We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing property, great service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for two days during our 5 day trip to Kauai. It was obviously the nicest hotel we stayed at on our trip and one of the nicest I have seen in my lifetime. The grounds are vast, luxurious, and immaculate. The view of the beach seen from rooms and throughout the property are beautiful. The amenities are top-notch, we especially enjoyed having access to the club room. As far as rooms go I think I am a bit biased because we were upgraded to an ocean view suit. It was a large and beautiful room with an amazing view. We were not bothered by any noise whatsoever as mentioned in other reviews, however we were quite far from the pools and front desk. This did mean many long walks through the property but this was a minor nuisance. The service was absolutely excellent. From the moment we arrived almost every single employee went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Although we had to check out at 12 they graciously held our bags for us and allowed us to enjoy a day at the pools before giving us a complimentary full hotel room to shower and change in in the afternoon. Speaking of pools, their facilities are absolutely amazing. They have a beautifully designed lazy river, a large freshwater pool, several jacuzzis, a fun slide, and a large saltwater pool. These are all designed to look like a complete tropical paradise. The actual beach was also fun with large waves crashing right near the shore. We had no issues whatsoever finding lounge chairs. I would also recommend checking out the bird show times, that was fun! The location is also convenient, half way between the attractions on the North and South side of the island. The only thing I can fault this hotel for is that it is not on the North shore near Hanalei Bay which is, in my opinion, the most beautiful part of the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha Chad2014,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience and Mahalo for staying with us. We are so honored to hear that our property takes the number spot on your list for nicest hotels. The Resort is very lush and vast, and we're glad that you took notice to the attention to detail that our Landscaping team works very hard to perfect. The pools and lagoon are features of the Resort that definitely make our property stand out and we are happy you found them to be amazing.

Our staff take pride is providing service to our guests with "aloha" and we are glad to hear that your experienced their spirit of aloha. It's a pleasure to hear that we were able to upgrade to a beautiful suite, which is luxurious in size and comes with beautiful views. The Grand Club access is definitely a great amenity to have during your stay - we're happy you had the chance to enjoy it.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us this month. Please join us again soon for another great stay here on the Garden Isle.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,632
    1,120
    343
    118
    69
See reviews for
1,832
2,994
70
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Property-- fabulous all around! Beautiful landscaping, grounds keeping.

Pools- beautiful pools, lazy river and slide. Salt water lagoon towards the ocean. Gorgeous shallow sand bottom. You can rent floaties, snorkel gear etc. wouldn't rent snorkel gear for lagoon. There is no fish in the lagoon.

Rooms are beautiful. Perfectly appointed, clean. Has refrigerator in each room. Large bathrooms.

Food is good. Tropical drinks will run you about $12-14 each. Beers around $7 ea.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha susan b,

Mahalo for your kind review and thank you for staying with us this month. We greatly appreciate your raving feedback regarding our property and pools. Our landscaping team does an amazing job ensuring that the property is lush and in true representation of Paradise. The pools also offer so much to do, whether you just want to tan or float down the lazy river, or head down the water slide - it's all possible. The saltwater lagoon is a unique feature to our Resort as it gives our guests the experience of being on their own private beach. Although the lagoon does not have fish, we do offer complimentary Scuba Diving lessons there. In addition, we are happy you enjoyed you room.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Kauai soon.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is everything it lives up to be, the scenary and views are just beautiful and what you expect when visiting Hawaii!Much much nicer than Honolulo!
There are so many different pools,and the hotel is vast, it will take you time to get around it. The hotel reception is just gorgeous, and looks like a painting!So many small details in this hotel are gorgeous, the staff were so nice and their are gorgeous gardens and flowers everywhere. The food was great, breakfast was good, not as much choice for brekkie as I would have expected. The restaraunts were all good, and we didn't have a bad meal any night there. The spa was so pretty, and my treatment was very relaxing. As a honeymoon couple they had small treats in our room also, champagne, spa voucher, which was a nice touch. Our room was large, but the ammenities were not as luxurious as expected but still really nice. Lovely views from our room, and hammock outside our door to relax in. Lovely walks around, and can get photographer to take photo's on the beach. Beach is close by, but more a surfers paradise, as red flag was usually up. You definately need to rent a car here to see the island.
We went to the luau also, which was a lot of fun and had all the hawaiin food to try!
All in all we had a 7 night stay here, we totally relaxed and chilled out. There are adult pools only too if you wish to totally totally relax! Food and drinks are very expensive here, but you get what you pay for in this case!

Room Tip: Be specific on the room you want, even have a look around first. If elderly you will need to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha travel_loulou,

Mahalo for your review and thank you for staying with us here on the South Shore of Kauai. We are so happy to hear that the Resort lived up to be everything you imagined. Congratulations on getting married and thank you for giving us the chance to be a part of such a special occasion, your Honeymoon.

We are honored to hear that you enjoyed the pools throughout our Resort. The pools are definitely a unique feature of our property that can keep you occupied all day long. The Resort is 52-acres, which has given us the ability to create a lush and vast escape that truly embodies Paradise. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed walks around the property and the views from many locations. Pacific Dream Photography does a great job capturing moments of families and couples that stay with us - we hope you had the chance to experience their great services.

Anara Spa is a fabulous place to fall in love all over again. It's ambiance and superior facilities takes your experience of Paradise to a completely different level. The treatment rooms are like no other and we are so happy you had the chance to experience it. We are thrilled that you were able to use your Honeymoon amenities from the Resort and it is our pleasure to do that little something to make your stay special.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kauai soon. Again, Mahalo for staying with us and thank you for your kind review.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The constant event noise at night from bands and dj'd music until 10 pm is the nail in the coffin for me. Sitting here writing this review with a white noise app on my ipad, so I don't have to listen to another encore of "Freebird" while the floor in my deluxe ocean view room shakes below me, no joke.

All of the beauty and amenities in the world don't mean anything if you have to put up with constant noise on vacation every night. But hey, it is pretty...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NorcalTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha NorcalTraveler_9,

Mahalo for your feedback and we thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you timing the time to share your experience.

We regret to hear that the noise from the event caused an inconvenience during your stay. Your review is valuable to us and we sincerely apologize for experience you encountered. We hope that we were able to offer you another room option during your stay. Again, thank you for your comments as it gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort soon.

Should we have the honor of welcoming you back for another stay, please feel free to reach out to myself, as I would be happy to discuss a desirable location and any other requests you may have.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa in Kauai is a family friendly paradise. The property is spacious with spectacular views and amazing pools. The staff was all very friendly, courteous and helpful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CenterValleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha CenterValleyPA,

Thank you for staying with us and Mahalo for your raving review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay and found our property to be accommodating to your party. With 52-acres, we have a lot of offer and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the views and pools that we have to offer. Our staff enjoys sharing the "aloha" spirit and we're glad you were able to experience it through the service provided.

We are excited to know that you will be returning to our property and we can't wait to welcome you back!

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here and the reasons I keep coming back are............
The hotel is just phenomenal. The lobby as you enter is breathtaking with an open view out to sea, framed by the lush gardens within the hotel. A view I have never seen or have seen anywhere better.
The rooms have recently been renovated and are spacious, modern with a subtle touch of the hawaiian prints that remind you you're in paradise. We had a mountain view room this time. Previous times we have had a sea view room. Have to say the mountain view room was just as good as the sea view room. The only difference being the price.
Hotel facilities here are outstanding. The pools, lagoons and beach pool are amazing. The perfect place to laze around and soak up the sun. Loungers have also been updated and are very luxurious which you rarely find round a pool. The hotel caters for the fact that adults might want that time to enjoy peace and quiet therefore there is an adult only pool. Perfect.
The fitness centre is also modern, spacious and fresh. The complimentary towels and wet towels kept cold in the fridge were also a great touch.
A must visit here is the Anara Spa. As a wedding anniversary gift my husband booked the Majestic Noni. It started with a foot soak in hawaiian salts followed by an all over exfoliation with salts and oil, a relaxing shower ( outside), all over body massage, facial massage and head massage. It was the best treatment I have ever had. Booking essential to avoid disappointment.
The hotel also caters for every persons mood so far as spending an evening goes. You can sit looking out onto the sea view terrace and listen to nightly entertainment from early evening with light fare also being served or you can dine in one of the many restaurants there or my favourite, stevensons bar. Bustling with fellow guests in a tasteful library decor with ample comfortable seating for downing those signature cocktails.
If you venture out of the hotel, a short drive to your left as you are coming out of the hotel is a shopping centre (which will be on your right) which has many little specialty shops for those special gifts. There is also an ABC store for cheap food stuffs, wine etc. Restaurants are also plenty here. Keoki's place is laid back if you eat in the bar side and food is great.
A must visit is waimea canyon, views are spectacular it's like a mini Grand Canyon. When you drive there don't just stop at the canyon, drive to the end till you get to wai le le. Views are out of this world over the na'pali coast. Worth the extra drive. Would also recommend a drive to hanalei bay, beach is gorgeous with backdrop of lush mountains and waterfalls.
Overall this hotel is just amazing, staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Love this hotel. Will always come back.

Room Tip: Mountain view room is just as good as a sea view and the bonus is it's cheaper !!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Dual waste paper bins in your bedroom for recycling purposes. Great idea.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha Karen S,

Mahalo nui loa for being a returned guest with us! We are absolutely honored to know that your recent stay was your third visit to our property. - Amazing!

The lobby is definitely picturesque and the ambiance and view never gets old. It gives our guests and our employees the true feeling of being in Paradise. Mahalo for your kind words regarding the pools and the lagoon, as well as the pool furniture, which was recently updated. Anara Spa is a location that shouldn't be missed when visiting and we are so glad that you were able to enjoy a great treatment for your Anniversary. Congratulations and thank you for letting us be apart of such a special occasion. We hope that both you and your husband had the chance to use the lap pool and the lava rock showers while at the spa. Creating a great experience for our guests no matter where they are on property is something we strive to do, and we're glad you had a great experience throughout the Resort.

We are thrilled that you had another great stay with us and we are so happy to hear that you will continue to return! We look forward to your next visit! Again, mahalo for your raving review and we will see you soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I hsve been planing a dream vacation for our honeymoon and like all of us we come to trip advisor for guidance. We read ghe reviews and followed all hotel advisories because we wanted to be sure nothing went wrong with our dream honeymoon. We get to checkin and hear the worst words anyone can say "there seems to be an issue with your reservstion" the agent gies to the back and comes back 10 min later and said we only have diuble beds, we do not have any king size beds. Mind you this is our honeymoon! Long story short they offer us a 50 rebate. Here is the kicker-the bell boy delivers our bags to our rooms and says what is your occation, he looks inside the room and says they gave you double beds? We said thats all they had even though we comfirmed everything prior. The bell boy makes a phone call and guess what?!!! He gets us a king size bed! A bell boy! Managenent and checkin could not help us. Very sad. All future hineymooners beware!

To add two.days later we come to find out the hotel had upgraded other guests even though we placed ourselves on the waiting list. We asked the guest and they said theyjust upgraded us and they were not on any waiting list. Grand Hyat i have one question for you.... where are your priorities?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aviatorxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the resort.

We're sorry to hear that your recent stay and check-in process did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback regarding this matter is greatly appreciated and has been shared with our senior management team here at the resort.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the bedding situation. At our Resort, unfortunately we do not confirm bedding types, however we do try our absolute best to accommodate all guests with their bedding request - especially our Honeymooners. We are glad to hear that you were provided a King size bed and want to ensure you that your satisfaction is top priority.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome back to Kauai on a better note.

A Hui Hou,

Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing