We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$571
$499
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$659
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$479
$399
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
$309
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,880)
Filter reviews
6,880 results
Traveler rating
5,053
1,229
385
135
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,053
1,229
385
135
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riversalt water lagoonilima terracepoipu wingtidepools restaurantstevenson's libraryour honeymoonadult poolbreakfast buffetpool areatide poolsfour seasonsshipwreck beachopen airself parkingsushibeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,275 - 4,280 of 6,880 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Truly awesome; if only it had a better beach it would be the perfect resort!! Leis on arrival, top notch service in the lounge, all day snacks and drinks, the BEST lotions and amenities in the room, awesome beds, amazing salt water lagoon with the natural bottom, kayaks for rent in the lagoon, lovely grounds....I could go on and on. The gym was very, very nice, and the resort is so well laid out that it never felt crowded. The fish feeding was cute, and the shops had everything you would need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mydayjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Aloha mydayjob,

Mahalo for your kind review and thank you for staying with us. It's a pleasure to hear that you had an awesome stay.

We are honored that the little things made a huge impact. The lei upon arrival is what we believe really starts our guests' experience off in true Hawaii fashion. Our service is something we take great pride in, and we are glad to know it stood out to you. We are happy to that you enjoyed the Grand Club and all the snacks and beverages offered there. The saltwater lagoon is definitely something you cannot miss when staying with us and it's great that you had a blast. The next time you stay with us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy free scuba diving lessons in the lagoon as well.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Kauai again soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our experience at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa couldn't have been better. Besides the obvious fact that Kauai is beautiful, this resort was gorgeous without being ostentatious. Everything you could want was there. The staff, from the bell hop to the concierge, were all wonderful, giving you "local" insight as to places to eat, places to see, etc. The food was great. The hotel room was beautiful and clean. We had an ocean view room, and the view couldn't have been better. The pools were always clean. Every morning at 10 a.m. 3 different-colored Macaws and a beautiful Cockatoo were placed in the arboretum, which is part of the lobby, and removed at 2 p.m. All of the tourists loved these birds. It seems as if they would pose for you. Also on site, black swans, a mute swan, and other assorted colorful, tropical birds. They also have an on-site spa, but I didn't use that. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Aloha Barb K,

Mahalo for your kind review and we thank you for staying with us here at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa. Kauai's beauty is truly amazing and as a Resort we wanted to ensure that we embraced our surroundings instead of being pretentious.

Our staff takes pride in sharing the "aloha" spirit and sharing insights on what "locals" like to do and eat - we are glad we were able to provide you with both. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the views and our wildlife in the lobby. We hope the next time your with us, you have the chance to check out Anara Spa, because it is the place to discover relaxation with the unique feeling of being in your own paradise. We think you'd love it.

We hope to welcome you back to Garden Isle soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here the first part of our first trip to Kauai. Easy to find. They have an an amazing and dramatic view of the Ocean from the lobby and you instantly know you're in paradise. Once you check in, they give you a lei. Front desk staff very courteous. We stayed in a partial ocean view room. Our partial view seemed like a full ocean view so if you want to save a few bucks, book a partial and ask for room on the 5th or 6th floor. Room: spacious and they give you 2 free waters everyday. The bathroom had a bidet! Views: awesome, you're literally right next to Shipwreck Beach. Pool: awesome as well. You don't even have to get there early to get a pool chair like most hotels. They have a lazy river as well as an adult pool section. Breakfast: definitely go to Ilima Terrace for breakfast buffett. Staff there were top notch. Bellman: always nice and helpful. When you leave the lobby, they are always making sure you have everything from waters to towels. They also have free self parking! I definitely would recommend to stay here if you're planning on staying in Poipu

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View on the 6th floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bbear0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Aloha Bbear0814,

Thank you for your review and Mahalo for staying with us. The view from the lobby does take people's breath away and it's a pleasure to know you enjoyed it. We are glad to hear that your check in process went great and that you were happy with your Partial Ocean View room. Mahalo for your kind words regarding the pools and especially our staff. The Grand Hyatt Kauai Ohana strives to share their "aloha" spirit with all guests and we are glad we were able to serve you with our authentic hospitality.

Mahalo nui loa for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had not been to the Hyatt for several years. It was great. The hotel upgraded us to a pool view room. We loved being on the ground floor and could walk out our door and to the adult only pool. Hotel was not very busy so it was quiet and the room A/C worked great which is important to me. I did miss having a bath tub as the rooms only have showers. They accommodated a late check out. The check in process was friendly. I wish I would have gotten the name of the clerk. She had braids in her hair and a great attitude. She should be recognized. The valet staff was also very friendly. Every single one of them. It's the little things that make a big difference. They always offered us towels and water every time we left the hotel. My only complaint would be the cocktail waitresses poolside spent a lot of time chit chatting with each other versus checking on drinks. We and several others had to go to the bar for drinks versus being served.

Room Tip: Near the adult pool, ground level
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KStant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Aloha KStaut,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure to be able to provide you with an upgraded room and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenience. Some rooms are equipped with bathtubs, but we are pleased you liked your shower. We are also glad to hear that the AC in your room was comfortable to your satisfaction.

We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the check-in agent and the valet staff, these employees truly embody the "aloha" spirit. Thank you for your feedback regarding your observation at the pool and the issue will be addressed. Mahalo for giving us the ability to improve our services from your valued feedback. In addition, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another 5-star vacation.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful resort with multiple pools!! The lagoon is awesome!! Loved the hotel and location! Beautiful place and can't wait to go back!! We loved that it had places for us to run as well to get our fitness in!! Restaurants on site and so much to do!!

Room Tip: We had partial ocean view which was like full ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Runnerchik3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Aloha surfergal3233,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you loved the hotel and the Poipu area. Our Resort offers something for just about everyone and with Anara Spa's fitness center, you can even enjoy fitness as well. Mahalo for your kind words regarding the properties beauty, the pools and lagoon.

We would be honored to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future and we are excited to hear that you can't wait for your next visit.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews