We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 8, 2013

From our check in experience to our buffet breakfast and extremely scenic hikes up the lithified cliffs nearby, we had a fantastic stay at this resort. The room was very nice, with large bathroom and excellent lighting and wonderful smelling cocomango shampoo / lotion amenities. The valet staff would offer water and towels for excursions. We tried to eat offsite to avoid high prices, but such a beautiful setting made it worth it at least part of the time.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LoveEurope5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Aloha LoveEurope5,

Thank you for your raving review! We are so happy to hear that from the time you checked in and to the end of your stay, you had a great time with us. It is a true pleasure to know that you enjoyed your room and the amenities provided. The valet staff is extremely helpful and always happy to provide you with water and towels at anytime.

We are thrilled that you had a great stay at the Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the island again soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,156 - 4,162 of 6,786 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wow! There are no words to describe how amazing this Resort is. We went on our honeymoon here and the grounds are just awesome. You can walk around to see the beautiful rivers and streams in the pool. And the ocean view! Ahhh! Magnificent!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rivky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha Rivky G,

Mahalo for your review and Thank you for giving us the honor of being apart of your Honeymoon. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we're happy that our Resort exceeded your expectations. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our grounds, pools and views on property and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another great stay.

Congratulations and Best wishes!

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Only really draw back I can think of is that it's just too large. For Hyatt Diamonds, being near the lounge is both a blessing and a curse! Don't get me wrong, we would come back in a heartbeat. Staff is wonderful and rooms are very clean.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Notmyrealname K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha Notmyrealname K,

Mahalo for your review and Thank you for being a loyal guest with Hyatt as a Diamond Member. Your comments regarding our great staff is greatly appreciated and we are happy to hear that you found your room to be very clean.

We regret to hear that you feel the Resort is too large. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort again soon, and we would be honored to find you a room that is more convenient to the locations you'll be utilizing most during your stay or finding ways to make your commute as short as possible. We are happy to do what we can to exceed your expectations.

Again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for two days during our 5 day trip to Kauai. It was obviously the nicest hotel we stayed at on our trip and one of the nicest I have seen in my lifetime. The grounds are vast, luxurious, and immaculate. The view of the beach seen from rooms and throughout the property are beautiful. The amenities are top-notch, we especially enjoyed having access to the club room. As far as rooms go I think I am a bit biased because we were upgraded to an ocean view suit. It was a large and beautiful room with an amazing view. We were not bothered by any noise whatsoever as mentioned in other reviews, however we were quite far from the pools and front desk. This did mean many long walks through the property but this was a minor nuisance. The service was absolutely excellent. From the moment we arrived almost every single employee went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Although we had to check out at 12 they graciously held our bags for us and allowed us to enjoy a day at the pools before giving us a complimentary full hotel room to shower and change in in the afternoon. Speaking of pools, their facilities are absolutely amazing. They have a beautifully designed lazy river, a large freshwater pool, several jacuzzis, a fun slide, and a large saltwater pool. These are all designed to look like a complete tropical paradise. The actual beach was also fun with large waves crashing right near the shore. We had no issues whatsoever finding lounge chairs. I would also recommend checking out the bird show times, that was fun! The location is also convenient, half way between the attractions on the North and South side of the island. The only thing I can fault this hotel for is that it is not on the North shore near Hanalei Bay which is, in my opinion, the most beautiful part of the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha Chad2014,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience and Mahalo for staying with us. We are so honored to hear that our property takes the number spot on your list for nicest hotels. The Resort is very lush and vast, and we're glad that you took notice to the attention to detail that our Landscaping team works very hard to perfect. The pools and lagoon are features of the Resort that definitely make our property stand out and we are happy you found them to be amazing.

Our staff take pride is providing service to our guests with "aloha" and we are glad to hear that your experienced their spirit of aloha. It's a pleasure to hear that we were able to upgrade to a beautiful suite, which is luxurious in size and comes with beautiful views. The Grand Club access is definitely a great amenity to have during your stay - we're happy you had the chance to enjoy it.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us this month. Please join us again soon for another great stay here on the Garden Isle.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Property-- fabulous all around! Beautiful landscaping, grounds keeping.

Pools- beautiful pools, lazy river and slide. Salt water lagoon towards the ocean. Gorgeous shallow sand bottom. You can rent floaties, snorkel gear etc. wouldn't rent snorkel gear for lagoon. There is no fish in the lagoon.

Rooms are beautiful. Perfectly appointed, clean. Has refrigerator in each room. Large bathrooms.

Food is good. Tropical drinks will run you about $12-14 each. Beers around $7 ea.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha susan b,

Mahalo for your kind review and thank you for staying with us this month. We greatly appreciate your raving feedback regarding our property and pools. Our landscaping team does an amazing job ensuring that the property is lush and in true representation of Paradise. The pools also offer so much to do, whether you just want to tan or float down the lazy river, or head down the water slide - it's all possible. The saltwater lagoon is a unique feature to our Resort as it gives our guests the experience of being on their own private beach. Although the lagoon does not have fish, we do offer complimentary Scuba Diving lessons there. In addition, we are happy you enjoyed you room.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Kauai soon.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is everything it lives up to be, the scenary and views are just beautiful and what you expect when visiting Hawaii!Much much nicer than Honolulo!
There are so many different pools,and the hotel is vast, it will take you time to get around it. The hotel reception is just gorgeous, and looks like a painting!So many small details in this hotel are gorgeous, the staff were so nice and their are gorgeous gardens and flowers everywhere. The food was great, breakfast was good, not as much choice for brekkie as I would have expected. The restaraunts were all good, and we didn't have a bad meal any night there. The spa was so pretty, and my treatment was very relaxing. As a honeymoon couple they had small treats in our room also, champagne, spa voucher, which was a nice touch. Our room was large, but the ammenities were not as luxurious as expected but still really nice. Lovely views from our room, and hammock outside our door to relax in. Lovely walks around, and can get photographer to take photo's on the beach. Beach is close by, but more a surfers paradise, as red flag was usually up. You definately need to rent a car here to see the island.
We went to the luau also, which was a lot of fun and had all the hawaiin food to try!
All in all we had a 7 night stay here, we totally relaxed and chilled out. There are adult pools only too if you wish to totally totally relax! Food and drinks are very expensive here, but you get what you pay for in this case!

Room Tip: Be specific on the room you want, even have a look around first. If elderly you will need to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha travel_loulou,

Mahalo for your review and thank you for staying with us here on the South Shore of Kauai. We are so happy to hear that the Resort lived up to be everything you imagined. Congratulations on getting married and thank you for giving us the chance to be a part of such a special occasion, your Honeymoon.

We are honored to hear that you enjoyed the pools throughout our Resort. The pools are definitely a unique feature of our property that can keep you occupied all day long. The Resort is 52-acres, which has given us the ability to create a lush and vast escape that truly embodies Paradise. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed walks around the property and the views from many locations. Pacific Dream Photography does a great job capturing moments of families and couples that stay with us - we hope you had the chance to experience their great services.

Anara Spa is a fabulous place to fall in love all over again. It's ambiance and superior facilities takes your experience of Paradise to a completely different level. The treatment rooms are like no other and we are so happy you had the chance to experience it. We are thrilled that you were able to use your Honeymoon amenities from the Resort and it is our pleasure to do that little something to make your stay special.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kauai soon. Again, Mahalo for staying with us and thank you for your kind review.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The constant event noise at night from bands and dj'd music until 10 pm is the nail in the coffin for me. Sitting here writing this review with a white noise app on my ipad, so I don't have to listen to another encore of "Freebird" while the floor in my deluxe ocean view room shakes below me, no joke.

All of the beauty and amenities in the world don't mean anything if you have to put up with constant noise on vacation every night. But hey, it is pretty...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank NorcalTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Aloha NorcalTraveler_9,

Mahalo for your feedback and we thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you timing the time to share your experience.

We regret to hear that the noise from the event caused an inconvenience during your stay. Your review is valuable to us and we sincerely apologize for experience you encountered. We hope that we were able to offer you another room option during your stay. Again, thank you for your comments as it gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort soon.

Should we have the honor of welcoming you back for another stay, please feel free to reach out to myself, as I would be happy to discuss a desirable location and any other requests you may have.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla
Social Media Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $505 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing