We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$451
$389
Autograph
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$469
$419
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$659
$399
Marriott
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$809
$659
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
$240
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,875)
Filter reviews
6,875 results
Traveler rating
5,048
1,229
385
135
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,048
1,229
385
135
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riversalt water lagoonilima terracepoipu wingtidepools restaurantstevenson's libraryour honeymoonadult poolbreakfast buffetpool areatide poolsfour seasonsshipwreck beachopen airself parkingsushibeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,606 - 4,611 of 6,875 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Hyatt is a beautiful resort. This is our second visit to this resort, and I think we will be back! We have stayed in both ocean view and pool view rooms and they are both nice. The service here is what really stands out. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did an outstanding job. We were greeted with a warm welcome and felt that same aloha spirit throughout our stay.
We spent time by the pool... There are plenty to choose from. We appreciated the adult pool since we traveled without kids! (This is an amazing place for kids. We traveled with friends and their kids did not want to leave the property-- a water slide, a lagoon, a lazy river... No wonder!)
The pool staff was attentive.
We wanted a resort experience, and that is exactly what we received.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Aloha Stephanie F and Mahalo for your review!

We are overjoyed that you had an amazing stay with us! Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the service they provided; our goal is to ensure each guest is touched by the Aloha spirit and we're glad to hear you felt it! We're excited that you are already thinking of returning, and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just spent a week at this incredible resort. From the minute we checked in with Ronald Laroche, who did everything in his power to select a nice room for us, to a aloha by all staff. First off the staff genuinely care about their guest experience, you not only see it but "feel" it. Resort is truly magnificent with manicured grounds throughout, I did not see a piece of paper, paper cup, or trash anywhere. The pool staff was always accommodating, on any needs around one of the many pool areas.
I attended a business Conference and the only negative was the meals served to the large group, nothing. Exciting nor creative that would normally accompany this high level of. Resort, blame that on the food and beverage manager, however.
The restaurant at the resort were all great, service, food and its presentation. Be peeped to spend money as "everything is expensive, but surprisingly all very much worth it.
Request a top floor as if available as some of the ceilings are canopied adding seemingly more room.
One negative, we had TV problems, where you had to pull the plug to re boot, which their engineering dept. showed us, we'll it kept happening throughout our stay, finally on our last night I called to complain, front desk apologized and offered a $50 credit........this is authoritative management at its best.
On a final note, I mentioned Ronald who checked us in, every time he saw us he called out to only our room, but our name.
I would stay at this Grand Hyatt anytime, you truly get what you pay for!!!
Mike in Tucson

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Aloha Mike H,

We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and glad that your business conference brought you to the island! It's great that you enjoyed the resort and restaurants, as well as exploring the grounds. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and the friendly service they provided, and for recognizing the efforts of Ronald at the Front Desk! It would be a pleasure to have you join us again! Until then safe travels and Aloha!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is a nice hotel in a nice location. The grounds are beautiful. Our kids enjoyed the pool. You can hike right from the hotel along the coast and see whales breaching off shore. There are several high end restaurants nearby. We were not impressed with the food, so we recommend going out to eat. My negatives: it is a big hotel, and though they were friendly, we felt like a number, not an honored guest. We stayed in room 3038, and if we slept with the door open to hear the ocean at night (which I loved), we were awoken at 5:30 am every morning when when they set up the breakfast buffet. There is a mandatory resort fee to cover the cost of the gym, internet, etc, but they wouldn't let my 11 and 13 year old come to the gym or spa with us. Breakfast was fine, but not exciting. We would try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the breakfast buffet as possible is you want to sleep with the door open.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Aloha Kathy O,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for being our guest! We are delighted to hear that you and your Ohana (family) had a nice stay with us. It's great that you enjoyed the pools and hiking along the coast, glad that you also spotted some whales along the way! We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and appreciate the feedback you've provided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If price is no object and you are looking for a slice of heaven in a tropical paradise, look no further than the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa. Impeccable grounds with incredible amenities and a first rate staff combined to provide the ultimate vacation experience on the southern part of this garden island. The medical conference I attended could not have picked a more ideal time or location in Kauai.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Aloha Christopher C,

We are honored to hear your kind and thoughtful words about your recent visit with us! It's great that you had a memorable stay, and that you enjoyed our resort amenities and service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Garden Isle soon!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely room, lovely bathroom, amazing grounds.
Plenty of pools, the slide was fun.

I was ill while we were here so I didn't get to enjoy as much of the grounds as I would like but what we did see was fantastic.

It is a real lay back and enjoy resort. Don't plan too many activities while your on Kauai ... just relax and enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelltho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're happy that you had a nice and relaxing stay with us! Sorry to hear that you were ill for part of your trip, we hope you have been feeling much better. We are glad that you were able to experience most of the resort and that you enjoyed the grounds and water slide! It would be a pleasure to have you join us again in the near future!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews