We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family vacation”
Review of Lawai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first visit to Kauai as a family. We went the last 2 weeks of July. I was looking for a large unit with beach view/access and was more than delighted in the room we were given. t was on the ground level of the Ali'i building next to the quiet pool. We felt like we had our own personal garden off our lanai. The room was perfect. A.C is not an issue with the trades blowing. Not alot of counter space in the kitchen but its not a problem. We loved it. We used the gas grills often. Recycling is very important at the resort and on the island. Bring reusable grocery bags-they don't have plastic bags on the island. We gave ours to a family to use when we left.The resort was very clean and the grounds were beautiful.We rented snorkel gear from the shop located at the Beach House Resturant. I don't recommend them at all! The staff was rude, on their phones and would not greet or talk to my daughter and myself upon entering the shop. I used them for the convience only. Rent from someone else. As for the Lawai staff- everyone was helpful, friendly and very concerned that we were having a great trip. We enjoyed the hula show, the activities seminar was informative, and the crafts that were displayed through out the week were beautiful. We went to the Kilohana Luau and loved it! Beautiful costumes and performance,food was good, and the arts and crafts for sale were great! I bought so many gifts there! We took the Sunshine Helicopter tour which is something everyone should do. Breathtaking! Our pilot had great music playing and didn't talk very much-he just let us take it all in. We took the 6hr. Kauai Sea Tours rafting trip.We had an excellent time! Our captain was alot of fun.Make sure to wear sun screen, rash guards and drink lots of water. I got dehydrated and didn't realize til I was back at the resort that night. Not their fault- was having so much fun! Brick Oven Pizza is a must! Running and walking are great in the area. We will be going back in a couple of years. I can't wait! I wouldn't stay any other place.

Room Tip: Ali'i building. Any room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Malia0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort and its amenities during your family vacation. Our team truly embodies the Aloha spirit and ensure that our owners and guests feel at home. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the many activities that Kauai has to offer.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Lawai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 455 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lawai Beach Resort. We enjoyed it so much on our first visit (May 2012), we booked a second visit in the very same unit (Alii Bldg.) for October 2013. Our favorite unit at the Resort is on the third floor overlooking impeccably lush, groomed landscaping and a swimming pool, while being less than 75 yards from the ocean's edge. A totally beautiful sight to behold. Our quarters were really a three-room, newly remodeled condo. Every detail about the unit was carefully thought out. It even had a fully equipped kitchen, which we totally utilized. The first couple days of our stay, we were contacted by the front desk to ensure our satisfaction. We did have a light bulb issue; they were there to replace the bulb almost before we hung up the phone. Our unit did not have air conditioning, and I believe most do not. It was rather warm and humid on this second trip, so we made heavy use of the ceiling fans throughout. I would have preferred air conditioning on this trip, but then we wouldn't have been able to hear the roar of the ocean night and day. The Resort is easily accessible and about a 20 to 30-minute drive from the Lihue airport. If you leave the airport in the dark, do be careful on your drive to the resort; there are no street lights en-route. I'd suggest taking a GPS with you. The Lawai Beach Resort is affordable and a dandy resort, to say the least. My wife and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just tell 'em you want the Alii bldg, 2d floor or above, overlooking the north swimming pool and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hey Dennis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit amenities and resort location. We apologize for the light bulb issue you encountered, but glad maintenance was able to quickly resolve this issue. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Lawai Beach Resort for a week in September. The apartments are nice but king bed apartments are very limited. Most apartments have queen beds. We were surprised that we could not have a king bed.
The staff at the resort are extremely helpful. Susan, the front desk receptionist, was extremely helpful. She attempted to secure us a king bed throughout our stay but none came available.
The resort is located across the street from the ocean, but, in reality, there is no beach. When we made our reservations almost a year ago we checked the satellite maps of the beach and there seemed to be a little strip of sand. When we arrived this year there was no strip of sand. There was a splotch of sand that a few people can sit. If you want a beach you will need to walk or drive about a half mile to the public beach that is not too large. Our experience is that there are not too many beaches on the island that are suitable for swimming. Most are coral reefs and rocks and difficult to transverse to get to swim.
The apartments were satisfactory. There is free wireless internet access in each apartment. The amenities are very nice on the property. There are many barbecues scattered throughout the property. There are three pools. On the top floor is a miniature golf area and a full well equipped fitness center. There are several restaurants in the area some within walking distance. There is also several shopping area close to the property. The towns of Poipu and Koloa are within two miles in different directions. The property is located close to the other attractions on the island. Lihue and the airport is 20 minutes away from the resort. Lihue is the largest city on the island.
One thing that every guest should know and the resort is very open about it-there is no air conditioning in the apartments. We were fully aware of this when we reserved the apartment a year ago, but thought the trade winds in September would be enough ventilation. The location of our apartment did not favor the cross ventilation that we thought would occur. Regardless, there was only about one night that was very hot and during the day we were sightseeing and doing excursions.
Damee, the concierge, was very helpful. Use her to suggest activities and attractions. We were doing something everyday. Yes everyday. There is a lot to do and everything is very accessible.
Overall, the property was nice and had good amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Doug,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort amenities and location. We hope you come back and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My family stayed in room 3101 recently - a two bedroom unit on the first floor. There is no privacy in this unit at all. There are large sliding doors with floor to ceiling windows and louvered windows next to them. Which would have been just lovely except that there are two taller buildings who have a great view of your room day and night. The unit is literally 30 steps from the gate that opens by the Beachfront Restaurant, so you have constant foot traffic and the noise of cars, trucks and motorcycles from the street. They have also placed the smoking area 25 steps from the unit facing toward the unit - so you get to see smokers who are staring at you. The sidewalk goes right by the unit so at night the motion sensor lights are constantly blinking on and off. There is no air conditioning which is not a problem if you can open the curtains, but with this lack of privacy that was not a possibility. If the management tries to book you into this room just plant yourself on the lovely furniture in the lobby and throw a fit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bendintheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I apologize that you were not satisfied with the Coral unit accommodations. Our team takes great pride in ensuring our owners and guests satisfaction and we would have liked the opportunity to have relocated you during your stay.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we will look into the items you mentioned in your post.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Only 2 days left in our 3 week Lawai Beach Vacation 2013. As always it was very relaxing. We are Owners @ Lawai Beach and have been for 4 years. We are in a 1 bedroom 1 bath in the Banyan Building. As others have said there are 4 buildings. The Banyan is the only building we have stayed in so any room info will be of the Banyan only. The room is very nice with granite counters, large bedroom, shower with the best water pressure I have ever had while on vacation, big flat screen and washer/dryer. This year we stayed on the east side. The east side gets the afternoon sun and sunsets. We prefer the west side with the afternoon shade.
What we really like about Lawai Beach is it is a place to relax. If your looking to party all night this probably isn't the place for you. But, if you are looking for a Resort with outstanding pools(3), very nice rooms, fantastic view from large lanai then do your self a favor book your room. I would guess the average age would probably be 40'ish. During our stay there were honeymooners and great grand parents. Thru out the resort there are many BBQ's and picnic tables. On top of the Coral Building parking garage is a Tennis Court and Mini Golf. That is also the location of the Rec. Room. The staff as always were very friendly and anything we needed was handled immediately. The only complaint this year was the replacing of the bedroom sets and Lanai furniture. There was very little parking on our side of the building and the movers were rude. They were parked behind our car on a couple of occasions and one time my wife asked if they were going to be long. One of the guys looked at her and said that she could help them move. Not very proffessional but I guess thats why he's humping furniture.

The Resort is across the street from one of the best snorkling beaches on the island. I don't surf(I'm a 55 yr old fat guy) but this seems to be a very popular surfing area. You can sit on the grass along side the Beach House Restaurant an take in the awesome sunsets. If you want a drink bring your own the Beach House won't sell you one unless you drink it inside the Restaurant. We have had dinner at the Beach House. You will need reservations weeks in advance for the sunset seating, The bar is open seating so if you get there early you can get some of the best seats in the place and have dinner with out a reservation. The food was above average and the prices were well above average but it is a beautiful location. Would I eat there again? Probably if we were vacationing with others who haven't been there.
Shopping on Kauai is very expensive. If you are a Costco member there is one close to the airport. Also good for topping off the rental car tank at about 15 cents a gallon cheaper then anywhere else. If not there is a Safeway in Kapaa. For shopping close to the Resort we go to Big Save in Koloa Town to get a gallon of milk or other supplies we might run out of and don't want to go to Lihui. Renting a car is a must as the Resort is about 15 miles from the airport.
When renting a car we have used Thrifty and Alamo. We have always reserved the cheapest economy car. They will try to upsell you at the counter but hold tight. Once you get out in the lot they will let you pick any car in a row. The last 3 times we upgraded to mid sized no charge.

The Lawai Beach Resort a great place to relax with great people. We look forward to Thanksgiving 2014 with our kids and grand kids at the Lawai Beach Resort. Aloha

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic time in Poipu! The resort is clean, well maintained and quiet. Three pools to choose from and very well maintained grounds. Directly across the street is the best snorkeling beach on the island. Our unit was convenient, well appointed and comfortable. The fitness center was adequate, staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great updates rooms all with kitchens and full appliances Staff was amasing quite if you like, social if you like. Great place to diving, reading, golfing playing. Come for a night and stay for a week.==

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolfd141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawai Beach Resort

Address: 5017 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9696
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawai Beach Hotel Poipu
Lawai Beach Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing