We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 6 amazing days there.
The rooms are clean, big and well-stocked, specially the kitchen, so you can buy everything in the supermarket (3 minutes by car) and make a delicious meal in the barbecue outside. They have many all around the Resort.
There are many nice pools, but the best is the whirlpools, very warm to relax in the end of the day.
What is different from the other resorts is that you don't feel in a Hotel, but you have all of the services and facilities if you need.
Hopefully we will return soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichMT1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    528
    190
    55
    37
See reviews for
519
900
25
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Westin when we received a great deal from them to go. We have spent timeinother Westin properties and so I had certain expectations from them when staying.

The resort was nice. The property is beautiful, not close or up against a beach but that was okay. Our room was clean and for being a studio was roomy. I was a bit disappointed in the quality or design of one thing and that was privacy. They have shutters that can open up in between the bedroom and bathroom. That's fine but when fully closed you can still see through them. If we had kids on this trip this would be a serious problem. Also, the sliding door to get into the restroom has a wide gap even when slid shut and you can see into the restroom. Again, an issue for privacy.

The staff was kind, pleasant, and made me feel welcomed and comfortable. Service by the pool side was a bit slow. If there were many people I could understand but there wasn't.

I don't remeber the name of their restaurant that they have on their resort but it was really good and would recommend eating there.

Westin tends to be pricey and if I were paying full price I don't know that I would have stayed here. There wsn't anything special about this place that made me think higher end and Westin is usally known for higher end. I would go again and stay if I could rent it at the deal we got last time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a lovely, new timeshare resort on a bluff overlooking the ocean. The location is good: close to the Princeville shops and Hanalei. The units are beautifully decorated and well-stocked. Yes, the pools are not warmly heated but we thought they were fine. The "quiet" pool is a lovely small plunge pool and it really was quiet. The other pools are full of children. If you are NOT traveling with children ask for a room away from the kiddie pool unless you enjoy shrieking toddlers. One big plus is the reciprocal privileges at the St. Regis, about 1.5 miles away. The beach setting there is spectacular, the amenities nicely done (free use of lounge chairs, umbrellas, ice water). This really helps make up for the lack of a beach at the villas. Note that most of the rooms are not ocean-view. But, the location at the end of a road is private and the property does not feel crowded, even during a fully-booked holiday week (Thanksgiving).

Service is warm and professional. We were offered a food credit of $10 per day in lieu of daily maid service and we took it. Since the units have washers, dryers, vacuum etc. we were happy with that. Concierges are plentiful and helpful. Since these units have little kitchens, a trip to Costco is a must. It's about three miles from the airport and has snorkel gear, beach towels, sunscreen, shorts, beach chair, inexpensive liquor ($30 for a big bottle of Bombay Sapphire) and of course the pizzas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the Westin Princeville. While it is certainly a lovely resort with stunning views out across the ocean, we would visit other Starwood properties before coming back here.

Location: Lovely, convenient location about 25 miles north of Lihue airport. The resort is located at the end of a road, so even though there are many other timeshare resorts surrounding the property, we felt pretty secluded. There is no direct beach access, which could be a problem if your goal is to spend every day on the beach, but Anini is just 10-minute drive and there is a shuttle to the St. Regis beach. Hanalei Beach is also pretty close.

Just past the entrance to the Westin/St. Regis resorts is a little shopping area with a wonderful Foodland (fresh fish, good produce, wine, etc.), Lappert's ice cream and a wine shop. There are also numerous farmer's markets nearby and the concierge can tell you which ones are on which days. We bought absolutely fresh, fabulous produce each day and feasted on mangoes, papayas, pineapple, home baked cookies, etc.

Unit: We were in a 1-BR on the 3rd floor in building 4, overlooking the 14th hole and on out to the ocean. We could hear the waves crashing and the view was just stunning. Our unit was in great repair, comfortable, well stocked and spacious. Our one complaint is that the day of our "tidy up," housekeeping simply put out fresh towels and emptied the trash, but didn't really clean the room. We were a little disappointed.

Pools: This was our one major area of disappointment. While there are several pools on the property, including a beautiful plunge pool with views out to the ocean, the pools are "heated" to between 76 and 78 degrees, which by any standard is way to cool to enjoy. We inquired one day and were told that the goal is to keep the pools between 78 and 82, but there is no way the water was 78. The only people in the pools were parents with children, and we saw numerous guests stick a toe in and walk away. By the third day, we submitted an email complaint to the property via the website, and did receive a phone call the next day from maintenance/engineering. The gentleman was incredibly nice, but said that because of high heating costs, the resort management keeps them cool and 76 is considered "legal."

Given that the pools are the main attraction here, we found it incredibly disappointing that the water was so cold--it really had a negative impact on our experience and was one of the main reasons we opted not to buy at this property, although we are owners at two other Westin timeshare resorts. If I had been paying the nightly rate instead of using this as our timeshare week, I would have been even more upset!

Facilities: Grounds are beautifully maintained--lots of flowers, grass, koi pond, etc. One other thing to note is that while there are many grills around the property, many of them will not light. One night it took us 4 tries to find a grill that would work. We made note of this at the front desk but the grills were never repaired. This is not up to Westin standards!

Staff: Everyone we met was very nice and helpful. The woman who checked us in was a little nervous and didn't give us towel cards, etc., but that was easily remedied.

Bottom line....lovely property on the beautiful north short of Kauai. Villas are pretty, but pools are unusable which means you have to go elsewhere to enjoy being outside.

Room Tip: Building 4 is a great choice--a little removed from the rest of the resort and most rooms with ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie87508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at various locations and resorts on this island and nothing beats the location of the Westin Princeville for me and my husband. It is located in the lushest and most spectacular part of the island. There are scenic one to four mile walks, swimming and snorkeling beaches nearby, along with markets and restuarants. The property itself is kept immaculate and polished. Units have full kitchens, outside barbecues, a few pools and jaccuzis, fitness center, etc. The friendliest and kindlest employees work at this resort. We plan to return here every year.

Room Tip: We prefer the highest floor (third), so there is no sounds above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelina62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first time in Kauai, and was a time share trade. This resort is huge. The unit we had, had a full kitchen, and very large bathroom, with jacuzzi tub. We also had the adjoining studio room which was connected, but had it's own entrance for privacy. There were two families, in the two rooms. Our Bldg had it's own hot tub and pool, if we didn't want to go to the main pool. This one was very private. The balconies are large, and had very nice quality chairs (2) and ottoman. The main pool area is very large and picturesque. There was a Koy pond and a huge waterfall near the main pool, and the grounds were tended to each morning. The grass was perfectly cut and maintained as were the beautiful flowers. You can take a shuttle to the St Regis Hotel just to see it, or use the beach. Will definitely return if we visit Kauai in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bldg 3 and we overlooked the smaller pool area, and had beautiful view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm generally an optimistic traveller but I expected a lot more from a Westin. The designers of this property should be banned from designing anything other than Motel 6's, Home Depots and Denny's. The North shore of Kauai is absolutely stunning and the Westin is an over glorified Best Western on a cliffside with no beach access, LOTS of kids, no views and zero character. I'm in the heart of Kauai, but couldn't feel any further away. If you are looking for a real Kauai experience or a romantic getaway, stay away. If you are looking for a neighborhood block party, this place is for you. At $350/nt we received a room located between the loading dock, the back of bar and a parking lot. The mattress was lumpy, the bathroom is open to bedroom (seriously) and the only thing louder than the air conditioning is the beeping trucks outside our balcony. Oh...the balcony. The room was advertised as coming with a 44sf balcony....it was a four inch thick slab of concrete set in mud at ground level a couple of feet in front of the main walk...not a balcony. My recommendation...stay away. Hanalei Bay itself is absolutely gorgeous and should not be missed. Just pick somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Rent a house from VRBO in Hanalei Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Aloha Paul E,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Princeville and for choosing us during your recent trip to Kauai. We were pained to read of your negative experience while on property and are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. At The Westin Princeville, we pride ourselves in rectifying any situation within our means, and in your case, we are disappointed we were unaware of your dissatisfaction regarding the location of your villa, among your other comments. While the resort does welcome many families, we do have a designated quiet pool and whirlpool area, and we are sorry if this was not pointed out to you during your stay. We would be delighted at the chance to discuss further how we could have improved your visit and welcome you to contact Carly Clement at 808.827.8700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Starwood, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing