We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Nearby Hotels
$680
$630
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$339
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveler rating
1,091
660
233
68
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,091
660
233
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanea restaurantstudio villastarbucks coffeeheavenly bednorth shorest regisgolf coursewasher dryervacation ownershipquiet poolfull size fridgesister propertyfree shuttlemain poolregis beachkids poolanini beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,602 - 1,607 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We arrived after check in on Saturday and they offered us a room upgrade. We originally booked a studio but got a one bedroom villa. The room was immaculate and beautiful. It felt like home away from home. The kitchen was beautiful and well stocked with all sorts of baking and cooking equipment. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful and huge.

The resort was beautiful, like a paradise. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amunoz1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The resort location is absolutely beautiful as it is surrounded by lush greenery and the ocean. The grounds are also impeccably clean and there are two good sized swimming pools. While you cannot actually access the beach from the hotel you can walk down to the St Regis and use their beach. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite and I cannot fault it. It was clean, very spacious with a big kitchen and lounge area and the bathroom was huge. The service was good and the staff were friendly.

The only downsides to this place were the concierge and location. We had pre organised some tours and we needed to ring up and confirm them and we asked the concierge to do this and she would not help us because it wasn’t a Westin approved tour. Other than that we also found her quite unhelpful when asking advice on travel times and other tours we could do.

The location is also a bit of an issue. In general you can’t go to Kauai without a car because the island is quite big and you have to drive everywhere. What we didn’t realise was the Westin is on the North of Kauai and all the tours and things we wanted to see and do were on the South side (e.g Waimea canyon, Kipu ranch zipline/kayak safari tour, Napali Coast sunset tour). It took us 1 ½ - 2 hours each way every day to drive to the south for our activities and the traffic can be really really bad. We actually missed our Napali coast sunset tour because we misjudged how long it would take us to drive there and the boat left without us. There also wasn’t very many restaurants around the Westin. For this reason, next time I will pay a little bit more and stay at one of the resorts in the Poipu area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed in a studio suite for 4 days before moving onto the east shore with a bit of an ocean view accomplished with some leaning and balance. Somewhat overpriced, but as it is a resort property that is to be expected, but it wasn't exorbitantly overpriced. Kitchenette and laundry were very useful. surprisingly few restaurant choices for a resort property, and the "sort-of" corner store could use a bit wider of a selection.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This property is really a timeshare, and the units are like apartments/condos. The units (even studios!) are equipped with washer/dryer and kitchens (with a full-sized fridge!), which was incredibly convenient during our week-long stay. We didn't use the grills outside, but it was a nice amenity to offer. The room was comfortable, and we were in Hale 6, which afforded breathtaking views of the ocean and infinity plunge pool from the lanai. Nanea, the onsite restaurant, was fantastic, and offered a wonderful 5-course tasting menu for $50 and wine pairings for only $15 more. The pool-side bar offered delicious $5 margaritas and maitais and entertainment during happy hour. There was a nice 24-hour gym onsite, too. On a rainy day, we spent 90 minutes at the no-pressure timeshare sales presentation.

The Westin is set on a cliff, so it doesn't have a beach on the property. However, there is a hidden beach at the base of the Westin property, which requires a 15 minute hike down a steep, wide trail. Westin doesn't want to tell you about the beach, likely to avoid liability, but the trailhead is clearly marked right before the entrance to the Westin property. As an alternative, Westin guests can take the free shuttle (or drive 3-5 minutes) to its sister property, St. Regis, to take advantage of its beach. (Note: Westin guests are advised that they are only allowed to use the beach, which is public anyway, but not the St. Regis pool or poolchairs -- which is all a bit chintzy, if you're paying these premium prices!) As a sister property, Westin guests should be allowed to use the St. Regis pool and chairs, and for that reason alone, our stay was not optimal and did not deserve 5 stars.

Room Tip: The lanais from Hale 6 have great views of the ocean and plunge pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I booked a 7-day trip to Kauai and decided to spend 2 days at the Westin Princeville before moving on to the Sheraton Poipu for 5 days.

Drive from the airport to the Westin was around 75 minutes. We rented a convertible - strongly recommend that travelers book rental car well in advance of flying. Guests should note that entrance to hotel is on right hand side of route 56 where there is a large sign for the St. Regis. Oddly, there is no sign on route 56 for the Westin, which confused us and we overshot the entrance and called from the market down the street to find our way back. If you hit the Chevron, you've gone too far.

Received an ok welcome upon arrival during which my SPG Platinum status was recognized. We were upgraded to a 1-bedroom villa in building 4 - thank you Denise!! Room was on the ground floor, with nice layout, clean overall and offered a patio with a good view of the golf course and ocean in the near distance. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and full kitchen. We dined at hotel restaurant on night of arrival. The Ahi Tuna appetizer was good, as was the scallop/shrimp appetizer. My wife had a fish special for dinner, which was delicious. My entree was a grilled chicken pasta which was OliveGarden-esque and something I would not order again. Did not have desert. Prices were on the higher side, but consistent with what one would expect of a hotel restaurant in Hawaii.

When we sat outside on our patio the following morning, we were greeted by chickens and ducks - the rooster calls begin early. Wandered over to Princeville Market in hotel lobby for breakfast. The breakfast sandwiches/wraps we had were microwaved - a definite pass - we fared better the next morning with a purchase of baked goods, fruit and yoghurt. Staff were friendly - I forgot my phone at a counter and hotel security had the phone back in my hands within 10 minutes of my realizing I had misplaced it.

We skipped the main pool and found a smaller pool behind Building 6 - it was isolated and lovely without much of a crowd - view of ocean from this pool was nice, as were the cool breezes that flowed through the area.

My wife had a manicure at the St. Regis spa, which she liked. This was followed by sunset drinks outside at the St. Regis bar - get there early to ensure you can secure seating at a place where there is a wonderful view. We strongly recommend that you try the Ginger Margaritas - superb! Dinner on the second night was at Dolphin Market in Hanelei. We had sushi - it was tasty and we enjoyed personality of sushi chef, Jeff. Stopped into Lappert's ice cream parlor for some frozen treats, but we weren't thrilled as both flavors of super premium ice cream that we tried were quite icy instead of creamy.

Checkout next morning was graciously extended by 2 hours due to platinum status. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would likely return to this facility again during our next visit to Kauai.

Room Tip: Our room was 4113 - Building 4, ground floor with view of golf course and ocean view. Definitely liked it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MysticLiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews