We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Westin in name only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a Westin in name only”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Got a great deal for 6d/5n for $798 (with 6d car rental included) through SPG as part of previewing their time share opportunity at this location. We stayed in a studio. At check-in, they tried to up-charge us to a one bedroom, but we declined as there are just 2 of us, and a studio is like a hotel room with a kitchenette. As this was a Westin, was expecting their Heavenly Beds and Shower - there were neither. Next, only 2 pool areas, both on the small side. There is supposedly servers to bring you food and drinks from the bar/grill, but never saw them unless you were sitting close to the bar. No music flowing through the property - this is a resort after all.
When went to the timeshare presentation, and brought up all of these points, the answers were as follows. "Oh, you must have gotten a handicapped room". Ok, wow, let's think about that answer - it's on the second floor, and there was no way a wheelchair could have maneuvered in that studio. And, no handrails of any sort in the room/bathroom. Total lie.
When questioned about the servers - "They are supposed to attend all of the pools. Someone must have been out sick." They were out sick for 5 days??? I don't believe that was the answer, as there were 2-3 servers every day, hanging out at the bar/grill only. So really, your servers are lazy. Isn't this where most resorts make their money - on fancy mai tais for vacationers for $12 a pop?? Curious.
"We have music playing throughout the property, the volume must be really low." Umm, have you walked around and listened yourself? I guess you are calling me deaf.
Price wise, this was a great deal, but won't be back due to the subpar standards of a resort with the Westin name attached to it. Frankly, if I were Westin, I wouldn't have my name attached to this resort. This really shouldn't be called a resort in any way shape or form. It's really just a 7 timeshare buildings and a pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViVi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha Vivi43,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are disappointed to read that you felt the resort did not live up to its Westin brand name. Rest assured, we do carry the signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower in each of our 346 villas at The Westin Princeville. We are sorry this was not relayed to you during your tour. Further, we appreciate your comments regarding service at the pools, as all four pool areas should be serviced throughout the day. We have taken this opportunity to address poolside service with our team. Your comments help us to improve our services and ensure that we are communicating the correct information to our guests. We welcome you to reach out to us and further discuss your stay, and look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    590
    206
    61
    42
See reviews for
575
985
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent resort, with some of the nicest rooms I've ever seen. I thought the whole place was a good deal for what I spent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Except someone stole my iPod out of my room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Aloha Dick Connolly,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and for taking the time to review your December stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms and the value of your stay. However, we were alarmed to read about your iPod as this incident has not been reported to our security team. We encourage you to reach out to us to discuss further at 808.827.8700. We look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a 4 night stay in a studio villa and were both very happy with our stay.
The grounds and pool areas were beautiful and the foyer and restaurants were very much in keeping with the Princeville area.
The valet guys were great - we barely had to wait 2 minutes at the busiest times and they always seemed very happy to help. Great job guys! In fact all of our interactions with the staff were excellent.
I wouldn't take up the offer on the $10 coupon for for-going room service next time, though. It could only be taken off the restauarant meals and we didn't use the restaurants anyway. We would have preferred the room to be cleaned each day or used the $10 on snacks from the market. But a minor thing really.
A lot has been written about time-share issues but we wouldn't have had any idea that this property had time share if I hadn't read about it. No problems with this at all! I would definately recommend the Westin Princeville and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winsome01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms with full kitchens and everything is well maintained. I took advantage of the free valet parking and the bell staff is great delivering stuff to and from the room. It was nice to take advantage of the free access to the St. Regis and their beach just down the street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlfromm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Westin is a completely average hotel at best, with many shortcomings. We stayed here on our honeymoon in January (only for a small portion of the trip, thank God!), and were brought to laughter at the poor quality of the experience of staying here.

The Westin Princeville is a timeshare, which means the concierge and the front desk workers will be pushy in trying to sell you properties. I don't know about you, but I don't enjoy being marketed to when I'm in the middle of a Hawaiian vacation (much less honeymoon) trying to enjoy the beautiful terrain, the sun, and a mai tai or five at the beach.

The hotel is notorious for "nickel and diming" its customers, LITERALLY selling salt and pepper packets for $1 each.

The hotel upgraded our room for a small fee, as it was our honeymoon. The upgraded suite, however, had the distinct odor of a wet golden retriever. It was certainly "homey," but (again) was not what we were hoping for out of an ocean view suite. We ended up choosing to downgrade our room halfway through our stay because the upgrade, which we were paying extra for due to clever salesmanship upon check-in, was not worth even a little extra money.

The hotel offers green/energy efficient vouchers, so if you choose to decline room service (housekeeping), you're rewarded with $10 in gift cards per day. Unfortunately the front desk manager input our data incorrectly, and we were without housekeeping for the first three nights. When we finally did get housekeeping, our bed was poorly made, and all of our toiletries were piled into one massive heap near the corner of the sink. None of this was pleasant, and the vouchers were definitely not worth the $30.

The ONLY redeeming factor that causes me to upgrade my rating from "Terrible" to "Poor" is the price. It's not difficult to find rooms for $300 or less (including breakfast) per night, which is drastically cheaper than the rest of the island's resorts.

If you're looking to "do Kauai" on a budget, and don't plan on spending much time at your hotel, I would recommend the Westin. If you can afford it, or if you plan on spending more than an hour per day (and sleeping) at your hotel, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelpkelpkelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha kelpkelpkelp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your January visit to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. While we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the value and location of our accommodations, it was with disappointment that we read the resort did not meet your expectations in several aspects. With regard to our concierge and green programs, we apologize that you found these services to negatively impact your stay, but please note these are strictly optional to our guests. With regard to our Princeville Market offerings, kitchen staples and many grocery items are made available for our guests so that further travel to the grocery store is not required. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our team. In the meanwhile, we hope for the chance to be of service to you again and exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Classy lock-off suites with views to die for. BBQ stations throughout, along with multiple pools allow choices for the property bound traveler. The location is perfect for nearby Honalei Bay beaches, horseback riding, heliocopter rides, excellent dining and hiking choices. Early morning and late day walks along golf cart paths allowed scenic cardio. The units were upscale and allowed privacy with mingling for cocktails and dinners in.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are owners of a two bedroom lock off. The property, facilities, service and amenities exceeded expectations. Great on site restaurant although we are happy grilling fresh dish outside. Can't wait to return. Westin Vacation Ownerships always delivery an outstanding experience. Make sure to stock up on groceries and essentials for your stay at the nearby Foodtown supermarket heading into Hanalei

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean or garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightymelanie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha mightymelanie123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, as we are always delighted to hear from our owners! It is wonderful to read that you take full advantages of the facilities we offer, including our on-site barbecue grills. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing