We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but housekeeping needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great, but housekeeping needs improvement”
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Beautiful property, beautiful rooms and great service from the hotel staff, restaurant and market. The only drawback is that there is no direct beach access. The property is brand new so the rooms are clean, well furnished and well decorated. However, in terms of housekeeping, they need BIG improvement. For example, the carpets had not been vacuumed well b/c we found toe nail clippings, confetti, dried up pieces of food, etc. I had to vacuum the whole room myself (the new vacuum in the room worked great). Also, my husband found dried up urine stain on the floor of the toilet room, a used Q-tip on the bathroom floor and the soap caddy in the shower still had dried up globs of soap on it. In the kitchen, the bowls and glasses still had the stickers on them (they had apparently never been washed or the stickers removed). We reported the problems to management and they apologized and gave us a nice snack basket. If housekeeping was improved, this would have been a "5" experience.

  • Liked — Great rooms and pools
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    597
    207
    61
    44
See reviews for
586
1,002
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The Westin is brand new and beautiful. Staff are very attentive and the place is very clean and welcoming. Pool area is very nice. We only stayed one night-we extended our week long stay but couldn't stay in the condo we had reserved. Would come back again. Villas are well appointed and the shower was perfect. Beds super comfortable. Nothing to complain about-except perhaps there is no beach here but there are so many gorgeous becahes to explore nearby anyway.

  • Liked — The staff, the pool, and the well thought out villas
  • Disliked — No beach for swimming
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We just came back from two weeks at the new Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas on the Northshore of Kauai in Princeville. They are fabulous! The property is on a bluff, over the ocean, over Anini Beach. We had a two bedroom lock off unit with great views. This is a Westin property that can be rented and/or is also a time share.

The pool(s) are beautiful! Infinity pool with lava rocks. The grounds and landscaping are lovely. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The bed is the terrific, well known Westin bed. Each unit has a lanai with two chairs.

This Westin property is still under construction but largely complete.

The staff was warm and friendly and accommodating. They responded to any request. The restaurant was excellent but the service was slow.

Kauai is truly a tropical paradise and the Northshore is magical. We enjoyed the 15 min. walk from the hotel down a "jungle path" to Anini Beach and the pool at the resort. We did the Movie Tour (the "land tour"), a Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour, toured tropical gardens, shopped, explored, relaxed.

Having a spacious "condo" type room, rather than a hotel room, and a kitchen and a lanai, was wonderful. We will plan to go back again next year!

  • Liked — space and view
  • Disliked — wish there was a closet or area to put suitcases away.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed for 17 nights, it is a beautiful place. Westin is a family condo place with alot of children. The front desk was great, Stephanie and Jennifer were so friendly and helpful. Shannon the bellman was always trying to help us and always would remember us and never forget to open our door when we would pull the car up. We were in building 7 third floor. We could see a little of the ocean and lighthouse in the distance to our left, to the right we could see the large pools, across from us was building 3. You need to get a room with the higher numbers to get a ocean view. The place looks nothing like the view on the internet. No large mountains around you. You can see a little of the top of the mountains, so if it rains you will not see the water falls. Only if you walk to the parking lot near Bldg. 6. At the 6 & 7 Bldg near the ocean there is a smaller pool with about 4 grills and also at Bldg. 3 & 4 have a small pool and a bar. These 2 sections are nice for adults. The large pool most of the time had children screaming and jumping from the rocks and the Westin had a sign saying do not jump from the rocks. The children that did almost jumped on our heads. It seemed like the parents had no control the weeks we were there. This did not happen at the other places we stayed. The small pool was great for little ones with a slide. I did hear the pool lady tell the kids they neeed to be with their parents. The Westin is trying to get everything together but they still have some kinks to work out. We had a studio and it was very nice. The kitchen had a full frig. micro. no oven 2 top burners and a wet bar sink and a small dish washer. You need to use the stove top to work on. We got by ok for the 2 of us. You get free laundry soap and coffee. We had a queen size bed, large sofa, small table and 2 chairs, 32' flat screen TV. Bath was nice with 2 shower heads and whirlpool tub. The housekeeping forgot to come a few times, then when we asked about it, they would send 3 to clean up. We were told they were under staffed. Some days they would ask if we needed our room done. This doesn't seem like Westin standards. When they get more help I'm sure it will be better. If you are a owner you do not get daily service. We did have a wonderful time. We paided a very low price under $200.00 a night. I would only come back if I could get a good price.

  • Liked — They were new and a good price.
  • Disliked — Too much noise at night at the large pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alohahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Vacatia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing