We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

More than I usually spend on a hotel, but definitely worth it. Beautiful grounds and pool. They have waiters providing drinks and snacks by the pool area. Very nice restaurant with great wine pairings. Delicious tropical drinks. The room was clean and very nicely decorated. Sleek and contemporary. Had a very comfortable bed which Westins are famous for. It was a short drive to Hanalei which was the most beautiful beach we saw on our Hawaiian adventure. The hotel is very close to some great restaurants. Exercise room is a little cramped, but jogging around the hotel and rental home neighborhoods nearby is wonderful. I could have spent the whole week there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelandCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    603
    211
    62
    44
See reviews for
600
1,013
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was great to choose this location for our first time in kauai. This area is still has not been fully invaded by high rise hotels and huge developments. There are plenty of small businesses which cater to the visitors. Westin was a great choice. It is a low key resort with all the amenities. It is very clean and the staff will go out of their way to make you satisfied. Once I arrived i requested if there was a possibility for an upgrade. The front staff found a perfect location for us. Building 4 facing the ocean and the golf course. It was definitely worth to pay the upgrade fee. They also so moved us from a studio to a one bedroom suit. Once you stay here you can go to Saint Regis which is two miles away. There is a shuttle that goes there on the hour or you can go with your car and valet service is complementary. Saint Regis is the top brand for the starwood hotels. The beach area is very relaxing and I took my snorkeling equipment on the second day. There is a nice reef with lots of fish. You can eat and drink there and charge it to your room. It is a bit pricey but definitely worth it. There is a bar in the lobby which has a terrace area over looking the ocean and the Hanalei bay. If you go here you have to stay and watch the sunset. The view is unbelievable. This was a great trip for our marriage bounding and I think the Westin is great choice. I have three kids which i was happy to leave behind. For once after a long time we could do what we wanted to do. There are a lot of hiking trails with unbelievable views in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for building four facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attarfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We reserved our 1 bedroom unit 3 months in advance & I guess as owners we were expecting a better view room. Although the room we received was nice, there were others that sat empty that offered a better view. The bathroom is over-sized that takes up alot of room from the living room as well as the bedroom. I would not want to share this 1 bedroom with anymore than 2 people. Kitchen was well stocked & the patio was nice with furniture.

Room Tip: higher # bldgs. are a better view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWGAL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I just returned from the Westin Princeville Oceans Resort Villas and the best vacation we have ever had. We had a great room overlooking the ocean. The food was delicious both at Nanea and at the pool bar. But the people were the main reason for such a wonderful trip. Too many to name but Julie, Karlyn, Anna, Jason, Fey, Mary, Gabby, Kelsey, Shannon, Cass and Chris among many, made this special.

We will be back again next year and can hardly wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bracks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_ikt
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this property through a promotional package that included 5 nights in a studio room, credit for car rental, and a resort credit. We would certainly stay here again if offered the same package. The room had a lovely "island" view, which for us was perfect overlooking a quiet infinity pool and mountains of Kaua'i in the distance. The room was more than large enough for us, and although the kitchen would not support cooking a full meal, we made salads, full breakfasts, and indulged in ahi tuna poke from the local Foodland for dinner. They had nice BBQ areas, although we didn't make use of them. Our room was clean, the bathroom was nice with the big jetted tub and large shower. Although they only did maid service once during our stay, they provided plenty of clean towels and we didn't mind straightening our sheets ourselves each morning. They did remove our trash each morning when we left it outside our door. The grounds on this resort are amazingly beautiful and well maintained, and it truly felt like walking through botonical gardens. Although we were asked to participate in a timeshare presentation, there was no pressure whatsoever when we politely declined. Plus, they gave us some really good sightseeing and restaurants tips! We ate at the market for breakfast once, and it was really nice. Fresh food, reasonable prices - not sure what some of the complaints are about? We also enjoyed the affiliation with the St. Regis. We walked the 4 miles roundtrip to the resort in the mornings, and returned there using valet parking later in the day to enjoy the beach area. Really nice arrangement. We also played golf at the Makai Golf Resort twice, which was really, really nice. Would recommend this resort to my friends. However, will mention that the weather was significantly cooler than Maui, which we went to after leaving Kaua'i. Although I could wear shorts, I did have to wear a light jacket and long sleeve shirt to be comfortable. This is probably typically for February, but I was a little surprised. We also enjoyed whale watching from the resort cliffs that overlook the ocean - a plus for visiting in February.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in buildings 6 or 7. If you can't get that, building 3 is nice too. Most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_ikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Susan_ikt:

Mahalo for providing your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have studio units which are 512 square feet and provide spacious accommodations with the convenience of a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator. Thank you for recognizing the well kept lush landscaping of the property which provides a nice ambiance throughout the resort. Our concierge team provides wonderful recommendations for activities and attractions around the island. In many cases, they have experienced those activities first hand and can give you recommendations based on their experiences. We are proud to be located adjacent to two of best golf courses in Hawai’i. Golf Digest has ranked The Makai Golf Course the number 8 golf course in Hawai’i The Prince Course as the number 1 golf course in Hawai’i. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a place to go if you have more money then brains. Why would you design a beautiful resort so the the individuals on the first floor have no privacy. Kids run by your 4 x 6 slab. Anyone that does not use the sidewalks can peer right into your room. Bad design. This will be the second day of a14 day stay, no water due to a repair. Yes I understand repairs are needed. But they don't even offer a free drink. Bring lots of money to this resort cause nothing is cheap. We heard jack hammers for two days while we sat by the pool. They were repairing the kids pool. Of course for the $5500 that we spent to stay here for two weeks we didn't even get a I'm sorry for the noise. This vacation was very poor. Who does the Westin think they are. They have no rules for parents yelling at kids, kids yelling or for that matter I think they let the guests run wild like animals. I would have had a better time at the zoo. By the way I have all of this documented on my phone. This is an out of control resort. I guess if guests want to be allowed to do what ever they want then this is the place to come. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very nice. Clean above expectations. Pools are dirty and have never seen then cleaned once in 11 day of our stay. Hot tub not working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mifarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha mifarmgirl,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville for your accommodations on Kauai and for taking the time to share your experience thus far. While we are pleased you have found the grounds and rooms to be clean and above expectations, we are disappointed that your expectations in other areas have not been met thus far. However, we are encouraged that you are still at the resort for us to turn your experience around. We have reached out to you to see if we may assist with finding a more suitable room location for your needs, and are very much looking forward to connecting with you soon to ensure a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Got a great deal for 6d/5n for $798 (with 6d car rental included) through SPG as part of previewing their time share opportunity at this location. We stayed in a studio. At check-in, they tried to up-charge us to a one bedroom, but we declined as there are just 2 of us, and a studio is like a hotel room with a kitchenette. As this was a Westin, was expecting their Heavenly Beds and Shower - there were neither. Next, only 2 pool areas, both on the small side. There is supposedly servers to bring you food and drinks from the bar/grill, but never saw them unless you were sitting close to the bar. No music flowing through the property - this is a resort after all.
When went to the timeshare presentation, and brought up all of these points, the answers were as follows. "Oh, you must have gotten a handicapped room". Ok, wow, let's think about that answer - it's on the second floor, and there was no way a wheelchair could have maneuvered in that studio. And, no handrails of any sort in the room/bathroom. Total lie.
When questioned about the servers - "They are supposed to attend all of the pools. Someone must have been out sick." They were out sick for 5 days??? I don't believe that was the answer, as there were 2-3 servers every day, hanging out at the bar/grill only. So really, your servers are lazy. Isn't this where most resorts make their money - on fancy mai tais for vacationers for $12 a pop?? Curious.
"We have music playing throughout the property, the volume must be really low." Umm, have you walked around and listened yourself? I guess you are calling me deaf.
Price wise, this was a great deal, but won't be back due to the subpar standards of a resort with the Westin name attached to it. Frankly, if I were Westin, I wouldn't have my name attached to this resort. This really shouldn't be called a resort in any way shape or form. It's really just a 7 timeshare buildings and a pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViVi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha Vivi43,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are disappointed to read that you felt the resort did not live up to its Westin brand name. Rest assured, we do carry the signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower in each of our 346 villas at The Westin Princeville. We are sorry this was not relayed to you during your tour. Further, we appreciate your comments regarding service at the pools, as all four pool areas should be serviced throughout the day. We have taken this opportunity to address poolside service with our team. Your comments help us to improve our services and ensure that we are communicating the correct information to our guests. We welcome you to reach out to us and further discuss your stay, and look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing