We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful tropical holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whalers Cove Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful tropical holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Whalers Cove Resort for a week, early August 2012. From the moment we walked in to the beautiful apartment and looked out over the grass and rocks to the sea, we felt as if we were really on holiday. It is peaceful, quiet and surrounded by houses, rather than resort tower blocks. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves and we never heard any noise from other units. The units face the sea and I think face southwest, so apart from a couple of hours in the middle of the day, it's not too hot to lie out in the pleasant breeze. It's possible to swim in the sea off the rocks in the cove, but easier to walk for a few minutes to baby beach or slightly further to a lovely beach and snorkelling area by the Beach House restaurant. There are shops including a whole foods store and restaurants up the road (5-minute walk) and if you organise it in advance, Marianne, the manager, will stock your condominium with some food for when you arrive. It's about a $50 taxi ride from Lihue airport. A great holiday for people who want to relax, swim and enjoy the peace, and a great base for exploring Kauai. We intended to rent a car and drive around a bit, but had such a nice time at Whalers Cove we didn't bother going anywhere else. I am sure we will be back, and as the condo had 2 good bedrooms, we'd also consider going back with another couple.

Room Tip: Top storey and corner highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatWhalersCove, Front Office Manager at Whalers Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Aloha New Zealand! Glad you enjoyed your vacation with us. You described the property and area better than me! Can't wait until you return, and I wanted to remind you, when you call, your condo was 130, and you qualify for a Return Guest discount. If that winter down there gets too dreary, I remind you that the weather in October is pretty wonderful! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in the Penthouse/One bedroom Suite #138 for almost a full week. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accomodating to every need and question that we had. We were greeted with a great food basket upon arrival. Open the front door of the condo and it was all glass, nothing but ocean and ocean breeze! The condo is very spacious and open, clean and new. There are sliding glass doors and windows surrounding the entire unit. Sleep with those windows open and you can enjoy the music of the ocean all night long. It's within walking distance of beaches, shops, restaurants, etc. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloerzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed between July 12 to July 21 at Condo 117 in the Whalers Cove. This was our second trip after 3 years to the same condo and resort.

The condo itself is superbly located (ocean front offering great views and no sun glare) and very well appointed. The Koa wood trims and furnishing were lovely and the owner has taken great care to stock the condo with all the necessities at a very high quality. They obviously care about their guests- please take care of their place if you visit.

I have traveled to Hawaii over 10 times these past 10 years and stayed in different condos at different islands. I can easily say this is the best in terms of location, ambiance, management and service. The general manager Ms. Martin is a very nice lady who really takes care of her guests and goes out of her way to help them. The staff in the office are very friendly and helpful. They provide daily maid service which is comparable to any top resort.They provide fresh towels, pool towels, snorkel gear, wifi etc- one can really expect no more.They also have a very nice pool and we had the pleasure of interacting with some long term residents- who were very friendly and welcoming . Finally, this condo is just a short drive from to Poipu beach, the beach house beach, shopping malls, Koala town - so this takes care of many things,

All in all, this is an A+ resort. If you get a chance to stay here and in Condo 117. It will be a memorable experience.

Thank you Whalers Cove- we look forward to our next trip here!

Room Tip: Pick a ground floor and ocean front. It is worth the price premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelestravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatWhalersCove, General Manager at Whalers Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for you kind words about your condo, our property and staff. We really enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your return! A hui hou! - Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay in #138 which is a gorgeous unit at beautiful Whalers Cove. Right on the ocean and recently remodeled, it has to be the primo condomenium on Kauai. From the wrap-around lanai this end unit has a 300 degree view of the southshore - including the mountains and the ocean; sunrises and sunsets. The condo is beautifully furnished, well-appointed and pristine. And talk about romantic - #138 must be the most romantic place on Kauai - make that the planet. Plus, the people in the office are full of aloha - friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. We can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pahewahini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We loved our stay at Whaler's Cove. We stayed in unit #124 and it was lovely. Right on the water, large lanai, nice furnishings and plenty of room. The resort itself is perfect. It's small and quiet, and yet is has beautfiul grounds and a lovely pool right on the water. During our visit there was hardly anyone at the pool, so it was very nice and quiet. We would definitely recommend Whaler's Cove!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationLover020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a week in a unit overlooking the pool and the ocean. Exceptionally well appointed unit. Gardens are a credit to the ground staff. Could see sea turtles from our balcony in the right conditions.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djslack55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Wow! I don't even know where to start. We rented from the official office on property. Their condos are up to date and the daily cleaning keeps them super comfortable. If you need anything there is a full staff on site every day! We absolutely loved Whaler's Cove in Poipu, Kauai!!! The place was awesome...the setting, the staff, everything...it was truly a memorable vacation! We stayed in 125 and it was beautiful...very comfortable...definitely a home away from home. There was nothing better than relaxing on the "lanai" listening to the sound of the ocean. The staff at Whaler's Cove was the best...very friendly and welcoming. They were very willing to help and share information on where to go and what to see on their beautiful island home.
I would not hesitate to stay at Whaler's Cove again! In fact, I definitely plan on it and can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Resort

Property: Whalers Cove Resort
Address: 2640 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whalers Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalers Cove Resort on beautiful Poipu Beach in Kauai, Hawaii offers luxury condos in a relaxing and stunning location. Our property offers daily housekeeping, full kitchens in each unit, and partial or ocean views with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. One stay at Whalers Cove Resort and you'll see why guests have awarded us the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whalers Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Hotel Poipu
Whalers Cove Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing