We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great honeymoon resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently spent a few days on Kauai during our honeymoon, and we were very pleased with the Grand Hyatt. The property is beautiful, and although the resort is very large, it felt peaceful. Guests are welcomed with a lei greeting upon arrival, and the honeymoon perks like complimentary champagne and dessert were much appreciated! Our room was towards the end of the Poipu wing and was therefore about a 5-10 minute walk from the lobby and pool area (which I was told about when placing room preferences such as away from the elevator), but it was serene, and our 5th floor ocean view room had a gorgeous view facing southwest. The pools are spacious, and the salt water lagoon with surrounding sand was perfect for the time we spent lounging at the hotel, which was only a fraction of our activity time--so much to explore and do around the island! We did experience somewhat inattentive service pool-side and at the Tidepools restaurant (even at non-busy times) which was disappointing, but the food was good. The bathroom had a nice double sink and 'washlet' toilet/bidet, but the tiling in the shower was not pristine, and the towels were a lower quality than I would expect from a luxury resort. Overall, the resort was beautiful, in a great location for the rest of our activities, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we would highly recommend others to stay at the Grand Hyatt Kauai.

Room Tip: In the Poipu wing, I'd recommend the highest floors (5 and 6) if you want more privacy and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBCtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review,

We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Congratulations once again on your honeymoon! We're glad you enjoyed the honeymoon amenities, as well as exploring the resort and island activities. We'd also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant service and bathroom amenities, as it allows us the opportunity to improve upon. Mahalo again and we hope to welcome you back to Kauai soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,354
    1,057
    316
    111
    62
See reviews for
1,672
2,838
63
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,372)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Grand Hyatt and it's staff were incredible! The grounds are gorgeous, and the people who work there were all incredibly polite and helpful. We stayed on the 4th floor and had a most amazing, huge room with the best view! We watched whales breach from our balcony!
We left the hotel only to tour and to scuba dive, otherwise they had everything we needed right there. They had shows featuring local artists, a shop, a great (for a hotel) gym, and pool tables! This place was wonderful and I really loved my 5 day stay. I wish I could have stayed forever! Thank you!!
Thank you Cindy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Ott0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha Lucy,

Mahalo for your review and for sharing your experience with us upon multiple sites! We really appreciate your kind and thoughtful words. We're delighted that you had an amazing stay, and can't wait to welcome you back in the future!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved this property! The rooms are well-appointed, the resort itself id magnificent with salt-water lagoons, beach access and lots of swimming options. The restaurants are very good. We learned to dive while there and went on a dive adventure which I loved. It is a little spendy but you are on the sunny side of the island, with enough to do at the resort that you need never leave if you don't want to.

Room Tip: We had a pool view which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenacityz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you had a great time on Kauai! We're glad that you enjoyed your room, as well as exploring the beach, pools, and lagoon. The saltwater lagoon is a great place to learn to scuba, and following it with a boat tour is perfect! We hope you encountered lots of fish and maybe even spotted a few turtles. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

There's really nothing but great things to say about this place...if you're looking for a big resort getaway. Since our stay there we have realized that it's not the kind of vacation that we prefer, but I have nothing negative to say about the Grand Hyatt Kauai. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. It really is Grand! The pool really is a thing of beauty and my favorite part of the hotel. Also, there's an adult pool and a kids' pool, which I really appreciate since we were not traveling with children. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. When we checked into the hotel we realized that there are two wings of the rooms. We were placed on the "quiet side" and we inquired about moving to the other one that is closer to the pool. They were very accommodating and showed us a room on the other side to consider. We ended up staying in our original room but really appreciated their flexibility. If you're going to Poipu this is a great option for a nice resort.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you may want to stay on the side furthest from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a beautiful resort. It is huge so be repaired to walk quite a distance to get to your room. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted at the door by the valets who parked our rental car. I grew up in the Hawaiian islands and was returning to Kauai with my husband after being gone for many year. The first room we were given was...poor. Small and plain, we walked the many steps back up to the front desk and asked for an upgrade which we got. Beautiful. A suite overlooking the whole resort with a lovely Lani. The grounds are full of many sunning and swimming options. Beach or pool, they have you covered. Loved it. Bars all around. Dinning in the onsite restaurants was "good" but not great. We did take some time to tour the Island and dine out a couple of nights which gave us a chance to mingle with the locals. There was a local crafts and jewelry artisan one day with some really pretty things. I happily purchased some of the necklaces. I would feel very comfortable in recommending this resort to family and friends. It may have some negatives but the positives out-way them. So...if walking a bit is not an issue for you and being a bit off the beaten path (this is not like Waikiki on Oahu) you'll love it. Truly a beautiful piece of my beloved Hawaii.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe/Truckee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in on the islands. The lagoon pools including the water slide were fantastic for a relaxing day in the sun. The gardens were phenomenal. We stayed in a suite and to be honest, for the price it wasn't worth it. The room was nice but nothing exciting or "suite" like. The property is very large so unfortunately our room was a long walk from the hot tubs, pools and restaurant facilities. We were close to the spa which was a good thing although my one day at the spa was just o.k. once again, especially considering the price paid. Fitness center nice. Restaurants should have been better, they were o.k. The service was very good and the employees all did a great job for us. I love the fact that every single one of them acknowledged me at all times even if we were passing in the halls. I really felt they cared about their jobs and guests. Refreshing! Views from our room of the ocean were incredible but one big thing we didn't like about the resort is the fact that we couldn't swim in the ocean. It was tough for us to be at an oceanfront property that we couldn't go in the ocean at. All of the staff we spoke with recommended we don't go in the water due to riptides. Very disappointing to us as swimming in the ocean was one of the reasons we wanted to stay at this location. Overall, if you want a romantic trip or have little kids that you want to keep contained in a pool area, this is a great choice. I do have to mention the breakfast buffet, even though it's a big pricey, it's well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahoeMountainLodging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very nice! The pool and beach are awesome and great for kids. The grounds are lush and beautiful. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. We would come back here in a second!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclovesmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're happy to hear that you and your Ohana had a great stay with us! Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We're glad your family had a fun time at the resort, and enjoyed the pools and beach. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing