We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best views in Poipu!”
Review of Lawai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawai Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The views at this place are insane. We can literally watch whales from our living room. There are 3 pools on property and 3 hot tubs. One of the pools (coral property) is heated. The units are clean but dated. We had a 2 bedroom villa. There is only 1 bathroom and no laundry facilities in the units themselves. There are laundry facilities on the first level and free of charge. The view trumps any negatives this property might have. There is also a $75 resort fee for the week for tennis, dvd rentals, and internet. Not a big deal but would have been nice to know. Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sawickied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Guest Relations Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is nice to hear that our guests enjoy the offerings of the resort. I apologize that you were not aware of the resort charge. This is something that should be disclosed to you when making a reservation. All booking channels are aware and they should have an area in the confirmation that lists this charge. We have now included complimentary airline boarding pass printing.
Again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 460 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a perfect week here this past month. From the minute of check-in right through the entire week it was a piece of heaven. The staff, the grounds, the concierge desk, the unit, the view, the heated pool, etc, etc....all were absolutely perfect. The beach across the very quiet street offered swimmming, snorkelling, surfing and stunning sunsets. The airport and Costco are a twenty five minute car ride away which makes it an ideal location. All rooms have a view of the ocean and ours was just perfect. Very close to many ttractions in the area so you did not have a long trip to do many of the things in the area. All-in-all an awesome trip for our first time to Hawaii and we will return to this property in the very near future. Thanks to all who helped make this trip an awesome experience!!

Room Tip: All rooms except for a very few ground floor rooms in the area of the heated pool have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kipfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Guest Relations Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is nice to hear that our guests enjoy the offerings of the resort and its surroundings. Our staff takes great pride ensuring that our owners and guests are treated like royalty. I have shared your comments with our team as we take all comments seriously and want to ensure that our team is exposed to both positive and for improvement comments.
Again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This last time I was at this resort was about 10 years ago. I loved the snorkeling across the road but now it seems it has been discovered and is much more crowded with too many people WALKING on the reef! Still saw lots of fish though. The rooms are spacious and the staff is nice. Be aware that there is a resort fee in addition to what you paid at booking. There is no daily maid service but there are washing machines. The grounds are pretty but getting around in the resort you find yourself constantly walking through the parking lot. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cefcvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was nice to read that you remembered the wonderful snorkeling. I trust that we will be seeing you sooner than 10 years.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Love coming here. I notice folks keep mentioning that there's no A/C. Can't imagine why you need it. We somtimes have to close windows ....Lovely, clean, great staff, great whale watching, beautiful grounds, well-kept, close to anything you want but far enough away that it's not overrun with people. One of our favorite places in the world. Enjoy it year after year. Came for years with others. Now we own multiple weeks. Made wonderful friends that we visit with year after year. So blessed to have found it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is nice to read how people have enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort so much that they bought. Lawai Beach Resort takes pride ensuring that our guests/ owners are an extended part of our “Ohana” (family). Are team takes great pride ensuring that the property and it services are the best.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've been coming here every year for several years. We keep adding ownership weeks and now own 6. You cannot beat the view from your lanai. One of the best snorkeling beaches is right in front of you and you can spend hours watching whales from your lanai. Very few places on Kauai have such a view. The staff is incredible. They treat you like family. They quickly respond to any of your needs. We make almost daily use of the rec center that has a good array of workout machines, weights etc. Management continually works to improve the property, both the inside and the grounds. Three different pools to choose from, one of which is heated. I can't say enough about Lawai. We feel totally at home here and have come to meet and know other guests who also come year after year.

Room Tip: If you're renting, request a 3rd or 4th floor for the best ocean views. The Banyan and Alii Bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Guest Relations Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We love to hear are owners rave about the Lawai Beach Resort. It is truly a special place in Paradise. I will share your comments with the team and you can trust they will be pleased to read your review.
Thank you again for taking the time to enjoy our island paradise and the Lawai Beach Resort.

Mahalo,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First came here for our 25th wedding anniversary and bought a 2 br timeshare. Now we're back for our 50th anniversary, and have been coming back every few years in between. Last week we were in a 1 br. This week it's a 2br (in fact it's the unit in which we actually own our week). Our favorites for dining are Keoki's, TheBeach House, and Brennekes for lunch and happy hours. The Beach House is our favorite for dinner. It's best enjoyed at sunset. Tonight we're trying a new one, Rum Fire, at the Sheraton.
Lawai Beach Resort is an RCI gold crown resort, a well deserved recognition. The grounds are manicured and the view of the ocean I'm enjoying from our Lanai is unbeatable. The resort staff is amazingly friendly and efficient. And to think that we almost sold our week a couple of years ago until we decided to visit one last time. As we laid in bed one morning looking out at the ocean, we said to ourselves "What were we thinking?" and promptly took it off the market.
If you've been here, you know what I mean; if not, come visit and you will!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. Get a 2 br if you can so that you can see the ocean from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Guest Relations Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post you r review. It is nice to hear that you are enjoying your unit. Especially nice to hear that you have decided to keep your time with us. It is so nice to read reviews from our owners and guests on just how much you enjoy the resort and its surroundings. The team takes great pride ensuring that not only the grounds but the entire resort is kept in top shape. I will share your comments with our team as they will truly appreciate your kind words.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review of Lawai Beach Resort.

Mahalo
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Lawai Beach Resort January 3rd-10th, 2013. Our ocean view room was directly across the street from the Beach House Restaurant, so we had a lovely view of sunset from our balcony. The resort is very clean and well maintained. We had a villa with a full kitchen which helped us save a little money on meals. We went to Costco to get our groceries, which is fine if you are going to be there for an extended time, however we were only there for a week, so we didn't need large quantities of anything. It was a great place to get adult beverages however! We stumbled across a little market in one of the neighboring villages called "Big Save". This was a local's market that had a good variety of groceries at a very reasonable price. The small markets are also an interesting lesson in local culture because you see some of the foods that the local residents eat that are quite different from what you see in mainstream America. For those who are adventurous you can try some of the local dishes at a fraction of the price of ordering them at a restaurant. Those who stated the restaurants are expensive weren't kidding; it was difficult not to spend around $100 on dinner for two, and lunch wasn't much less.

The beach across the street is small and rocky, but great for snorkeling, The water was quite comfortable and easy to get used to the temperature. You need to be careful not to get too far out from shore however since all of the beaches in Kauai are treacherous. We were told that there were whales playing in the cove a few days, but we weren't looking at the right time.

I would highly recommend buying "The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" by Andrew Doughty. We read it ahead of time to get an idea of things we wanted to do while we were there. Of course huge piles of the book were at Costco for a fraction of what I bought it for at Amazon.

I would also recommend driving up the mountain to see Waimea Canyon. We had a breathtaking view of the canyon with a double rainbow. We were amazed, but apparently kauai is known for their frequent rainbows since it rains everyday, several times a day. We found it true that if you don't like the weather where you currently are, just drive a few miles. We left Lihu'e one morning in a pouring rain and dark gray overcast skies. 10 miles down the road in Po'ipu it was gorgeous and sunny!

One of the highlights of our trip was the helicoptor ride. Although it was raining, we had awe inspiring views of places like Jurassic Falls (where the helicoptor landed in the first Jurassic park movie. The waterfalls are unbelievable!

Of course you can't talk about Kauai without talking about the chickens! The chickens are everywhere! Unfortunately they have no idea what time it is and start crowing continuously at 2:30 in the morning. They are the local beggars, and if you have a snack on some of the beaches you are immediately surrounded by a dozen hungry roosters. The noise from the roosters were not bad at the Lawai Beach Resort. We previously stayed at a small hotel in which a flock of chickens were right outside our patio door in the morning. I wish I could say the Lawaii was a quiet resort, but unfortunately noise was our only complaint about the resort. Apparently the residents of Kauai are early risers just like the chickens. We were in the Coral Buiding and the elevator and recycling center were right outside our bedroom window. We had to keep the window open because otherwise it was too hot in the room at night without air conditioning. Much more annoying than the chickens were the humans who decided to recycle all their empty glass bottles at 5:30-6:00 a.m. everyday! Then there were resort workers talking on walkie talkies right outside the window, and everytime someone rang for the elevator we could here the ding of the bell when it arrived. Everyday we thought it would get better, but unfortunately not. We should have asked for a different room, but our view was so good, we didn't want to risk losing it. We just settled for being sleep deprived throughout our trip.

On the whole I would recommend the resort, and the staff were very helpful. Just make sure you bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen h, Guest Relations Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our island paradise. Other travelers will appreciate your review as it was very thorough.
I want to apologize for not being able to get sleep. Our security team does a great job of ensuring that our quiet hours are enforced however they can’t be in two places at once. We trust that our owners and guests will respect others privacy. I will be sharing your comment about our staff radios with the team as our valued owners and guests should not hear the "chatter" of the team. I apologize for our team interrupting your vacation with radio chatter.
We as a management team take all comments we receive seriously as it assist us in our pursuit to provide the best service for our owners and guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and I trust that we will see you in the near future.

Mahalo
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawai Beach Resort

Address: 5017 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9696
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawai Beach Hotel Poipu
Lawai Beach Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing