We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whalers Cove - What A Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltsire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Whalers Cove - What A Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2005

We recently spent 7 nights at Whalers Cove and had a great time. We were originally booked into a resort hotel but this fell far short of our expectations and we were lucky enough to book into Whalers Cove.

Our stay on Kauai got off to a poor start, what with the hotel and United Airlines losing our luggage we were in low spirits. Anne Marie, the manager at Whalers Cove made it her business to turn things around; she negotioated with the hotel we had booked with to ensure that we were not penalised as a result of checking out early and ensured that our stay at Whalers Cove was special.

The condo accomodation at Whalers Cove is wonderful and spacious, it’s great to have enough space to have a real home from home rather than the confines of a standard hotel room. The fully equipped kitchen gives the flexibility to prepare your own meals if you wish and the added conveience of washing machine and dryer was useful, especially if you are doing a 17 day trip like ourselves - less dirty washing to take home!!

It is hard to do justice to the view from the french windows in words. The glory of the Pacific ocean fills the view – it really was an ocean view room, watching the sunrise whilst lying in bed was an added bonus.

We can’t recommend Whalers Cove enough. The location is great and if you want resort type entertaiment in the evening the Sheraton is within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank VoyagerWiltsire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    26
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
82
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2005

Just an amazing place!!! The apartment was gorgeous, well decorated, comfortable and clean with all the amenities anyone would need. The location was ideal and to wake up to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below and the gentle breeze coming in through the windows was just heaven. I would definitely stay here again and would highly reccommend it to anyone who was interested. Although not on Poipu beach the place is right by some of the best snorkelling on the island and is within easy walking distance to some superb restaurants in the area if you fancy a drink in the evening. Top tip would be to visit the 'savage shrimp' van for lunch, it parks on a corner just up the road - only two items on the menu and no more are needed!!! All in all staying at Whalers Cove made both our wedding and the start of our honeymoon truely magical - thank you so much Whalers Cove you really are a precious gem on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Wychelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2005

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon here from Sept. 28-Oct. 1. It was almost totally vacant which made our stay very quiet. We stayed in unit #112 (or was it 212?) which had a great view, but the furniture and decor was very dated and looked like it was designed for an episode of Miami Vice. Faded paintings, pastel fish, odd looking couch, strange, out of place desk, peeling wallpaper, etc. and the tv was in the kitchen, not the living room which was inconvenient. However, the huge sliding glass doors were great and the view was amazing with the waves crashing on the rocks below us. There is no a/c here which we really didn't need because the trade winds kept it comfortable. Our smoke detector had issues- it kept beeping one morning and a new battery didn't fix it- the maintenance guy finally took care of it 3 hours later. The pool area is beautiful, but the hot tub was broken when we were there. They said a storm knocked out the motor which was too bad because it would have been nice to use.

If it hadn't been for the couple issues I mentioned, everything would have been perfect. It's a nice, off the beaten path yet conveniently located place with friendly service. The units are very spacious and the decks/lanais are great. I would be happy to try this place out on a return visit, possibly in a different unit.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank BL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2005

After living in Kauai for over 3 years, a very thoughtful friend treated my husband and I to a stay at Whalers during our last week on the Island before our big move North. The experience at Whalers gave me a whole new appreciation for the Kauai experience, and the beauty of Poipu. I have never stayed in a more beautiful location, or accomodations before and was so excited to be there that had it not been for the extremely comfortable bed I probably wouldn't have slept at all. The space was huge and beautiful, the kitchen great and we even had our own little yard. I loved the atmosphere! We felt like royalty without feeling like we didn't belong (some high class places make a person feel alien - but Whalers makes you feel like your staying among friends).

Be sure to make arrangements with the onsite Property Management to get the best service and selection - they'll make sure you get just what you need - and more.

  • Stayed April 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 3, 2005

We stayed at Whaler's Cove and had the time of our lives. We have never found a resort so close to the water. The property is small and very very private. The unit we stayed in was huge and decorated lavishly. The staff of Premier Resort (who manages the company) was top quality. We will always come back to Kauai and always stay at Whaler's Cove if we can ever get back here. Book thru the front office for the best availability and rates. They will treat you like royalty! (---) or (---)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Greatest beach vacation ever! The ocean views and pool side atmosphere are better than any other reosrt on the island as well it is such a smaller complex than the large htoels that you feel like you are at home. The staff is amazing as well! A++++ from us, we will stay here ever time we visit Kauai! The condos are like a home away from home and then so luxurious. Well worth the money when you consider what you don' get at the large hotels as opposed to here. Great area to stay as well, small town feel but close to shops and Lihui to go shopping too! Wow this is the whole package here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jvotaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2005

We spent a week at Whaler's Cove enjoying it's luxury, seclusion, and the crashing waves on the rocks below, with it's well manicured grounds along the ocean and pool. Saw schools of dolphin, fed tropical birds on lanai every morning, and enjoyed the fully equip 2bdrm/2 1/2 bath condo rented from Grantham. Would come back or better yet stay forever!!! Take Island Helipcopter tour of island, it's the only way to see the entire island from secluded beaches to tippy top of mountains. Drive up to Waimea Canyon "Grand Canyon of Pacific" breathtaking and fun drive. Stop for shaved ice at JoJo's in town. Take Liko Kaua'i Cruises for excellent catamaran/snorkel trip to Na Pali coast, great food, instruction, fun stories, and run by warm inviting people! If you want to eat at Beach House Rest. which is 5 minutes from Whaler's Cove. Call and make reservations BEFORE arriving on your vacation, unless you don't mind eating dinner at 9:00 pm or later. The sunset/ocean/surfer views are spectacular and so is the food. The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook is a must to read and follow, although there are so many beaches/restaurants/activities you will have to come back to Kauai again and again, as far as we can tell, we will be back, ENJOY!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tredpositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,309 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2640 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalers Cove Resort on beautiful Poipu Beach in Kauai, Hawaii offers luxury condos in a relaxing and stunning location. Our property offers daily housekeeping, full kitchens in each unit, and partial or ocean views with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. One stay at Whalers Cove Resort and you'll see why guests have awarded us the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Hotel Poipu
Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing