We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife booked our trip on a whim through an advertisement she received on Email and all though we never fall for those, we did this time and boy am I happy we did! Aside from the amazing rate we were given we have had nothing but exceptional service. As the trip date got closer our concierge, Judy made sure everything was booked and we were satisfied. When we checked in, again unprecedented service. Qian (I hoped the spelling is correct) who checked us in was top of her class, she offered us an upgrade to a one bedroom suite and wow! We were put in a room overlooking the golf course with a spectacular ocean view. It is only day 2 but because of Judy and Qian we are already planning the next trip back. Thank you for such a wonderful experience! The lesson here is, if you have a good feeling on a whim..just go for it!

Room Tip: North side ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeamRosole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great time at the Westin Princeville. It was perfect for my husband, 2 year old daughter and I. Beautiful grounds that we walked every morning and there is a shuttle to take you to the St. Regis Hotel every hour. The St. Regis Beach is very beautiful - Old Hawaii style and the St. Regis is a good place for honeymooners...not so much for kids.

The Westin Princeville kiddie pool and slide was the main attraction for our two year old. They also had a koi pond and our daughter could help feed the Koi every morning. If your child is older, there will be lots more activities for them to do. Every day, the hotel would have events planned out for you to join either for free or a nominal fee - eg. theory of surfing, hula dancing, lei making.

The resort also had nice hot tubs hidden away as well as "plunge pools" geared for adults. There were also communal barbeque areas that were very nice although we never got around to using them.

The kitchen and laundry facilities were key since we were there for 9 days. They were clean and basic. The kitchen was equipped with most of what we needed but did not come with any condiments (not even salt or pepper), so be warned that you have to bring everything if you intend to cook. We stopped off at Costco after we got off the plane before going to the hotel.

We cooked most of our meals in the hotel since dining out with our 2 year old is too much for us and probably others too! But we did manage to eat at the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was just OK. I would rather go to Hanalei to get a better meal next time for the same price.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and I would definitely go back...actually, I can't wait to!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level are great if you have kids and you can let them run around...drawback is depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwendy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful 2-week stay at the Westin Princeville - our first time to Kauai and a fabulous time! We were in building 7 and would recommend 6,7, 3 or 4 for best ocean views. The pool area between 6 and 7 is also best for views, romance, and quiet. Depending on availability you can make room requests once you arrive.

We are owners at another Westin property and it's true that owners do have priority with respect to view requests but it's to be expected. Timeshares are expensive and there have to be some perks that go along with that. Owners also book a year in advance to get the best views along the cliffside so those rooms may not be available, as was the case with us. We only booked 2 months prior. Our first room was not the best but we did manage to change the next day to a room along the side of buliding 7 with good partial ocean views. We were also on the first floor so had a nice outside deck area with two entrances to the suite. Nice to be able to walk right out onto the grass or to the BBQ area.

We witnessed all guests being treated with respect by staff. The Westin seems to have a real desire to meet the needs of their guests. It's a beautiful property that accommodates both couples looking for romance as well as families with children. Lots of space for everyone.

We had a 1 bedroom and it was a perfect size for 2 weeks. Lots of room and we felt like it was our home away from home. Maid service was timely - the sheets and towels were changed twice a week as well as garbage removal. There is also a trash receptacle off the lobby of each building if you need it. They do a full clean once a week and for us this arrangement worked well.

We travelled all over Kauai and loved it! We prefer the north end as it's so lush. It does rain more but it's brief with the trade winds coming through and only adds to the beautiful jungle feel of the landscape.

We have also stayed at the Westin Maui before and love it there too. We thought hard about going there again or trying Kauai this time. We're glad we spent the full 2 weeks on Kauai as it afforded lots of time to relax and immerse ourselves into island-mode without travelling midstay. We would definitely return!

Visiting the St. Regis is a must. The beach is great and offers full service to Westin guests. Lovely grass or sand areas to choose from. Snorkling was fun. Free valet was a plus too. The staff was great and we felt very welcome. Don't forget to tip for service at either property as should be the case for good service. We went back for sunset cocktails up in the lounge bar and sat outside - awe-inspiring! The views, spectacular. Ooh martinis and sushi to die for. All overlooking a sunset in which dreams are made. The restaurant Kauai Grill in the St. Regis also fantastic - another must.

We would return to Westin Princeville in a heartbeat! So much to discover, so much to enjoy. The people of Kauai are great and the general feel of the island is nothing short of inspiring. Go!

Aloha!

Room Tip: If you want a room change and the front desk is really busy at the time of check-in its best to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilee_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although the signs all say non-smoking property, people smoke on their balconies and porches, so if you're upstairs on walking by a lower unit you get the second hand smoke. Rooms are very nice and ocean view is great if you get the right room, others view the parking lots or the pools.

Very pricy, a coke at lunch is $4.00 and dinner with set you back $35-40 each, without wine.

Room Tip: Upper floors units 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donscameron45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful resort, with well equipped kitchens that enable you to save a little on meals by eating in. Staff was very pleasant. Not a five star because the offerings at both the restuarant and the bar were disappointing (the worst mango margarita I ever had). Plus, easier access to a beach would be nice. Nonetheless, we will definitely return, and haunt the farmers' markets for food to make in those nice kitchens.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHLJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our 5-night stay in a large one-bedroom suite. The grounds are beautifully maintained, as are the swimming pools, and the units are fairly new and beautiful. The kitchens are adequate, but not as well-equipped as many condos. The barbeque areas are nice. We made reservations for the special weekly "Hawaiian" themed dinner at the restaurant, but we were not at all impressed with our meal, which seemed overpriced for the unimpressive, un-Hawaiian food we were served. There is a grocery not far from the resort, and many restaurants, too, but a rental car is almost a necessity if you are going to stay here. The resort overlooks the ocean from a bluff, but most units do not have even partial ocean view. The walking trail to the beach is fairly steep and can be slippery if it has been raining. The resort runs a free shuttle to a sister property which has a nicer beach guests are allowed to use.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuiltingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a timeshare facility. It is well designed, rooms are comfortable, views are excellent. Many pools, some for kids, and some marked "quiet". There is room for everyone. The staff is friendly and well-trained. They make it a point to go out of their way for you, no request is too unimportant. This is our 3rd trip. If you have the chance, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed in buildings 3 and 7 facing the ocean. If you are on the ground floor, expect the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt and Gwynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $327 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing