We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent choice for those wanting to come to the lush tropic garden island of Kauai. We love the north shore. We love being in Princeville and so close to Hanalei Bay and all the great beaches on the north of this beautiful island. Brandi at the front desk is excellent. After traveling all night, she really accomodated us. The staff here is first rate. I recommend building 7 with an ocean view and a view of the main pool, awesome!

So sorry to be going home tomorrow. The resort is awesome. If you have any questions I can ask before you come, let me know asap and I will ask before I leave. This is just heaven on earth and can't be beat......

Room Tip: Roosters everywhere, that is your wake up call. It is truely not annoying; but they are here. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We got a studio, which was perfect for the 3 of us. Plenty of room and no complaints at all. A great bathroom, with shower and whirlpool. Kitchen, washer and tumble-dryer, what else do you need? I especially liked the barbecues in the garden, that you can youse as you please. Excellent pool, it is nice to jump in when you get back from the beaches. Well, in fact there is no beach: you can go at the nearby St.Regis, but it's not worth since you can drive to a handful of beautiful beaches. Just remember, you need a car.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alberto_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

They gave us a great deal because we agreed to their timeshare preview, but considering the room (not a villa) was only average, this is not a return destination. I've stayed in nicer "3-star" hotels. Not Westin quality.

Room Tip: Get an upper lever floor for a better lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Aloha Lynn E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. It is with disappointment that we did not meet your expectations with regard to your studio villa. The Westin Princeville is pleased to offer our guests the options of one- or two-bedroom villas, complete with a full kitchen and dining room, for our guests who desire a larger space than our studios. We hope you will consider us again for a future stay.

Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a relaxing week here in September 2012. The staff were friendly and attentive. I appreciated their go green program providing us a voucher daily that we can use in the restaurants on sit rather than having housekeeping. We took the shuttle to the beach at the St. Regis for the mornings for snorkeling and returned to spend the afternoon by the pool at the Westin. Looking forward to our next trip.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SusanB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We originally booked a studio through Travelocity, but when we got there upgraded to a one bedroom. As a SPG member it cost $100 a night extra versus the $150 it normally would have. Very glad we did, it was a great room, spacious, the bathroom was big, the shower has great water pressure, a nice jetted bathtub. The kitchen was great, no stove and be prepared that without condiments it s really hard to cook even on the stovetop. Full size refridgerator and all the dishes and cookware you need. Additionally the property has lot of BBQ grills, one thing that suprised me is all the fish in the grocery stores is all frozen. If you want fresh fish head down to Hanalei Bay to the Dolphin Fish Market, I recommend early in the day. The Westin never asked us if we wanted to see their timeshare presentation, so no pressure sales at all. I kind of wish they would have offered if it would have saved us some money. The Westin offers you a $10 card per day if you forgo housecleaning, we attempted to try and use for Starbucks in the morning and couldn't. Per the front desk you are supposed to be able to use it there, so if you run into problems talk to them. Another nice option is sing their concierge to book activities. One thing to note is that the vendors schmooze the concierges to recommend to hotel guests. For the most part all the activities were good, just maybe check in with some of the locals or even the vendors themselves. Activities add up fast especially since you don't see the bill till you are checking out. Really, really like the Westin, but given how much we traveled throughout Kauai, I highly recommend staying in Kapaa as it is about in the middle and if you are doing excursions Princeville locations book up fast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SioPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

First - everyone traveling to Kauai should know that Princeville is situated in the "rain shadow" of the island and is not always sunny. I put that statement up front-and-center to really hit home the need for a resort location that allows for activities outside of "mainstream" Hawaii activities (i.e., fun in the sun activities).

The reality of the situation is that the Westin Princeville is a great place for a family vacation - regardless of the weather. The service staff is awesome. The rooms are nice, not great (NB: if you want luxury - go to the St. Regis) - comfortable, well equipped with pleasant views of the mountains and greens cape. The kicker for the Westin is the fantastic low-key, family focused environments.

The pools are really great. The opportunity to BBQ, go for family walks, play games in the rooms, or get off-the-beaten path to beaches on the northshore are great. We loved our vacation and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are a Starwood Preferred Gold or Platinum member - please know that you will not get the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in a studio room in Building 3 from August 30 to Sept. 4, 2012, and left loving the place after adjusting to the fact of no direct beach access. Like many reviewers we went over to the St. Regis, which is amazing--a perfect complement to the low-key and spacious comforts of the Westin. Two beautiful golf courses in walking distance.
General Manager Wardlow has done a great job, based on friendly and helpful staff encounters we had. The afternoon happy hour prices are nice, but don't expect a lot of dining choices. Go to one of the excellent local restaurants, such as the Dolphin or Bar Acuda in nearby Hanalei.
Unlike Maui, the north shore of Kauai and this resort in particular seem open, uncrowded and relaxed. Always available chairs at the pools, for example; no lines. The way Hawaii should be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCubedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: $337 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing