We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CJ's a disappointment in Princeville”
Review of CJ's Steak & Seafood - CLOSED

CJ's Steak & Seafood
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“CJ's a disappointment in Princeville”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The one disappointing evening we had in Princeville was dinner at CJ's. It was like eating dinner at a Denny's. The salad bar that comes with every meal is dismal, including canned 4 bean salad and gooey potato salad. The service was friendly but couldn't make up for the lack of any imagination in the food. The ice cream scoop of rice was a gooey blob and next to our table was a stinky mosquito coil. I guess you couldn't go wrong with a broiled piece of freshly caught fish, which was the only highlight of an extremely overpriced, mediocre meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank toddaz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    176
    163
    89
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitney, TX
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“CJ's is the place to "hang out" in Princeville.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good menu, great salad bar, excellent drinks. No trip to Kauai is complete without a visit to Hanalei and dinner at CJ's. I have been coming here for years and I have never been disappointed. The personnel may change; however, they somehow manage to maintain a surprisingly consistent level of quality.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Consistently good casual dining.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The salad bar is always fresh... there's usually a diverse selection of fish, and if you like steaks, the N.Y. strip is quite good. The staff here are always on the dime and this restaurant remains a favorite with its consistency of value and meal quality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalihiwai_locals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food, but pricey.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The food was good, but pricey. The Coconut Cosmo was fabulous though!!!!

I had the Light Portion of Shrimp Hanalei. It was yummy and came with salad bar and rice. My husband ordered the catch of the day, broiled ono. He had asked for white rice, but got brown instead. The fish was EXCELLENT.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricier place and not that good”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went here for dinner last week. We each ordered a blender drink. They were good, but not worth $9.50, which was more than any other place on the island. After asking the waiter's opinion, we both went with prime rib. It had no flavor and was a little tough. The salad bar was pretty good and the baked potato came with toppings that were ok. It was not worth the $90 we spent for 2 people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing