We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed - Unit 116”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Kuhio Condos
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed October 19, 2007

The location is great. A nice morning walk to Spouting Horn and just across the street from a terrific snorkeling beach. Kitchen is well-equipped and Wifi is dependable. A bit more furniture than necessary gave us lots of area to toss our stuff around. Cute Tommy Bahama type
furnishings.

Pool is conveniently located right outside door.

Booked through Kauai Vacation Rentals - wonderful to work with. Be sure to study driving directions and map when arriving - detours make
it somewhat confusing.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Trippinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2007

I booked unit 335 directly through the owners at Poipu Connection and could not have been more happy with the accommodations. This is a studio with ocean view and a very comfortable king bed. It has an AC unit, which I was told is not necessary in Poipu but nevertheless was something I sought. I found few other places in Poipu that have AC.

The owners provide some nice touches such as coffee, high-speed internet connection, and flat-screen tv. It seems like they also recently installed new tile floor. Some beach equipment was also in the room, although the chairs and snorkel gear were not in very good condition. We enjoyed using the body boards at nearby Brennecke's beach.

One thing to note about this room is that the curtains don't extend all the way to the wall where the bed's headboard is. If you don't like waking up at sunrise, you'll be in for a rude awakening when the sun shines directly on your face through the uncovered portion of the window that's beneath the AC unit. To prevent this, you can pull the curtain over to cover this area and use the edge of the window frame to hold it in place.

The Prince Kuhio complex itself is well-situated in Poipu. I was concerned about nearby construction being a nuisance after reading reviews, but this was hardly the case.

The beach right across the street has good snorkling. The water was pretty rough when we were there, but I was told that it gets calmer in the afternoons.

The complex grounds are very well kept. The pool was good for cooling off but maybe has a little too much tree shade for those who want to lay out in the sun at times other than mid-day.

The property next door has a parking garage with spaces on the ground floor reserved for Prince Kuhio. I found this to be much preferable to the Prince Kuhio lot, especially for unit 335.

The Beach House is a nice restaurant within walking distance. I recommend making reservations at least a day ahead of time to ensure a table with full ocean view.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. What I recommend most about the Prince Kuhio is its location - Poipu is quite nice - and its value. If you're willing to sacrifice room service, daily cleaning, and possibly A/C, definitely consider staying here.

The condo we stayed in was extremely well-appointed, with a great kitchen and very nice furnishings. But since each unit is individually owned, I'd guess there could be lots of variation in features like the quality of appliances, fixtures, furniture, and linens.

Many units also are not air-conditioned, so check ahead whether they instead have ceiling or floor fans. We ended up needing both, using a floor fan to suck ocean breezes in overnight. But the birds are loud in the morning, so one of us had to get up everyday at 6 to close the window. On the plus side, there were no wild chickens anywhere nearby (they seem to be almost everywhere else on the island).

Smaller room numbers are closer to the ocean, as well as to Lawa'i road. The condos at the south end of the building are one-bedrooms that span the width of the building, but the rest are studios that face out only one side of the building - some are poolside and some face the adjacent park (and ocean). So, some but not all units get really nice ocean views, breezes, and sounds of the waves (also, some road noise).

We saw lots of Kauai and figured Poipu, at least in the summer, is probably the nicest area to be on the island. There are several beaches very close to the Prince Kuhio, but the closest is quite rough and rocky. Another beach (near the Beach House restaurant) is a little tamer but still kind of hairy - it has a surf spot close to shore too. Some really nice beaches are a 5 minute drive: Poipu State Beach, and the beach by the Sheraton. Poipu has calm swimming areas, some mildly challenging snorkeling areas, and a surf spot to the right. It also has chickens, monk seals, and the occasional turtle.

Some tips for dining: Roy's in Poipu shopping village and Tidepools at the Hyatt have upscale small-portion menus, but the service and food are both much better at Roys. The Beach House, right near the Prince Kuhio, is also pricey but excellent. Keoki's grill looked like a campy tourist trap (we walked in but did not stay), and Pizzetta's in nearby Koloa had obscene prices (e.g., $7 for a slice). Poipu Grill (near the corner of Poipu and Lawai) and TomKat's Grill in Koloa are good values: big portions for lower prices.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank SB_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We stayed in unit 331 on our honeymoon, and were so happy with the property that we booked 237 for a return trip three years later. Both are studios, and each has advantages. Unit 331 came with more accessories--boogie boards, books, dresser etc.--but 237 has more polished and coordinated decor and seems to have better ventilation in the bathroom. There is plenty of room in the kitchens to make simple meals, which means that we don't have to schedule time to eat every breakfast out. The condos are a few minutes by car from several good family restaurants in Old Koloa Town, and only a few more minutes from the Poipu resorts and their amenities. We would definitely come here again--it's ideal for a couple's vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KateNonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We booked the Location from New Mexico on-line and found that there are things too good to be true! The location is wonderful (a skip from Spouting Horn and the Botanical Gardens, let alone the Beach House and snorkeling!) The place is comfortable, clean and has the necessities for a relaxing stay. (Towels, snorkeling equipment, cooler, etc.)I cannot tell you how pleased we were to be at this location. We are considering an annual visit, and we wouldn't even look somewhere else.

Sincerely,

Fred and Yvonne
Tijeras, New Mexico

Stayed: June 2007
Thank bellario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Stayed in unit 332 (booked thru vrbo). This air-conditioned, roomy studio unit has the most comfortable bed we have ever had the pleasure to use (Deluxe pillow top). More comfortable than the new bed we just purchased at home. We don’t usually stay in apartments/condos but when looking into the accommodation available in Kauai and the ridiculous prices some hotels are charging, we thought we’d try it. We’re really glad that we did.

This unit had everything we could have wanted. Mega-comfortable king size bed, sofa, cable TV – with 70+ channels, DVD player, CD player, high speed internet access, coffee table, dining table with chairs, kitchen with everything you need to cook your own meals, large refrigerator, wardrobe, bathroom with shower, ironing facilities, small balcony/lanai overlooking the pool, new carpet and little extras like boogie/body board, beach chairs, beach umbrella, cooler, insect repellent, sunscreen, towels, tourist info, etc.

Only things we didn’t like were climbing the stairs as the unit is two floors above ground level, that the curtain didn’t cover the window under the AC (we placed two pillows there to cover the space when we wanted privacy), and the lack of eating choices in the local area. We found the rooftop café and the expensive Beach House restaurant across the street. Otherwise a shortish drive to Poipu or Koloa Town provided some other options (we’re not really into cooking on holidays – we prefer to eat out). The Poipu Beach Broiler bar and the pizza at Pizzetta in Koloa town were our favourites. We weren’t overly impressed by Tropical Burgers in Poipu shopping village – the burgers were the blandest we have ever tasted. If you like fast food or cheap eats you would be better off staying in or near Kapaa – the beaches there aren’t as nice though.

The unit is about 100 yards/metres from the beach/water where you can walk in and instantly snorkel (you don’t have to swim out any distance) amongst a huge variety of tropical fish and the odd turtle. Two monk seals were regular visitors to the beach during the week we were there as well. The snorkelling must be good because it is where most of the snorkelling tours come. Don’t let that put you off as I never found the water crowded with snorkellers even when the tours were there. I also snorkelled at Poipu but found the snorkelling at Lawai beach far superior – water was clearer, less crowded, more fish and less current. Only drawback to Lawai beach is that the sand part is not very wide. I actually like it, as I don’t have to walk across miles of sand to get to the water. For those with small children there are several beach parks around the island that have safe and calm rock enclosed pools to swim and play in.

A short drive along the coast brings you to the Spouting Horn (a blowhole), which I found quite impressive and consistent. There are several stalls selling local souvenirs there during the day as well as lots of chickens and roosters.

We also spotted whales off the beach on the way to the canyon near the sugar mill and just off Poipu beach as well as a pod of dolphins.

There is free parking available for guests at the Prince Kuhio and on the bottom level of the multistorey car park in the Lawai Beach Resort next door. We preferred to park in the latter as it was closer to the unit and the car was cooler as it was always in the shade.

We picked the keys up at the airport car rental and dropped them off at the Kauai Vacation Rentals office on the way back. A car is a necessity when visiting Kauai.

The unit is well placed to visit the Waimea Canyon, Hanapepe and Lihue as well as the cheap but cheerful 9 hole Kukuiolono golf course (about $40-45 for 9 holes, cart and rental clubs for 2 people). We found the drive to the other side of the island quite long, as the speed limits are so low in Kauai. but would definitely recommend going there. We particularly liked the taro fields, the caves and Kee beach. Fuel up around Kapaa or Lihue as fuel in Princeville is quite a bit more expensive.

Overall, we found Prince Kuhio Unit 332 a great place to stay for our holiday and would definitely stay there again! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank worldtravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed in unit #214 from March 29-April 10. We found the unit to be spacious and comfortable and was very reasonable for the price we paid ($100 per night).

Pros: We were very pleased with the accommodations and the complex is quite nice with beautiful manicured gardens, a nice pool and central barbeque area. The complex is steps from the ocean and fantastic snorkeling! The unit is clean and comfortable and spacious enough for two people. A great place to relax after a long day of activity.

Possible cons (depending on your taste): the unit itself is not luxurious and does not have the most modern in decor (if you look into some of the other units in this complex you will see that they have been renovated). Also this unit does not have a lanai which we weren't aware of before we got there (however this is our fault because we didn't even think to ask!)

All in all --- we really liked Prince Kuhio and we would definitely stay in unit 214 again, however, if a more modern unit with a lanai was available for around the same price or a few dollars more, we would choose that over unit 214.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trinigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
9.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
0.6 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
12.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort
15 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Kuhio Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Kuhio Condos

Address: 5061 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Kuhio Condos are offered by individual owners. Our condos are just a few yards from the ocean on the sunny south shore of Poipu Beach Kauai. The complex is nestled between the beautifully landscaped Prince Kuhio Park on one side and a lush, tropical garden and pool on the other side. There are ocean views, park views, mountain views, and sunrise views! You can hear the ocean waves from the bedrooms at night. (Note to Reviewers/Readers: These condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Kuhio Hotel Poipu
Prince Kuhio Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing