We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Dream Photography is a Hidden Gem of the HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Pacific Dream Photography is a Hidden Gem of the HOTEL!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Matt and his team at Pacific Dream Photography completed our nice getaway with my husband and topped our trip with fantastic photos to remember our visit. Their professionalism, quality of work are top notch. And to add to that they are just a blast to work. This speaks volumes as to why they are growing so rapily.
I recommend doing the sunrise shoot as the lights and landscape that you shoot are breathtaking. Don's miss the opportunity to shoot with their team I promise you you wont disappointed. Some of the best Photography I have seen in the industry right in the hotel.
I wont spoil some of the surprises they have when they present you your photos but trust me you will be impressed.
Deidra

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deidra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Deidra,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your wonderful experience with Pacific Dream Photography! It's great to hear that you had a fun photo shoot, and captured special moments of your island getaway. Mahalo for your kind comments, this will be shared with our management team. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the resort!

Warmest Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,566
    1,096
    334
    116
    64
See reviews for
1,775
2,957
69
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Among the hotels that we were searching for accommodation in Kauai for our honeymoon, the Grand Hyatt stood out. Former reviews narrowed it down to this. We wanted the place to be special and special it was. We arrived late and were greeted with kukui nut necklace and our car was valet parked for free. They were extremely nice. We received a free upgrade on our room from partial ocean view to deluxe ocean view. We were given a bottle of champagne in our room and free dessert coupon at any of the 3 restaurants in house- nothing amazing but a small something which we appreciated. The view and the room was amazing. We used the ANARA spa which was amazing as well..... only wish it was co-ed. The beaches and the amenities at the hotel were good. Had a good gym, pool and lagoon area. The luau was really nice. Shop around for the activities, it could be very expensive. Food is very expensive in Hawaii. So BEWARE. The only thing which was a let down was the breakfast, overpriced and nothing special. Hope this helps. The hotel is maze (it's huge), you could get lost :)

Room Tip: If you want privacy choose higher floor. If you want easy access to the beach choose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldhardfacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're happy to hear you had a good stay with us, and thank you for choosing our resort as your honeymoon destination! Congratulations once again! We're glad you enjoyed the honeymoon amenities, just a little something from us to celebrate your joyous occasion. It's great that you also took advantage of the wonderful Anara Spa, and that you had a nice Lu`au experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The reviews are so consistently positive for this resort and for good reason: it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. We chose this resort because of the Trip Advisor reviews and can't thank you all enough. Our week long trip went by all too fast and we can't wait to go back!

We did have a problem upon check in however. I had called weeks in advance and spoke to reservations about our room requests. The woman said she had found the perfect room that met all of my requests and reserved it. When we arrived (extremely exhausted from a long flight) we found that they had not held our reservation requests but instead put us in type of room we did not want. We had wanted to stay in a specific type of room in the Shipwreck wing, thinking we would enjoy that the most. Other options were searched, a manager came to talk to us. All in all, we stood at the check in desk for well over an hour before we were given two room options to look at -both in the Poipu wing. But, the Lord works in mysterious ways because in the end we loved the room in the Poipu wing much more than the room we originally requested! By the end of the week, we knew that we will always want to stay in the Poipu wing, as it is much quieter and has great ocean views.

We had a deluxe ocean view, which was well worth it. We slept so well to the sound of the ocean. There was a lovely TV in our room but we never turned it on once as we didn't want to cover up the sound of the waves, and there was so much to do during our week stay, we didn't want to waste a minute of it watching television!

I've noticed only a few reviews that mention the open air architecture of this beautiful resort- you really have to be there to experience just how magnificent that is! No doors, you just walk outside through large openings. Birds are free to fly into hallways and a gentle breeze follows everywhere you go! It's unlike any hotel we have ever been to. The pictures you see here do not capture the feel of the air, the smell of the flowers or even the full array of colors.

Many reviewers complain about the long walk from their room to the parking lot or other places, but although we had one of the rooms that is furthest away from the parking lot, we never tired of the walk. It gave us exercise, while we repeatedly savored the beauty along the way.

We have never stayed at a resort where the staff are so consistently kind and friendly! Every person you pass by in hallways or meet in the various venues says Aloha with a smile. Towels and water bottles are provided when you go out to other beaches. When it rained one day, we were given an umbrella.

Many thanks to our concierge, Maren, whose help made this trip so enjoyable for us. She guided us to the perfect boat and helicopter tours, snorkeling spots and couldn't have been nicer.

We were sent a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. We ate at Tidepools that night, which was lovely. We enjoyed breakfast every morning at Ilima Terrace where we watched for whales and enjoyed the koi and flitting birds while we ate our delicious breakfast, choosing from a vast array of items.

The lagoon and pools were the nicest of any place we have stayed anywhere in the world. The lagoon is kept at a perfect 84 degrees, using geothermal energy. We were impressed also to see hybrid vehicles and charging stations in the parking lot and solar panels in the employee parking lot.

We agree with so many other reviews, that while there are over 600 rooms, the resort is so spread out that it never feels crowded. We never had trouble finding a chair or having room to swim in the pools. The landscaping of the grounds is meticulous and the choice of plants is in perfect keeping with the style of the architecture.

Wish list:

While the room was lovely and comfortable, we would have appreciated having a microwave in the room and a larger lanai. We loved sitting on the lanai each day. We sometimes wished it were big enough for lounge chairs so we could have stretched out as we have been able to do at other resorts on our lanai. More suite options would be nice too with full kitchens and separate bedrooms.

We wish there were more vegetarian options at the various restaurants and more snack options near the pool.

When we went swimming in the evening, we found that the place where we got our towels during the daytime was closed. We finally found a woman who got some towels for us, but it would have been nice to have had quick access to towels at night.

We found that the snack bars near the pool often closed early. It would have been nice for them to have stayed open later.

These are just small complaints and don't detract from the grandness of the Grand Hyatt. We will most certainly return, and we can't recommend this resort highly enough.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are well worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Jewel333,

Our warmest Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your detailed experience! We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, and romantic anniversary celebration! It's great that you enjoyed much of the resort, including the pools and lagoons, restaurants, and architecture & grounds! We agree listening to the sound of the ocean from your lanai is a definite must-do.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and for recognizing Maren at Concierge! We also appreciate you sharing your wish list and thank you for this valuable feedback. All of your comments will be shared among our management team. We can't wait to welcome you back for another Grand vacation!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Grand Hyatt on Kauai (dating back to 1994). It remains as good as ever: one of our favorite hotel resorts in Hawaii. The landscaping has if anything gotten even better since our last stay in 2010. While it seemed a lot busier than our last few stays, especially the number of families with small children or even toddlers (signs of the improving economy maybe?), it remains an elegant but relaxed hotel. Also impressive was while there were at least two large corporate groups staying at the hotel at the same time as we were, the Hyatt managed all this without making those of us staying there on our own dime (compared to that of our employers) not feel like second class citizens in comparisons, unlike a lot of resort places. The staged events for the groups did not intrude on or prevent the "regular" patrons from enjoying all of the resort facilities. Kudos to Hyatt for this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StressedinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're delighted to hear you had another great stay with us; it's a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests year after year. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our landscaping team. We're glad you had a relaxing vacation, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Doug has the best staff and the most amazing resort I have ever had the privilege to visit (and I travel the world). This is heaven on Earth and the Customer Service is first and foremost the emphasis at this world class resort! This is our 4th visit and we will be back very soon for our 5th!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Eric G,

We're overjoyed to hear your kind comments about our resort and staff! It's an honor to be noted as a top resort, especially from a world traveler such as yourself. We're thrilled you and your Ohana had an amazing stay, and we can't wait to welcome you back for your fifth visit!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem! The landscape, the pools, and the rooms are all paradise. The food was delicious and the staff were extremely helpful! I would have to say that this was absolutely the nicest hotel that I have stayed in! I would recommend this hotel to anyone/everyone! Paradise!!! So romantic:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha penelope431,

Thank you for your recent review and for being our guest. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and honeymoon! Congratulations once again! Mahalo for sharing your warm comments about the resort and our staff; it's great that you enjoyed pools and restaurants around the property. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is just what a large resort hotel should be. What stood out was the high level of service and the pool area. The staff goes above and beyond without hesitation. The pool area was a varied landscape of tiered pools. Our family favorite was the man-made lagoon (a nice touch since the ocean front, while beautiful, is incredibly dangerous surf). Our 2nd room was nice. The first room assigned seemed dark and dingy and moving just next store made all the difference for some reason. We had a pool view room that provided a lovely view of the pools area and a side view of the ocean--really beyond our expectations for that level room. We are going again this September and reserved a deluxe ocean view and hope to be amazed.
The breakfast buffet is really amazing. It came as part of our package. This year it's not included so I'm not sure we'll bear the expense.
Tide Pools Restaurant was wonderful -- ambience, food and service -- all precise and flawless.
We traveled with our 2 year old and the koi fish feeding and parrot talk were very nice activities for him. The majority of guests seemed to be honeymooners and couples. Families less so.
A lot of people note the long walks to anything from the rooms. Except for those with difficulty walking, it was what we would expect for a resort of this size. But I agree that if the pool area is on your agenda several days, the wing on the pool side makes sense.
Overall, beautiful resort. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbcTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're happy to hear that you and your Ohana had a wonderful stay with us last year, and even more excited that you will be returning once again this September! Thank you for sharing your warm comments about our staff and the service you received. It's great that your son enjoyed some the wildlife activities, and spent time in the lagoon which is perfect for small children to play. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing