We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven in a tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven in a tropical paradise”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If price is no object and you are looking for a slice of heaven in a tropical paradise, look no further than the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa. Impeccable grounds with incredible amenities and a first rate staff combined to provide the ultimate vacation experience on the southern part of this garden island. The medical conference I attended could not have picked a more ideal time or location in Kauai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha Christopher C,

We are honored to hear your kind and thoughtful words about your recent visit with us! It's great that you had a memorable stay, and that you enjoyed our resort amenities and service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Garden Isle soon!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,495
    1,084
    332
    114
    64
See reviews for
1,732
2,925
68
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely room, lovely bathroom, amazing grounds.
Plenty of pools, the slide was fun.

I was ill while we were here so I didn't get to enjoy as much of the grounds as I would like but what we did see was fantastic.

It is a real lay back and enjoy resort. Don't plan too many activities while your on Kauai ... just relax and enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelltho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're happy that you had a nice and relaxing stay with us! Sorry to hear that you were ill for part of your trip, we hope you have been feeling much better. We are glad that you were able to experience most of the resort and that you enjoyed the grounds and water slide! It would be a pleasure to have you join us again in the near future!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a premium hotel. It's an oceanfront property on Shipwreck Beach. The beach itself is unsafe for swimming (the red flags are no joke when they are flying, and drownings are all too common) but the public areas of the Hyatt are amazing. Well maintained and a lot of different water options. There is a fresh water lagoon, a huge swimming area, a lazy river ending in a waterslide, an adults only pool and multiple hot tubs. It had a poolside tiki bar, a large snack bar, and great waitress service at your lounge chair. There are also plenty of ornamental functions like waterfalls, streams and koi ponds. Tidepools is a great fish restaurant, and the design and view are probably even nicer than the impressive menu. The rooms: well, they are nice, but no nicer than any any mid-range hotel. People don't come to this property to stay in the room. If you are not going to be using the public grounds, there are better deals elsewhere because this hotel generally commands room rates over $300 a night. If it's in your budget, it's worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitch7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha Fitch7600,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for being our guest! We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed the pools, lagoon, and dining at Tidepools. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the grounds, we hope to welcome you back to the island for more fun soon!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful and classy with top notch service! My husband travels the world for work and said this resort was on his top 5 list. The property is expansive but walkable day and night (romantic with the night torches). The pool area's are amazing (yes, there is a quiet adult area too). There was enough room for everyone to spread out, always enough open lounge chairs, always friendly staff to grab a food/drink order too. When laying by the salt water lagoon pool (where my kids lived), I could hear the waves crashing on the nearby "Shipwrech beach" while I read (how perfect!). For moms, it's good to know that the pools are around 3.5 to 4 ft deep (safe but way fun still for older kids), the salt water lagoon has a wonderful sandy 'beach' entry for kids to play who are younger and can only play in a foot of water or less and love sand. I never felt like I had to be nervous about my 9 and 12 year old because I could pretty much see, or easily locate them the whole time, even if they went back and forth to each pool. I did a ton of research on which hotel and island to chose this time. I listend to the reviews about the Grand Hyatt and have never felt more satisfied with our decision. Dead on and awesome! We will return to this hotel (and we do not say that often). P.S. Kauai is, by far, the BEST island. Just stunning and easy to explore. We tootled around the island, snorkeled, ate out and still had plenty of kid pool time.

Room Tip: Shipwreck building - excellent access to pool, not far from lobby/shops/food, laundry room in hall w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoMsOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're overjoyed to hear that you and your Ohana (family) had an amazing stay with us! It's an honor to be noted as a top resort, and we thank you for your kind words. We're glad your kids had a blast in the pools and salt water lagoon, and that you also enjoyed exploring resort as well as the island. We can't wait to welcome you back to the resort!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you need a break, this is the place to go. Everything is within the resort. It's a great place to just crash. The food quality at the restaurants was outstanding. The food service workers were so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us! Kauai is the perfect place for a getaway, and we're happy you were able to escape to paradise! Thank you for your warm comments about our restaurants, including the food quality and service provided. We'll be sure to share your kind words with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Aloha,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at this resort for 3 nights in March. If I ever get back to Hawaii, I'll come straight to the Grand Hyatt Kauai. First off, Kauai is gorgeous, it's like the Garden of Eden. Very laid back, and not at all with the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. When we walked into the Grand Hyatt Kauai, the open air lobby is just a prelude to the rest I can't get over the amazing grounds of this hotel. I just wanted to sit and gaze out to the ocean and not move. We splurged for a partial ocean view (expensive) but it was worth it. It is like looking at a picture of the south seas. The pools meandered around the grounds, along with palm trees and tropical plants and flowers. Our room was big, we had both a king and a queen in it. We had a nice lanai (balcony) looking out over the pool and ocean. There was a big bathoom with tub/shower and a very curious modern electronic toilet/bidet. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows. I had 3 meals (plus the luau) during my stay here. I had the breakfast buffet at Ilima Terrace which was very good but pricey. Beautiful view of the grounds and ocean. I ate lunch one day at the Dock, which is the outdoor bar by the pools. This was another good meal right in the midst of all the tropical splendor of the pools. Then my family and I ate at Tidepools which is very pretty, especially after it gets dark, to see the palm trees swaying in the moonlight and the pools surrounding with koi. It did kind of remind me of the Enchanted Tiki Room at Disneyland but not in a bad way! We also attended the luau at the Hyatt and that was a fun evening. The entertainment was great, they put on an excellent show and there was plenty of food and drink. We also used the spa services and the spa itself is lovely and relaxing, although expensive, One negative thing I should mention but this seems to be throughout Hawaii, is that the pools are cool to cold. I swam one afternoon and the pool was cool but the next morning it was downright cold. That was a big disappointment to me as I had been looking forward to lazing around in the pools. After a while you did get used to it, but I noticed that very few people were actually swimming and if they did they jumped in and jumped out rather quickly. One person told me that the saltwater lagoon was even colder. I'm from the Texas Gulf coast and am used to very warm water.
That being said, I just have to get back to the lush scenery. One of the most stunning hotels I've ever stayed at. The only thing that keeps me from giving an excellent rating is the cold pools.

Room Tip: Splurge for at least a partial ocean view. It is well worth it for the splendid view of the ocean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're thrilled to hear that you and your Ohana (family) had an amazing stay with us! It sounds like you all had a fun and relaxing visit to Kauai. We're glad you enjoyed your room accommodations, as well as the luau, pools, and spa! Mahalo for your kind words about the grounds and landscaping, and thank you for your feedback regarding the pool temperature. It would be a pleasure to have you join us again in the near future!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a geat hotel for families who want to keep their kids busy with numerous, pools, waterfalls, and a water slide. It also has a salt water lagoon. The beach isn't much and there are warnings to be careful in the ocean area around there. the breakfast area is large and has nice outdoor seating next to a Koi pond. The restaurant we liked the most was the one in the garden area with the thatched roof and has a great meal selection and a bar area with a sitting area. Also Koi fish swim by the tables in about 1/2 of the restaurant.The hotel is huge and there are so many room choice locations it's hard to tell which locatiuon is best. Our room had a great balcony that overlooked most of the pool area with a partial ocean view. I don't think it is wise to pay a lot more for an ocean view when the pool, lagoon, and garden areas are so nice. It is a short drive to shopping and other dining options and a 20-30 minute trip back to the airport. Took a helicopter flight that was worth it. Book through the hotel for most things and you get a big discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on all of the pools and waterfalls. The beach and ocean aren't mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobseelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were pleased with your room accommodations and view! It's great to hear that Tidepools was your favorite place to eat, it's definitely an exquisite and unique dining experience. Mahalo for being our guest, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing