We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch, Okay Dinner”
Review of CJ's Steak & Seafood - CLOSED

CJ's Steak & Seafood
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Lunch, Okay Dinner”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We visited CJ's twice. First time was for lunch, and the fresh ono sandwiches were excellent. A week later we were in Princeville and I suggested that we give them another try for dinner. We were seated on their outdoor deck, on seat cushions that were really dirty, unfortunately. Their menu entrees were pretty much all $29.00 and up. My wife had the Mahi Mahi while I ordered Seared Ahi tuna. They must have been pretty busy, because we waited for quite awhile after our salad bar trip - and the salad selections were quite good. Our seafood was good, not great. I would go back again, should we find ourselves in Kauai's North Shore.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    176
    163
    89
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We enjoyed our meal at CJs. The salad bar was excellent with lots of fresh choices. The catch of the day was good value and well prepared. The food experience was good but the service was sort of lackadaisical and disappointing. They certainly did not make you feel special in any way. They were just providing what was necessary. You expect more in a resort location. We stuck with the fish choices are were not disappointed in the flavours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way overpriced but good service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Sorry to but the salad bar was the best thing here. With a limited number of days on a vacation your choices for eating are critical. I would skip this place unless you are in a real bind. I ordered the steak and catch of the day, ahi tuna, and ordered both medium rare. The fish, great portion, came out perfect but the steak was medium well at best. I could have sent the steak back but didn't want to mess with waiting. The steak had little flavor regardless so I had to improvise with a soy sauce/wasabi dip that I had with the tuna. All in all it was a $20 meal at best, even on HI, that charged almost $40. You are better served to go to several other great choices in Princeville or even drive a little further down to the quaint town of Hanalei.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best prime rib ever!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had found that many restaurants in Kauai with so so service. CJ's was the exception. It was like service back home. They were prompt and very friendly.

I had the Kings cut of Prime rib. I kid you not it was the best I have ever had to date. Cooked to perfection and all meat! not fatty like so many places. Came with salad bar and sweet roll which could be a meal in itself.

I was truly in heaven on Kauai and at CJ's!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aloha_OregonKahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Musty tasting steaks”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here in the past, and have always referred people. Last night for our anniversary both my steak, and my husbands was musty tasting. My lobster was excellent. Place seems dirty. My water glass had lipstick on it. Market price for steak and lobster was $69, I felt that was a little steep for below average steak, and a place that lacks ambience.

Helpful?
Thank scentsbycori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Steak & Seafood also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing