We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poipu Kapili
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Main drawback was the stay was TOO short! There is construction going on, but didn't really bother us too much in this unit. Also a couple of lights on dimmers were not working properly and the stove fan is a bit of a trick to make it work, and needed the maintenance to show me how. But very minor, and the views from the unit lanais made you forget everything! It is a great location with the two lanais as a bonus. Look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our 9th trip to Kauai travelling Sept 23-30, 2012. Each time we stayed at Poipu Kapili previously staying in Unit 47, 8 of the 9 times. We love unit #47 and felt quite happy returning every year to the same unit. While this was a very nice unit and adequate for 3 adults, with 2 couples we decided to upgrade to a larger unit #18, which is a two bedroom, 3 bath corner unit also with spendid views. The unit is incredibly clean with new paint and furnishings. It was stocked with everything you need including laundry soap for use with the full size washer and dryer within the unit. We planned our meals in advance and found great pleasure in grilling out daily on one of two new gas Weber grills not far from the unit. The gourmet kitchen has quality cookware and great Pottery Barn dinnerware complete with nice stemware, perfect for entertaining. Every evening we enjoyed a glass of wine on the wall awaiting the sunset in paradise. The Poipu Kapili staff is awesome. We'll be back again and hope to stay once again in Unit 18 (or 47) both of which we highly recommend. Mahalo and Aloha.

Room Tip: Unit 18 is a spacious corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarapwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am a huge fan of Kauai! This was my 9th visit to the island and the 9th time I have stayed at Poipu Kapili. This year we stayed in unit 18. Very roomy with 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. We had two couples in our unit and had plenty of room and privacy for all of us. Awesome master bedroom and bathroom! The unit was freshly painted, clean, and decorated with a tropical theme. The washer and dryer were perfect for us since we packed light and travelled with carry-on luggage only. It was great to have a computer in the unit to research the island and check the surf report. It also had beach chairs, umbrellas, and a cooler for beach days. Beautiful views of the pool, ocean, and manicured grounds. Convenient location to beaches, shopping, and restaurants. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maitai1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I are four-time return visitors to Poipu Kapili. The condos are very nicely furnished, fully equipped, quiet, comfortable, and have wonderful views of the ocean and surrounding well maintained grounds. The amenities are abundant, the staff is very helpful and attentive, and the location offers easy walking or short driving access to everything one could want in Poipu Beach. Every time we've stayed at Poipu Kapili has been a wonderful and relaxing experience. Whether reading or napping by the pool, or after a day out exploring all Kauai has to offer, Poipu Kapili feels like being at home. We strongly recommend anyone to consider Poipu Kapili for their next (or first) Kauai visit. This vacation condo community has always provided us with the best Kauai vacation!!

Room Tip: Ocean front or pool / ocean view condos are all fine. It just depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We loved our stay in condo 36: beautiful, very clean and a nice seaview and tastefully decorated. It was very quiet, great sunset from the balcony, pool, or a few steps to the shore, sharing the sunset with other likeminded friendly people.
Also a nice short walk to shopping, restaurants and beaches - perfect.
Sandy and her team from the front office did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible, a big THANK YOU!
We will be back, definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our family stayed at Poipu Kapili #54 July 31st through August 7th, 2012 and we can't say enough about this lovely condo! We had everything we needed to enjoy snorkeling, boogie boarding, tennis, swimming, etc. The views of the ocean from the master bedroom are amazing. The weather was perfect and the condo is located close to shopping, restaurants and the best beaches. We also enjoyed the complex pool in the morning and in the evening before relaxing on the patio while watching the beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: Sheraton has a work out center 100 feet away from condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guss455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Poipu Kapili and are already planning our next trip to Kauai.
We absolutely loved our stay in #25. The condo has recently been renovated and the owners did a lovely job! We chose this unit for the view and it did not disappoint. My husband and I spent a lot of our time sitting on the lanai and looking out over the ocean.

The condo was stocked with laundry/dish detergent, beach towels, various spices and a small packet of coffee. I would recommend hitting up the Costco in Lihue after arriving in Kauai. We stopped and bought beverages, breakfast and lunch items. After checking in we headed back to a small store to buy condiments, sugar and butter. We also checked out the farmer's market at the Kuku'iula Shopping Center (on Wednesdays) and ended up buying fresh pasta, sauce and a salad for dinner.

The grounds of Poipu Kapili are gorgeous. Very well maintained. The pool is clean and very refreshing.

The staff at Poipu Kapili was very friendly and helpful. We stopped by the office to borrow a tennis racket and buy a can of balls. We also were able to buy some delicious Kauai coffee at the front desk.

I truly can't find one negative thing to say about Pipu Kapili. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Kauai!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kdlmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,422 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9783
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $612 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kapili 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a 60-unit Hawaiian plantation style resort surrounded by five acres of lush tropical gardens. Guests at Poipu Kapili can relax in the ocean view swimming pool, play tennis on two courts and walk to nearby Kiahuna Beach. It is a perfect place for a family vacation or romantic escape. A varied selection of accommodations are available including Penthouse Suites with elevator access, spacious one and two level floor plans with the finest touches and air-conditioning, convenient washer/dryer in unit or laundry access, free WiFi and ocean views from each villa including select oceanfront locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing