We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private and Excellent location at Whalers Cove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whalers Cove Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Private and Excellent location at Whalers Cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2005

We stayed at Whaler's Cove and had the time of our lives. We have never found a resort so close to the water. The property is small and very very private. The unit we stayed in was huge and decorated lavishly. The staff of Premier Resort (who manages the company) was top quality. We will always come back to Kauai and always stay at Whaler's Cove if we can ever get back here. Book thru the front office for the best availability and rates. They will treat you like royalty! (---) or (---)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

Greatest beach vacation ever! The ocean views and pool side atmosphere are better than any other reosrt on the island as well it is such a smaller complex than the large htoels that you feel like you are at home. The staff is amazing as well! A++++ from us, we will stay here ever time we visit Kauai! The condos are like a home away from home and then so luxurious. Well worth the money when you consider what you don' get at the large hotels as opposed to here. Great area to stay as well, small town feel but close to shops and Lihui to go shopping too! Wow this is the whole package here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jvotaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2005

We spent a week at Whaler's Cove enjoying it's luxury, seclusion, and the crashing waves on the rocks below, with it's well manicured grounds along the ocean and pool. Saw schools of dolphin, fed tropical birds on lanai every morning, and enjoyed the fully equip 2bdrm/2 1/2 bath condo rented from Grantham. Would come back or better yet stay forever!!! Take Island Helipcopter tour of island, it's the only way to see the entire island from secluded beaches to tippy top of mountains. Drive up to Waimea Canyon "Grand Canyon of Pacific" breathtaking and fun drive. Stop for shaved ice at JoJo's in town. Take Liko Kaua'i Cruises for excellent catamaran/snorkel trip to Na Pali coast, great food, instruction, fun stories, and run by warm inviting people! If you want to eat at Beach House Rest. which is 5 minutes from Whaler's Cove. Call and make reservations BEFORE arriving on your vacation, unless you don't mind eating dinner at 9:00 pm or later. The sunset/ocean/surfer views are spectacular and so is the food. The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook is a must to read and follow, although there are so many beaches/restaurants/activities you will have to come back to Kauai again and again, as far as we can tell, we will be back, ENJOY!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tredpositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

Whaler's Cove was recommended by a corporate event planner that lives in Hawaii. We were pleasantly surprised that it lived up to the photos. We booked #121 through (---). Also available through Grantham and Premier Resorts. It had everything we wanted: Oceanfront, only 39 units in complex, full kitchen, W/D. Enjoyed every breakfast and many dinners on the Lanai (even saw dolphins one morning!). Perhaps it was the timing, but we had the pool to ourselves many afternoons. Nearby Koloa Town has restaurants, grocery, post office and Poipu beaches are close. No sandy beach in front of complex but "Baby Beach" is about 6-8 houses to the west.

Given our quest for snorkeling we found that much of our time was spent at Ke'e and Tunnels beach on the Northshore (calmer waters in the summer) which made for a 1.5 hour drive. Perhaps we'll look into to Northshore homes/condos for next trip. Wholeheartedly recommend it for southshore stay!

-Enjoyed Happy Hour at Brennecke's Beach Broiler in Poipu and lunch at Scotty's BBQ in Kapaa.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AZGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2005

We were upgraded to #125 Deluxe Suite and were in for a nice surprise! The condo was spotless with a HUGE bathroom and well stocked with kitchen gadgets, books and cable tv/internet. Besides there being a main water leak that shut off all water for about 12 hours there were no other problems. No chickens ventured back there, the pool was pretty and we put the bbq grills to use with fish we caught from Captain Don's Sportfishing (which by the way you will need a VERY strong stomach for due to the rough waters all year long). We also took a Blue Dolphin Charters Na Pali sunset cruise and were blessed with dolphins and a few whales making a rare appearance this late in the season. We went to Smith's Luau where food and entertainment were okay but the grounds were beautiful and landscaping informatively labeled. Poipu was a great location for the southern half and Whaler's Cove a very quiet place to retreat and watch the waves roll in after busy days. Beaches, restaurants and shopping weren't more than a few minutes to 30 minutes tops. We would stay there again upon any return to that area. I guess my only complaint would be that there wasn't a beach within close walking distance. The ocean is right outside the door with waves crashing up against the rocks which makes for relaxing sounds and cool breezes.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

We spent the second week of October 2004 at Whaler's Cove and were impressed with the comfortable, spacious accomodations and luxurious ammenities. The quiet secluded ambiance of the resort is a treat compared to the crowded hotels and resorts that we visited. There are no crowds at the pool and the resort is quiet as there are not too many units. The pool is lovely and the waves crashing on the rocks nearby makes it seem as if you are on a cruise ship, with a magnificent cabin and view. The parking area is very close and convenient to the front door of the unit, but car noise was never a problem because of the way the units are situated. There are also elevators. If you want ocean front you have to be in building #1. We were in building #2 and we had a beautiful view of both the pool and the ocean. Take your pick.
The only drawback: No Air conditioning, just ceiling fans. Many of the restaurants and shops also open air with no A/C. It happened to be warm that week and also humid so that the tradewinds were not cooling things off at night, making it difficult for sleeping. But, afterall ,you are in the tropics to be warm. . . . It did not rain until the day we left!!!!!! Note: don't bring too many clothes. . . just bathing suits and cover ups, sunscreen and a cool dress for the evening will do with this type of weather. The highlight of the vacaton was the Napali Explorer trip in an inflatable boat touring the rugged Napali coastline.

Helpful?
18 Thank caroleam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2004

We stayed at Whalers Cove unit # 116 on the south shore from 5/2-5/8/04 and loved every minute. The condo is amazing! Literally feet from the ocean, very private and immaculate (no chickens or roaches!) Rent directly from the new owner, John Sanguinetti, ---------, e-mail -------------------- and save considerably. The offfice staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We did a helicopter tour with Safari per staff's recommendation and were impressed with their safety-got a better price than listed-maybe b/c we made the reservation the night before or perhaps b/c we delayed commiting-at any rate, seems like prices are somewhat negotiable. Capt. Andy's dinner cruise (the Na Pali coast is breathtaking)-request boat with Raina as mate-she's awesome-very knowledgeable. Gay & Robinson sugar plantation & factory tour was fun & informative. Enjoyed lunch at Wrangler's Steakhouse in Waimea (order the kau kau tin lunch-served in reproduction tins like laborers use to take into the fields with them), Brick Oven pizza in Kalaheo is excellent but REALLY expensive as is grocery store in Koala--better prices at Star market in Kukui Grove shopping ctr. in Lihue. Pick-up all maps, pamphlets, 101 Things to do when you arrive at the airport--most everything has coupons. Most reasonably priced trinkets are at Spouting Horn Beach Park and generic T-shirts at K-Mart & Walmart. Traffic is quite heavy in Lihue both morning and afternoon-best to avoid this area at that time if possible. We had a great vacation.

Helpful?
23 Thank PrettyLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Resort

Property: Whalers Cove Resort
Address: 2640 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whalers Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalers Cove Resort on beautiful Poipu Beach in Kauai, Hawaii offers luxury condos in a relaxing and stunning location. Our property offers daily housekeeping, full kitchens in each unit, and partial or ocean views with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. One stay at Whalers Cove Resort and you'll see why guests have awarded us the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whalers Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Hotel Poipu
Whalers Cove Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing