We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poipu Kapili #32 is the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poipu Kapili
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poipu Kapili #32 is the BEST”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been coming to the Poipu Kapili now for over 20 years, and we think that Kauai is the best Island to visit and Poipu is the best place on Kauai. And for us, the Poipu Kapili is our home away from home: it's wonderfully situated, with great views of the ocean, a perfect place to view the sunset as well as the many sea turtles (and whales in whale season) that frequent the shoreline. The condo where we stay in the Poipu Kapili, #32, is modern, with the latest in electronics (TV and Stereo components) and kitchen appliances, and very comfortable furnishings to boot. It has a beautiful view of the ocean from the living room (and front balcony), and althought we did not use them this time, a great pool and barbeque right near our suite. And near the Condo, are any number of fine dining experiences and great golf which we always take advantage of when visiting. I highly recommend that anyone coming to Hawaii should take a good look at the Poipu Kapili as it's a great value in a place that is not so inexpensive to visit. Too bad we were only able to spend one week there this visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank dttarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    51
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
150
143
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I went island hopping in Hawaii for 10 nights for our 25th Anniversary and this place was our favorite. The complex is awesome; the unit was great; and people were fabulous ! Very peaceful and great location

Room Tip: They have a map of the units on the website and it's lists what they have - we had Unit 22 and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We rented one of the penthouse condos, no. 28. The location and upkeep of the complex was top-notch, and quiet (save for the occasional roosters!). The condo in itself was very large, but dated, the carpet being stained (and worn) in several places. The guest bathroom was especially dated and poorly lit. However, the clincher was that the condo was infested with ghost ants (the size of a dot), to the point that we had to wrap any food left on the countertops in plastic bags, or run the risk of finding it crawling with ants. No unprotected food could be left for any amount of time. The property management did send a handyman with bug insecticide, but that didn't help at all. In addition, we did not use the bathtub in the second (guest) bathroom because it too was surrounded by ants. When we asked property management about this, they said they were unaware of the problem, even though we found two cans of ant spray underneath the kitchen sinks! When we asked for a partial reimbursement, we were offered a pittance. In short, a nice complex in gorgeous surrounings, but avoid no. 28!

Room Tip: As previously stated, avoid penthouse no. 28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My daughter was married on the 21st of September at the Beach House Restaurant. There was a group of 55 that traveled to Kauai for the beautiful celebration.
We stayed in a 2 BEDROOM 3 BATH condo that was perfect. Condo #2 had a full kitchen, washer/dryer, living room and our view was the ocean. Divers and kayaks by day and the best sunset on the island every evening.
We could prepare meals and snacks and sit on the patio, or walk to the Sheraton for a delicious 5 star meal. Our parking space was just out the front door.
My daughter booked all of the condos. They had an amazing suite overlooking the pool and ocean view. Perfect for entertaining all their guests.
I not only want to go back and stay there, I could live in one easily. Only thing I would add is taking vitamin B a week ahead of arrival because of mosquitos. I am sensative to them. I did rub myself with a dryer sheet and that helped. Mahalo. ..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duffyloveskauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
713 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a nice, well-run and well-kept property. The ocean is across a quiet road, and the sunset from the rockwall along the street is lovely. Things that would make it even "more perfect"
1. A Beach in front of the property. They can't do much about this--but notice this property is Ocean Front NOT Beach front--no sand, no snorkeling. The Sheraton Beach is a short walk, but you really need to get in your car and take a short drive to get to Brenneke's or Lawai, the closest nice beaches.
2. A centrally located gas barbecue would be nice--the gas barbecues are at the edge of the property pretty far away.
3. A hot tub--there is a pool but no jacuzzi.

You should note that the locals like the rock wall across the street for gathering dusk/dark (especially on weekends) which generates some loud-ish music, voices, etc.

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Disliked — No beach in front
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After researching condo choices for a month, we were thrilled to find our choice to be even better than expected! Unit 33 is downstairs, very spacious & open, decorated with upscale furnishings in "Tommy Bahama" style, fully stocked kitchen, excellent comfortable bedding (A/C in bedroom) & was extremely clean & fresh. Nothing dated or worn looking in this unit, it felt like being in a friend's home with everything top notch. The property is lushly landscaped and very well cared for, we enjoyed sitting on our patio enjoying the views every evening. This property is smaller, intimate and very quiet, NOT like some other huge condo properties we saw while there. The location is excellent, perfect for viewing the sunsets from the rock wall along the ocean, taking walks & the beach park just down the block. We especially appreciated the owner providing a notebook complete with every type of info we needed - a list of all local restaurants with ph #, personal reviews, & price ranges, lists of various activities around the island, and operation instructions for the TV/DVD, etc. We would highly recommend this property to anybody looking for a true island experience in the perfect condo.......no hotel room could ever come close!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Poipu Kapili unit 60 this August and we are already planning our next trip back!
The views of the ocean were amazing, we had breakfast inside or on one of the two lanais outside and watched the waves coming in or the dive boat that comes up directly in front of the place. Also cocktails on the lanai for sunset.We could even see the ocean while we were in bed. The amenities both inside the place and outside we're the best. The owners are very easy to work with and helpful, they even called to check to make sure we were settled in. Can't wait until next time, Aloha.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is the best, Unit 60 is a corner unit so you get more light, two lanais and the ocean br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalhobber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Property: Poipu Kapili
Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9783
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kapili 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a 60-unit Hawaiian plantation style resort surrounded by five acres of lush tropical gardens. Guests at Poipu Kapili can relax in the ocean view swimming pool, play tennis on two courts and walk to nearby Kiahuna Beach. It is a perfect place for a family vacation or romantic escape. A varied selection of accommodations are available including Penthouse Suites with elevator access, spacious one and two level floor plans with the finest touches and air-conditioning, convenient washer/dryer in unit or laundry access, free WiFi and ocean views from each villa including select oceanfront locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing