCityTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha StudioCityTraveler,

Mahalo for choosing The Westin Princeville as your accommodations in the islands and for your loyalty to the SPG program. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the status of your room. We are delighted to let you know that the resort is planning for a room refresh next year. Please be assured your valuable comments regarding your dining experiences and check in experience has been shared with our team. We hope you will consider us again for a future stay and see the changes made based on your feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing