We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty dining”
Review of CJ's Steak & Seafood - CLOSED

CJ's Steak & Seafood
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Red Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty dining”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good food a bit pricey but then everything is pricey in Kauai. The service was good and the dining experience, decor etc. was great. The staff was excellent with our five yr old granddaughter and she enjoyed the dessert. The meal was tasty but not quite excellent. We would go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    176
    163
    89
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mother's Day dinner”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I was somewhat disappointed with the limited menu and high prices. The unlimited salad bar at $14 is way overpriced particularly for the limited selection. My wife and I both had the 7 oz sirloin steak with a baked potato. The price was $27 plus an extra $1.50 for the baked potato each. The service was slow but it was Mother's Day and Sunday night so that is to be expected. The salad bar is included with the steak. Not being a salad person I got the fruit which was two slices of a caned peach, two pieces of pineapple and a piece of Mango. These were very small pieces I might add as I wanted to enjoy my steak. When we were served the baked potatoes were at best medium. The taste of the food was good. The other three in our party said the food was excellent. The taste of my steak was good but was extremely tuff. In fact when I tried to swallow my second bite it got caught on my throat and I had to run to the restroom. I cut deeper in steak to see if it might be better. It wasn't. I told the waitress I was not able to eat it. She asked if I wanted another. After the previous trip to the restroom I declined. When we got the bill she charged me $14 for the six small pieces of fruit and $3 for the baked potato. The original bill would have been $26. Most places I have visited would have comped the entire bill. I just thought $14 for the one trip to the salad bar for a few small pieces of fruit was not justified. I went back to my hotel with an empty stomach. On the restaurants behalf I will say the taste of the two pieces of steak I had were good. I understand that sirloin steak does on occasion have tuff pieces which is not the cooks fault. This is the first time in my life I ever sent back a steak or anything at any restaurant. I am 67 years old. In short my wife and friends enjoyed the meal. I do think the restaurant is somewhat overpriced. Because of its location they are able to get by with higher prices.

Helpful?
Thank Parkinghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Lunch, Okay Dinner”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We visited CJ's twice. First time was for lunch, and the fresh ono sandwiches were excellent. A week later we were in Princeville and I suggested that we give them another try for dinner. We were seated on their outdoor deck, on seat cushions that were really dirty, unfortunately. Their menu entrees were pretty much all $29.00 and up. My wife had the Mahi Mahi while I ordered Seared Ahi tuna. They must have been pretty busy, because we waited for quite awhile after our salad bar trip - and the salad selections were quite good. Our seafood was good, not great. I would go back again, should we find ourselves in Kauai's North Shore.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We enjoyed our meal at CJs. The salad bar was excellent with lots of fresh choices. The catch of the day was good value and well prepared. The food experience was good but the service was sort of lackadaisical and disappointing. They certainly did not make you feel special in any way. They were just providing what was necessary. You expect more in a resort location. We stuck with the fish choices are were not disappointed in the flavours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way overpriced but good service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Sorry to but the salad bar was the best thing here. With a limited number of days on a vacation your choices for eating are critical. I would skip this place unless you are in a real bind. I ordered the steak and catch of the day, ahi tuna, and ordered both medium rare. The fish, great portion, came out perfect but the steak was medium well at best. I could have sent the steak back but didn't want to mess with waiting. The steak had little flavor regardless so I had to improvise with a soy sauce/wasabi dip that I had with the tuna. All in all it was a $20 meal at best, even on HI, that charged almost $40. You are better served to go to several other great choices in Princeville or even drive a little further down to the quaint town of Hanalei.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Steak & Seafood also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing