We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$451
$389
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$469
$419
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$659
$399
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$809
$659
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
$240
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,875)
Filter reviews
6,875 results
Traveler rating
5,048
1,229
385
135
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,048
1,229
385
135
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riversalt water lagoonilima terracepoipu wingtidepools restaurantstevenson's libraryour honeymoonadult poolbreakfast buffetpool areatide poolsfour seasonsshipwreck beachopen airself parkingsushibeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,067 - 4,072 of 6,875 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is our second visit to the Grand Hyatt Kauai. Our first visit was not great. However, we upgraded ourselves and booked a deluxe ocean view room on the 6th floor. It was worth the few extra dollars. It would have been worth a lot of extra dollars!

Go for the view, the perfectly manicured grounds, the nightly live music and yummy mai tai's, the daily tennis court time, the golfing, the saltwater swimming pool, the lazy river, the adult only jacuzzi and pool, the crafters in the lobby, Tidepools, the view of whales breeching as you sit on your balcony, the parrots, the koi, the swans, the sounds of the birds chirping wildly at sunset, the fabulous couples' massage at Anara Spa, the convenience of self-parking, the excellent staff, and the very clean rooms with super comfortable beds and awesome showers!

I truly cannot complain about anything on this visit! I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are not preferable. Despite the cute little lanai, everyone can see into your room and they are a little moldy-smelling. Also, be aware of the laundry rooms. I wouldn't want a room in close proximity to those.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WisconsinChristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a large, beautiful hotel. Lots of kids and corporate types, but the location is perfect and the amenities are also great. Great hike right from beach, pools are really nice if you are going for that (long way to go to go to a pool but some people do that). We would go back again for sure but the breakfast was awful. The offereings were basically bacon and eggs and omelets and occasionally pancakes. Juice was out of a can. Coffee was lousy. If you want espresso, you are out of luck. We ended up going to a local market to eat every morning as the breakfast was just not very good. Otherwise, a very nice place, but very large, lot as of kids and convention corporate types.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room if you can and if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmartin222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first stop on our hawaiian honeymoon. We loved it! The pools and accommodations are lovely. If you can, get breakfast included in your stay - it's awesome but expensive. Definitely take a hike up to the lithified cliffs in the morning to watch the sunrise.

Stayed: February 2013
2  Thank krbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Neither my boyfriend nor I had been to Kauai before this trip. Concerned, we did quite a bit of research on the hotels. Each having both plus and minus points. After going back and forth we finally booked this one. Our one concern, comments from other vistors saying there wasn't a "true beach" where you could enter the water.

Well, I must say, while it is true the ocean access is not swimable in this location, we didn't find that a draw back AT ALL after arriving. The location has all types of poles to choose from and you can definitely take a blanket and lay out on the sandy area. Also, there are plenty of near beaches near by if you wish to drive to an actual "beach location."

Our one comment, if you want to travel around the area, make sure to rent a car before arriving at the property. We found the onsite car rental a bit pricey. Also, if you plan on renting a bikes for "day bike rides" beware the equipment is well kept. We spent most of our day time bike trip fixing the bikes we rented.

Other than the above comments, this place is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in Kauai for two week in the beginning of January, 2014. For the first half we stayed at the Sheraton (which was a disappointment) and for the second half we stayed here.

Positives: The resort is absolutely immaculate. The lobby is open towards the back and gives you a gorgeous view of the water. The grounds are out of this world. Paradise. You get a beautiful flower lay upon arrival. The rooms are fresh, clean and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are fit for royalty, they are entirely made of white marble. The toilet automatically cleans itself and has a heater which was an extra bonus. You get two water bottles a day for free. The shampoo and soaps they give you are amazing. Shipwreck beach is beautiful. Every morning I enjoyed the free Starbucks coffee that came with the room as I walked along the path that goes along the cliffs. I enjoyed watching the whales breach the water and the sea turtles swimming amongst the waves. The views along this walk (Which is to your right, if your facing the ocean.) You can also do the hike off of Shipwreck if you go towards the left when facing the ocean. The hike was amazing!! About two miles one way (maybe even more) and offers beautiful vistas along the way and an amazing beach at the end. Service is wonderful. The cleaning lady was amazing. Sushi restaurant is really good. The pools and Jacuzzis are phenomenal and you can even go in them at night (which is a lot of fun!!) Oh and the water slide, let's just say, it's not just for kids ;) We four adults thoroughly enjoyed it. Comfy lounge chairs that you can enjoy for free can be found all around the pool areas. When we requested a late check out we all received one, no additional charge. Beach towels can be borrowed at the front desk or by the pools.

Negatives: To be honest anything I write here is just nit-picking. We absolutely loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone. We would go back in a heart beat. I guess if I had to put something I would say that the resort is so huge and like a maze, that it took about 10 minutes just to get to our room. Luckily, we had a ground floor room so anytime I wanted quick access outside, I simply left through our room. Also, for the money that you pay, the food could be better. It wasn't bad or anything but it wasn't great either (except for the sushi, which was great.)

Room Tip: The resort is a maze. Ground room floor makes it easy to go out for an early morning walk.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews