We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai Golf Course Cliff View Majesty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Classy lock-off suites with views to die for. BBQ stations throughout, along with multiple pools allow choices for the property bound traveler. The location is perfect for nearby Honalei Bay beaches, horseback riding, heliocopter rides, excellent dining and hiking choices. Early morning and late day walks along golf cart paths allowed scenic cardio. The units were upscale and allowed privacy with mingling for cocktails and dinners in.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are owners of a two bedroom lock off. The property, facilities, service and amenities exceeded expectations. Great on site restaurant although we are happy grilling fresh dish outside. Can't wait to return. Westin Vacation Ownerships always delivery an outstanding experience. Make sure to stock up on groceries and essentials for your stay at the nearby Foodtown supermarket heading into Hanalei

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean or garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightymelanie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha mightymelanie123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, as we are always delighted to hear from our owners! It is wonderful to read that you take full advantages of the facilities we offer, including our on-site barbecue grills. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were placed in a very nice one bedroom lockoff that "overlooked" the golf course and parking lot that apparently there were some tricks to find a spot in. Routinely we had to carry luggage and groceries from adjacent parking lots, but that was a very minor irritation. The units however are not stocked with coffee, coffee filters, salt, sugar or any spices or minimal condiments as you might think. This was unexpected, but no big deal other than who wants to buy 250 coffee filters for 5 nights. This place could go a long way by providing a "welcome basket" with some likely needed items.

The rooms were great. Westin Bed, Westin Shower, full refrigerator, comfy couch, good Wi-Fi. It is the North Shore and it does rain however. If you can get a package to tour the facility it is really worth the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunflint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a timeshare near by. We found that the food on the north end of the Island was expensive and not worth the price. Except for the Westin. The Manager of the restaurant was tremendous and the service was what you would expect from a 1st rate hotel like the Westin. What was unexpected the pricing. I got a wonderful prime rib for about $20.Most of the other Princeville restaurants charge at least that for a burger. Again I have never had a manager take such good care of us...I do not resemble anybody famous!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank wahseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are owners of a two-bedroom lock off at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resorts and have been since it first opened. We recently (Feb. 23, 2012) completed our sixth annual two week visit to this property. Even though we have always had high expectations, once again the staff exceeded them. The Nanea restaurant now our favorite on the North Shore - on a par with the Hanalei Dolphin and even a few notches higher. Each of the staff is outstanding, expecially the Waileli Bar (Chris and Cass) and the servers in the Nanea restaurant (with Tessa standing out and the F&B Manager - Erin, and Chef Jason put a stamp of excellent on everything.) Sure, it rained a bit as it does every year - but that's why the North shore is so beautiful. We saw many whales, met lots of new friends from across the U.S. and Canada, and thoroughly enjoyed out stay. We used to stay at the Princeville Hotel before it re-opened as the St. Regis. We don't like the St. Regis any longer - since the renovation they have lost their island "Hawaiiana" flair and have two restaurants, each of which is exceedingly expensive without backing up the pricing with outstanding menu offerings nor professional, friendly staff. If you are traveling to Kauai, we would certainly support you checking out the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas.

Keith and Nancy Humphries, Prescott, AZ

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views. Building three rooms surround the "Quiet Pool" and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKeith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We got the one bedroom suite so we could do a little cooking. We went straight to Walmart in Lihue before heading to the resort. Buy yourself coffee and creamer there for the room, they only give two days worth of coffee. We made breakfast a few days and barbequed fish one night out by the pools. I brought along a few marinade packets, baggies, a small wisk, and foil, which all came in handy! We also picked up a box fan at Walmart to help with the A/C noise we read about here on tripadvisor, it worked out great! The A/C did make a strange double-click every time it went off/on, which would have been annoying without the fan.

We requested building 6 as many here recommended, but they gave us building 3, 3rd floor, facing the small pool. I really liked this view and building as well. It was super quiet and not too far from the main pool and lobby.

I loved the pools, the hot tubs, and the lush grounds. The pools are perfect temperature. I had the turkey wrap for lunch at the pool several days, it was the bomb! The pot stickers were yummo too!

We ate one night at the restaurant and had the expensive 5-course deal. It was pretty good, but not the best meal I've ever had my a long shot.

I would highly recommend this resort to my friends and family, and would definitely stay here again. Princeville is the ONLY place to stay on this island. It is a little slice of heaven on earth! If you want to snorkel and swim don't go in the winter months, as the surf is too crazy to enjoy the water activities. I recommend snorkeling at Tunnels, swimming at Anini, and driving as far north as you can go for lots of pictures and tropical, gorgeous sight-seeing. Northshore Kauai is the most beautiful area of all the islands in my opinion.

I

Room Tip: I tried for 6, but ended up in 3. I really loved our room and our location facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaybabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to trade into the Westin Princeville and finally had the opportunity to do so at the end of January 2013. When we trade one week of our Marriott properties it's hard not to compare resorts. Sometimes we feel as though we've been ripped off, but not this time. The Westin was nearly perfect.

Our villa for the two of us was a two bedroom unit with small views of the ocean and Kilauea Lighthouse. The unit was huge! We could have easily had other members of our family with us and not gotten in each other's way. It was also very clean, a detail we find lacking in other places we've stayed. The mattresses and pillows were comfortable and the showers were large and roomy with glass doors.

The grounds were impeccably kept and quite lovely. The staff was also very friendly and made us feel welcome.

There were a few minor disappointments, but they certainly didn't spoil our stay. The sheets on the bed were not fitted, just tucked in. I understand why a resort might want to do this, but I always find that the sheets become untucked during the night and I end up fighting them while trying to sleep.

The cooking utensils in the kitchen were good, but somewhat limited. Also, if you're cooking in your room rather than dining out, be aware that there is no oven.

The pool water could have been warmer. (Picky, I know.) Because it was winter in Kauai, the air was cooler than in the summer and it would have made it easier to get in. We overheard kids saying they didn't want to swim in the kiddie pool because the water was too cold.

All in all, these were minor in comparison to the overall quality of the Westin. If we get the chance, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMiSandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $350 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing