We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tripoli
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just returned from 9 nights at this resort (on hyatt points) and as someone who's spent over 300 nights in the past 2 years this is the probably the nicest hotel I've been able to stay in. The service is great, the best I've seen at a hyatt including the park hyatt i've stayed at. The pool and grounds are fantastic, the only drawback might be the beach is not fit for swimming, but they have a saltwater lagoon available.

We had dinner on my birthday at the tidepools and it was absolutely fantastic, don't miss that fabulous chocolate desert! As a Hyatt Diamond member we had access to the club lounge which had a fantastic breakfast and treats throughout the day, In the evening they had a great salad and some sort of finger food all of which were very good. As in a number of the Hyatt's I stay in, dinner is really not needed. We attended the luau, which because of Rain was indoors. Honestly, I've been to another one on the island which I thought was better but the food was great and if you wanted to lose your mind on maitais you certainly could. The show was good, but as I say I think the other one is better.

Our room was on the pool and it might have been nice to be on an upper floor but that's a trade off between convenience and the grander ocean view. One point I would make is that I thought the beds were a bit too soft, but that's perhaps a personal taste.

Overall, this hotel is great and I'm giving it an enthusiastic thumbs up! Booking again for 2015

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onceuponaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,753
    925
    277
    104
    52
See reviews for
1,411
2,470
56
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

There is nothing wrong I can say about this resort. They have got everything taken care of for you. Beautiful comfortable room. Great, friendly service. Amazing and fun pool. Beautiful beach front. You will do nothing but relax here. The Spa is fantastic. My husband and I had a couples massage in the outdoor cabanas. I highly recommend it. It was beyond relaxing to feel the fresh hawaiian breezes and listen to the waterfalls as your being massaged.The food at all venues was great. Already planning our next vacation here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshandLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the second hotel in our Tauck tour of Hawaii. Gorgeous! Very comfortable beds, beautiful property! Very clean and the staff was very friendly. If you can't walk far distances, be sure and ask for closer rooms, Because the property is so spread out and you may have to walk a distance to and from your room to other parts of the hotel. Nice pools laid out amongst the gorgeous landscaping.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just got back from Kauai and LOVED this Hyatt property. The grounds are INCREDIBLE, as were the pools, rooms and service. Plenty of activities for everyone- you will not be bored here! The ONLY negative (and I am digging here) is that although the beach that fronts the property is pretty - it is not suitable for children or any novice swimmers for that matter - very rough currents big waves and a rock bottom make for potential disasters. They are NOT kidding when they tell you this beach should only be used by surfers and boogie boarders- we saw SEVERAL GROWN MEN (ahem) with slings and abrasions who failed to enjoy the beach. This is a large property so you do not feel crowded when they are full. No fights for pool chairs, towels and no nickel and diming for the extra's - like bottled water (2 bottles each day are free for guests). If you go to Kauai in the Winter months, do NOT stay north or you will likely get rained out- A LOT- stay down south at the Hyatt and have a wonderful and relaxing SUNNY time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33388Beachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Beautiful property, well maintained, friendly staff! Excellent location. Close to attractions. Fell in love with Kauai here! Loved the large shower and room configuration. On site activities. Highest recommendations!

Room Tip: partial ocean views amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Layne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mountain, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staff at the hotel were always very friendly. They greeted my husband and I with leis. Room service was quick and precise. It was clean, family friendly and located in a beautiful area of the island. Particular things we loved... The departure lounge was a huge help as we didn't leave the island til 11:00pm so we were able to play on the beach and at the pools all day, then being able to shower before our long plane ride home. We loved the scents of the shampoo, conditioner and lotion... It was really good quality. The llima breakfast buffet has a big choice of foods that were quality.
The only negatives we found at this hotel.. The pool was pretty cold. It wasn't even fun to swim in most of the time unless it was super hot outside. Also, the beach front it's located on is pretty rough and little kids aren't safe to swim there at the hotel. The prices of the food at the hotel are outrageous which I guess is to be expected at a nice Hawaiian hotel. We had a wonderful time at the grand Hyatt and would go back for sure if we go to kauai again. We had a pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelholland88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a gorgeous resort! The service was awesome...staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet every morning with tons to choose from. Greek yogurt with granola and pineapple...delicious! We attended the Luau one evening that was spectacular! It rained a ton on the island so they had to have the Luau indoors, but that didn't stop the fire dancer! The show was incredible! Hula girls were so fun to watch! The resort had cute shops with lots of variety.

We played a few holes on the PGA golf course, took advantage of the tennis courts that came along with the resort fee, laid by the pool and slid down the giant water slide at least 20 times. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaymeBethNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing