We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forthieth Wedding Anniversary in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poipu Kapili
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Salina, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forthieth Wedding Anniversary in Paradise”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The was a our second trip to Kauai and by far the best. This trip was celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Our first trip was our 30th anniversary 10 years ago. We enjoy Kauai because of the slow pace and wonderful people who live there. We chose Poipu Kapili because we had suggested to our youngest son and his bride to honeymoon there several years ago. They really enjoyed the stay. When we arrived our condo reservation had to be changed because of a refrigeration problem. We were transferred to an ocean front 2-story condo (condo #1). It was fabulous. One of the highlights of our stay was to renew our wedding vows on a secluded beach near Poipu. It was memorable to say the least. We plan to return to Poipu Kapili as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The ocean front condo we had was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    51
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
150
143
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ended up at this gorgeous condo resort after a panic-filled night of looking for new accommodations. We cancelled our previous reservation after reading some really bad reviews and realizing that there was no AC. Let me tell you this: NO CONDO in Poipu has AC unless CLEARLT advertised!!! I had no clue and it really isn't obvious either! We booked a unit at Poipu Kapili that had AC advertised. It is NOT central AC, but an AC unit in the bedroom. To be honest, we used it for two night and gave up. It was loud and the fans and opening the windows/screens does the trick. It will be warmer than what you are used to though! Our unit was very clean, renovated and beautifully decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpful too! Bring plenty of OFF! Our 15 month old son was eaten by mosquitoes the very first hour we got there. I can whole-heartedly recommend this condo.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra money on the AC. Take the plunge going without! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOnjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

WOW! What a wonderful condo. All our needs were met. From hearing the waves, to beautiful sunsets, comfy king sized beds, fully equipped kitchen, and short walks to excellent beaches, restaurants and shops. Cynthia's information pack was invaluable...she has taken all the guess work/indecisions for first-timers. It will be highly recommended to our friends and family and we look forward to returning again one day soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzy0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Poipu Kapili is the epitome of Aloha. The property is beautiful, the staff is warm and welcoming and the condo's are comfortable and inviting. Nothing else on the island can compare! Already booking our stay for next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpobran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in unit #33 for 10 nights. Excellent view of ocean from unit and pictures of unit on website were accurate. Could also hear ocean from the condo. Unit has been remodeled and has everything you need. Complex has great pool, bbq's and laundry. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Poipu Kapili is close to beach/ocean and centrally located. If you are looking for quiet small complex this is the one for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smiley0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Condo #54 was the perfect condo in the perfect location. From our front deck we could not only see and hear the ocean, but watch the sun set every night. The condo was very well equipped with everything in working order. The owner was very easy to work with. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ske214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have enjoyed a week or more at Poipu Kapili for many years. We always discuss which island and where we would like to spend our time the most--and we ALWAYS decide on Poipu Kapili. The condos are all wonderful but of course we have our favorite--number 42! The location of each condo is great with wonderful views of the beautiful grounds, the sparkling pool and the gor-
geous ocean! Buff and all the people who help us are very friendly and helpful. It's just the very happiest place to be! We have also come with our children and grandchildren (12 of us) and it was perfect! We'll be back next year and the next! Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Property: Poipu Kapili
Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9783
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kapili 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a 60-unit Hawaiian plantation style resort surrounded by five acres of lush tropical gardens. Guests at Poipu Kapili can relax in the ocean view swimming pool, play tennis on two courts and walk to nearby Kiahuna Beach. It is a perfect place for a family vacation or romantic escape. A varied selection of accommodations are available including Penthouse Suites with elevator access, spacious one and two level floor plans with the finest touches and air-conditioning, convenient washer/dryer in unit or laundry access, free WiFi and ocean views from each villa including select oceanfront locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing