We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poipu Kapili- nice but current construction and road noise”
Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poipu Kapili
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We spent the week between Christmas and New Years at the Poipu Kapili condos. Nicely appointed ocean front 2 bedroom with aero bed in living room that allowed our 5 members a comfortable stay. The check in was flawless and the location very nice, a short 5 minute walk down a path to the beach in front of Sheraton Kauai. Our only issue at this time ( Jan 2008) was the construction that is going on behind the condominiums. To be fair we were informed about this from the condo management. However, closure of a main road diverted all traffic to small road that is positioned in front of our " ocean front " condo-- translation: road noise all day and evening until midnight. I specifically made a point to request a quiet room, and although the view was pleasant, the road noise was a downer. The Kapili is otherwise a relaxing place, with lighted tennis courts, pleasant atmosphere, nice gardens, and nicely appointed rooms and well-supplied kitchen, but it is currently sits in front of a construction site. Be forewarned, perhaps better option would be one of units farther back adjacent to pool until construction is over.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank neurodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2008

We had a fantastic time staying at Poipu Kapili #54. The owner has done so much to make this place wonderful. The location is also very nice, right next to the Sheraton. There is a great walking path that takes you along the ocean side of the Sheraton and over to the beach in front of the Sheraton.

The only thing that I was bit surprised about was the traffic noise, but this was due to the construction that has detoured the traffic to the road that is between the complex and the ocean. I believe the traffic on this road is increased because of the construction. So, if you are sensitive to noise, I would ask if the detour is still in affect.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kotterhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Poipu Kapili is an incredible small luxury resort that is centrally located to all of the key attractions of the area and offers exactly what they advertise on their website! Serene Luxury! I travel worldwide with my work and spend anywhere from six to as many as ten months a year on the road. Most of this time is spent in Kauai, Hawaii. Back in April 07, having finally had enough of the inadequacies associated with my then current accommodations, I stopped
by Poipu Kapili to check out the location and check on availability. I was greeted by the most cheerful and professional office staff I have ever met! They were polite, very helpful, cheerful and went well
out of their way to accommodate me. I asked to see a couple different condo's to see what the rooms were like and was pleasantly astonished at what I found! The condo's are well appointed and well equipped, very clean and the layout of the development is such that every condo in the establishment is centrally located to the ocean and pool! The ocean lies directly in front of the resort and is home to the most unbelieveable sunsets we had ever seen! They even go as far as having a wonderful sea wall that you can sit on, drink a glass of wine, spend
time with your loved ones, etc. while watching a most incredible sunset! Not only were the condos well appointed and well maintained, but, the grounds and landscaping are impeccable and the pool and pool area is absolutely divine! The resort has many ammenities located on site (gas grills, charcoal grills, tennis courts, laundry facilities, herb gardens, centrally located to all attractions, etc.) I could go on and on about just how fantastic Poipu Kapili truly is. Let me close
in saying that I have stayed at Poipu Kapili approximately 150 nights since April in support of my work. I have stayed in four different condo units and I have yet to have had a single bad experience, whatsoever! If you are traveling to Kauai, this resort is a MUST STAY for anybody and everybody! Singles, couples, families... You just cannot go wrong with Poipu Kapili!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

I want to make sure that anyone thinking about staying in this vacation rental knows all of the facts about:

- Re-routing of a main road to the road directly in front of this unit leading to thousands of cars, truck and motorcycles per day and excessive road noise at all hours.

- Very loud construction noise from a mega-project that almost surrounds this resort.

Oh, did I forget to mention the blasting?

We did not get this factual and realistic information from the the owner of the unit!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Wonmarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We stayed in Unit #53 for a week at the beginning of Nov. The accommodations were excellent except that, like most condos, there was no A/C which made it a bit warm during the day for the period we were there. It might be very uncomfortable during a warmer season. The kitchen lacked nothing and this unit has a DVD player and a big screen TV.

The unit is oceanfront so the breezes and surf sounds were great at night. There was heavy surf during most of our stay which was not very good for swimming (the nearest beach is about a 10 minute walk away on the other side of the Sheraton resort) but gave us ample opportunity to watch the surfers who started at 8:00 a.m.

There is a great view of the sunset from here.

As an earlier poster noted traffic along Hoonani Rd., which runs between the Poipu Kapili and the ocean, is heavier than it probably normally is because of Poipu Road's being closed off due to construction.

The pool is small but was never crowded when we were there. The management provides grills for the use of tenants.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MollieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at Poipu Kapili for 5 days and had a fabulous time. The area is wonderful...great beaches, great snorkeling...all within walking distance. the restaurants in the area are very good too. The staff is very nice and the condos are spacious and very well equipped. We loved having high speed internet in the condo.

We were upgraded to a superior 1 bedroom due to the contstruction noise behind the complex. You definitely hear it going on from 8am to 5pm, but its fairly easy to block out. They probably hear it next door at the Sheraton as well. The grounds abutt the ocean (not an area you can swim in) where you can see a fabulous sunset each night. The pool area is small, and its not a place with lots of children running around, which is good if you don't have any, but maybe not the place for you if you do. But, we were here in October, so maybe its different in the summer.

All in all, I recommend Poipu Kapili. Its very comfortable and very well located. We will definitely return...

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank marianat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We (husband and I) stayed at #39 at Poipu Kapili and we were really happy with it. It's very spacious, so it would be fine for parents with one or 2 kids. But maybe not for 2 couples as the sofa beds might not be great for adults. The pool was very nice, right outside the lanai, but screened by the landscaping. So it felt private. And it was lovely to watch the sunset from the seawall at the end of the garden.
Minor issue-the mahogany window screens were broken in the main room. So, "above average" instead of excellent. A note said they're going to be repaired so probably will be soon.

Normally I think the road is very quiet but at the moment the Poipu traffic is detoured onto it because of roadworks. There is also a building site next door-but that seems to be the case everywhere in the area. Anyway, it didn't bother us.

It's a great location for touring the area, especially heading west, if the weather's a bit iffy. Poipu beach is great for snorkelling and swimming, very safe with cool aquatic life including turtles! And a seal. We rented fins from a dive shop on the Koloa road, near the turn for Spouting Rock. $10 for a week, cheaper than buying them. There's a good discount store in Koloa for towels and reef shoes etc.

Best food-Roys, yes it's a chain but it was really good. Also breakfast at the Hyatt-highly recommended! Casablanca was quite good too, and sushi at the Sheraton was quite good. Plantation Gardens in Kiahuna was awful-see separate review! We also liked the Point at the Sheraton for snacks and cocktails at sunset-easliy walkable from the condo.

We did the inner tubing which was really fun. Even though it was a cloudy overcast day-it didn't matter as 70% of the ride is in tunnels!

Overall- Poipu Kapili is a very well maintained, nicely designed and landscaped quiet place to stay. Looking forward to going back-I live in San Francisco and I now see the best thing about living here-direct flights to Lihue!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notaprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,449 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9783
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $155 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kapili 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a 60-unit Hawaiian plantation style resort surrounded by five acres of lush tropical gardens. Guests at Poipu Kapili can relax in the ocean view swimming pool, play tennis on two courts and walk to nearby Kiahuna Beach. It is a perfect place for a family vacation or romantic escape. A varied selection of accommodations are available including Penthouse Suites with elevator access, spacious one and two level floor plans with the finest touches and air-conditioning, convenient washer/dryer in unit or laundry access, free WiFi and ocean views from each villa including select oceanfront locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing