We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just came back from a week long stay at the Westin Princeville Ocean Villas for our honeymoon. It's a popular spot for couples, but families are well-attended to as well. Service is impeccable, everyone on the property was friendly and will say hi and go out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We elected to skip housekeeping for a couple of days and received breakfast buffet vouchers, which were good but standard. The grounds were spotless, pools were never crowded. Activities are offered throughout the day, but most are with a small fee. We loved the kitchen, washer/dryer, full fridge, dishwasher, and bathtub feature in our room. We've been traveling for a week before we got to the Westin, and it was honestly our first night of solid sleep thanks to a comfy bed and soft sheets. The market on the property is a convenient choice for snacks and getting last minute stuff for grilling. Our only complaint was that the concierge, while good at connecting us with commercial tours, were not helpful in directing us to nearby attractions like where to find parking for beaches in the area. We did receive helpful tips from the valet parking crew, which was greatly appreciated.

Overall, this is a great place to stay for those who want the freedom to make their own meals, but with the amenities and service of a Starwood hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    603
    211
    62
    44
See reviews for
600
1,013
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our stay at the Westin Princeville was the best in our 5 week travel in Hawaii. They really take good care of the rooms and although they claim to be short-staffed at the resort, it does not reflect on the quality of their cleaniness. Everyone at the resort was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet needs improving, more choices for brunch as well. I don't recommend people getting the breakfast deal because they give you the option of forgoing housekeeping for a 1 person breakfast voucher for that day anyway. Dinner at the restaurant was stellar...love the local produce they use. However, seating could be more efficient. We had to wait to be seated for a very long time even when there was no one waiting to be seated. On prime rib night, my husband and I had to leave while waiting because there was a small crowd waiting to be seated and people started complaining we were cutting in line!!! That everybody is waiting...and blah blah blah. I was trying to check-in with the hostess!!!!!!!!! I don't need this sort of attitude just before I eat, so we left. Again, the restaurant could use improvement in their service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyRomeo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha FoxyRomeo101: We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review and to hear that you will stay with us again. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food in Nanea Restaurant for dinner. Thank you for your suggestions for breakfast and brunch. We apologize that you encountered some impatient dining patrons while waiting to speak with the hostess during Prime Rib night. We have reviewed your comments regarding this area with our Food & Beverage team to look for improvement opportunities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo & Stay Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at this property. This is a wonderful Princeville resort. We love the rooms, the infinity pools and jacuzzis, and the property is a tropical paradise in the evenings, where we grilled our dinners each night. The staff and service were always friendly and superb.

Thanks Westin Princeville!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wie and I had a great time at this Westin. While I appreciate the hospitality, the breakfast buffet could use much improving. The staff was great, but the food was not very good. Please cook the eggs longer, offer more variety from one day to the next, and please serve better quality juices. I recommend guests do not pay for the breakfast package at this property.

As for the hotel... great rooms, but lacks some of the Hawaii feel you get from the Sheraton in Poipu. We enjoy the Hawaii breeze, but with so much rain on the north shore, it's understandable that this property can't be as open as the Sheraton.

Overall, we enjoyed this property, but prefer Poipu over Princeville. The rooms at the Westin are very nice, unfortunately Poipu is a better location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a very nice time in this hotel with our two 1 year old boys. The resort was beautiful and very quite. I liked that the pools were spread out and they had a a great pool for young kids. There were chickens and roosters running around everywhere which was very entertaining for the babies. We booked a 1 bedroom room which was very spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. Having small kids we were glad to have a washer and dryer in our room. If you skipped the room cleaning service for a day you would get a breakfast voucher for one person. We did that a couple of times and the breakfast was pretty good. Overall the food in the restaurant was ok and we were surprised that it was not as expensive as you would expect in this kind of hotel on Kauai. We shipped a lot of stuff for the babies to the hotel beforehand (diapers, beach toys etc,) and the hotel staff was very accommodating with that. Overall the staff was super friendly even though a bit slow sometimes.We took the shuttle to the St. Regis a couple of the times and we were glad that we didn't stayed there. The beach was pretty small and the area with beach chairs packed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ittano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha Ittano: We are delighted that you had a great vacation with your young family. The one bedroom is spacious with almost 800 square feet of living space and the villa amenities provides the comforts of home. The washer/dryer, large bathroom with whirlpool tubs, fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and living room area makes it convenient and comfortable. Thank you for participating in the Malama ka Honua (take care of the earth) sustainability program. Guests who have daily housekeeping may choose to forego the housekeeping service and in return receive a breakfast buffet. Guests have the option of choosing this for one day or several days during their stay with us. We were glad to assist with receiving your baby things prior to your arrival as we look for ways to make travel easier for our guests. The St Regis beach is one beach option that our guests have. Our staff has a Beach Guide readily available for our guests that outline the different beaches that are located close to our resort. The Beach Guide provides information on the facilities at the different beaches as well as driving directions and ocean safety information. We hope you will choose to visit us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo & Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Whoever trains the staff at the Westin Princeville deserves an award. I have never been so fortunate to have every touch point with staff to be so exceptional. Every person there was friendly, competent and went above and beyond the call of duty. I even received an email after check out to inform me that I had left my iPhone charger and they would be sending it to me if I desired.

The smaller pools offered the most beautiful views and most of the time the quiet and relaxing atmosphere that I crave. Abundance of comfortable chairs and shade opportunities that so many resort pools lack.

I stayed in a studio that was very comfortable with the exception of the noisy next door guest - lots of loud talking and noise both inside their room and in the hallway at 4:00 am each morning. The only negative issue with my accommodations was the inconvenient location of the ventilation system (poor design and noisy) - the air conditioner vent was located directly above the bed location so you were either too cold or too warm.

In addition to the equipped kitchen in each unit there are abundant grill stations for outdoor meals. Thanks to the wonderful staff for keeping these sparkling clean each day!

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the pools in building 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleDenverCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha KyleDenverCo: Thank you for your comments and for complimenting the service levels the staff at the resort provides. The staff prides themselves on providing exceptional guest experiences and will be delighted to see your review. We apologize that you had noisy neighbors and the ventilation system that was blowing directly above your bed. We encourage our guests to report this to our Service Express agents so that we may address these defect whether it is a facility defect or with other guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed one of the 20 BBQ grills we have throughout the resort and will recognize our cleaning staff that works hard every day to keep the grills clean. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the islands. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 767 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are Westin timeshare owners of another of the network's properties and love trading to the Westin Princeville.Our stays here are different from other beachfront Hawaiian resorts as it's truly the remote, rustic region that is the draw. The North shore is primed for off the beaten track exploring as opposed sitting by the resort pool and sipping Mai Tai's.Yes, it is a full service resort and there is a pool where Mai Tai's are served but if you are coming here for just the resort you might be better served by the St Regis down the road.

There a tons of remote, exotic and sparsely populated beaches in the area they just take a little work getting to.....but boy are they worth it!

The rooms are well appointed and the staff is friendly and helpful. Quality dining in the area is limited but we love the fact that these are condos with small kitchens. We shop on the way from the airport and make the Westin Princeville our home for the week. We love the ability to prepare our own breakfast to eat lazily on the Lanai and pack our own lunches so that we don't have to leave the gorgeous remote beach we have hiked to.

I would pass on the Nanea restaurant however, unless there is a huge overhaul as the experience there was below average.

We used to go to Poipu for our Kauai visits and could not understand why people would choose to stay at the side of the island that gets more rain. The Westin Princeville has changed our opinion of that choice. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Msk6261: Thank you for your review and for recognizing the staff’s helpfulness and friendliness. The resort does provide poolside service whether it is having a poolside lunch or needing refreshments while lounging at one of the 4 pools. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our resort while you explored the many adventures the north shore of Kaua’i has to offer as well as having experienced the number of beautiful white sand beaches that are located near the resort. The fully equipped kitchens provide a nice convenience for our guests if they choose to prepare meals on their own or dine out during their stay. Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant and your comments have been shared with the Food & Beverage team. We are glad to hear that you will be returning. Mahalo and until we meet again, Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing