We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Amazing!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Only got to spend a few days here but it was truly paradise! The employees who greeted us upon our arrival and checked us in were so nice! Really made us feel welcome. The resort is beautiful, great pools and beach front. There is a schedule of daily activities so always something to do or just do nothing at all. Enjoyed dinner at Tidepools. Next time we visit we will stay longer. A taxi from the airport is approx $50. If you plan to drive around the island then it may be best to rent a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review!

We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay with us, and are already thinking of returning! It's great that you partook in some the daily activities, and as you say there is always something to do or you can just relax at the pool and do nothing at all. Thank you for your kind comments about our associates, our goal is to exemplify the Aloha spirit as we welcome you into our home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,437
    1,072
    324
    111
    62
See reviews for
1,696
2,890
66
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is what you would picture of a Hawaiian resort. The landscape is lush with swimming areas running everywhere throughout. The service people are probably the friendliest I've ever encountered. All of restaurants have nice menu selections, and the food is outstanding. My only criticism is that there is really nothing for casual dining in the evening. (The restaurants don't require "dress" but the atmosphere isn't casual.)

Our partial-ocean view room was more than that, as you could see the almost the entire beach area. It was spacious and had a large bathroom. With all the amenities offered (including toothpaste), they didn't have shower caps!

Needless to say, it was pricey.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to an ocen-view room, as the partial is practically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SB4Vols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are delighted to hear you had a magnificent stay and were pleased with the resort's ambiance, which is reminiscent of Old Hawaii. Thank you for your warm comments about our staff and the service they provided. We hope you can join us again soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a few days at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. When I at first thought of Kauai I thought of a tropical island with tiki bars and palapa restaurants and small hotels scattered along the beach. I wasn't expecting the grandiose Hyatt. It was great if you're into huge resorts, but to me it felt like I could've been on any tropical island. But it seems like that's what all the hotels are like in Hawaii.
I guess I'll start with the complaints, because I'm a NYer and that's what I do. I was disappointed there wasn't enough outdoor dining/bar options on the property. The resort was all indoors once the sun set. I was really hoping to sit outside sipping a cocktail, watch the sunset, and listen to live music. Not an option when I was there.
I think as far as outdoor space is concerned, most of the money was put towards the pools and lagoon, which were phenomenal. Because the property is on a hill, the pools are tiered. And most of them are connected through meandering streams. The pools and hot tubs are open 24 hours, which is a nice bonus.
Concierge: My husband and I were looking to book some excursions and dinner reservations. We sat down with our concierge, who was lovely...for exactly the first 10 minutes. Then it was like a stopwatch went off and we were dismissed. Nobody was even waiting behind us. We went down the next day expecting the same but were fortunately helped by a very patient gentleman.
Dining: Sort of like cruise ship food. Unnecessarily fancy and not necessarily good. But fine. I frequented the coffee bar and made the mistake of ordering a small Kauai coffee...for $6. What?! But the girls that work there are really nice, so it made up for the price.
Rooms: Really nice. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the pool. Amazing!!
Staff and valet: So so so nice and helpful. They offered us water, towels and directions before each trip. One night my husband left his iphone in the car and one of the valet men brought it to our room.
Spa: Amazing! I got a massage and it was some of the best 50 minutes of my life!
Location: Great! So glad we didn't stay up north!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha NYJanet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay, and enjoyed the pools, lagoons, and spa at the resort. Mahalo for recognizing our staff and the friendly service they provided. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the outdoor dining areas and concierge which will be shared with our management team. We hope to you can join us again, until then safe travels and Aloha.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gibson, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just returned from our second trip to Kauai and the GRAND HYATT. This location is everything you want On a trip to Hawaii. It is the perfect blend of God's beauty in all of the swaying palm trees, beautiful flowers, and the most glorious shades of blue waves crashing onto shipwreck beach. All of this is combined with the opulence of the Grand Hyatt. On our first visit in 2007, a German film company was filming a TV show about dream vacations. Our time at the Grand Hyatt Kauai has filled my wife and my dream vacation. We came with our firm and there were many repeat visitors in our group. The icing on the cake are the employees! Staff like Victor, who has been with Hyatt 30 years. He knew where to find the best loco moco and lau lau. Or Linda working so hard to provide a spotless room every day. Celeste helped get us a fantastic room late at night when our flight was cancelled. Words fail to describe the combination of Hawaiian beauty, a world class property and devoted first rate staff, you just can't go wrong! A stay at the Grand Hyatt Kauai is a bucket list event! While there, get directions to Puka Dogs (Hawaiian style hot dogs seen on the travel channel) and Joe's on the Green for some of the best Loco Moco you will find.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soonerservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed a second visit to Kauai! Mahalo for sharing your experience and the kind words about our staff. It is a pleasure to know that your dream vacation was even more memorable than before! We hope to welcome you back soon, until then safe travels and we send a fond Aloha!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Where do we start. The open air set up is amazing. It's the way Hawaii should be experienced. They were very quick to comp us something without even complaining. Our room was a little late for check in, so they gave us free spa use for the week. The room is clean and the maid service is very thorough and prompt. The grounds are phenomenal with tons of different environments to relax in. You want to stretch out in a hammock, sit by the pool, lay by the beach, float down a river, read on your own little island, or sit in a jacuzzi? All can be accomplished here. The food is amazing at all the restaurants and poolside doesn't disappoint. The only letdown was the food at te luau and te price of frozen drinks. Not one to shy away, but $14 for one frozen drink is pushing it. That's just the cost of a piña colada in paradise. Overall, it's an amazing experience and not one you should pass up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KonasMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We are happy you experienced some of the most relaxing things to do around the resort, such as lounging at the lagoon and floating through the pools. It's also great that you enjoyed the grounds and open-air layout of the resort, as you say it definitely embraces the essence of Hawaii. We hope you can join us again for another great getaway!

Warmest Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is beautiful although very big. My husband and I don't like crowds so sitting by the enormous pool was not an option for us. There are an abundant of chairs so you don't have a problem getting a spot, however they are all RIGHT next to each other and not really anywhere to move to get away from your neighbor. The activities desk rents EVERYTHING! We rented beach chairs and drove to the absolutely beautiful beach about a mile from the hotel. Later we found out that it is rated one of the top 5 beaches in the world. It was so quiet and unbelievably beautiful. It's actually the same beach as the hotel but with better sand and more space.
The room was clean and nice but nothing spectacular. The balconies are pretty small but large enough for a bistro table and chairs. We dined out there one night with room service. They put a tablecloth on the table and set it up so pretty for us. It was pretty romantic.
The grounds are gorgeous and there are benches and swings all over the property to make for a very romantic setting. It takes about two days just to figure out where everything is on the property but once you do, you will love it.
The restaurants are also very good. The only bad thing is the bar staff. They would rather talk than get you a drink. You have to ask for it, they're not going to come over to you.
The spa however is amazing!! I got a scrub and massage in the outdoor gardens. Oh my! I could have stayed there forever!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view make sure you are on a high floor. We were on the 4th and even tho it said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jensi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad that you had a great Kauai vacation and enjoyed the resort grounds, restaurants, and breathtaking Lokahi Garden at Anara Spa! A papaya scrub and massage is a perfect way to relax and rejuvenate after a day at Poipu Beach. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our family just came back from our second visit in two years to the phenomenal Grand Hyatt Kauai. We were fantastically lucky and were upgraded from an oceanview suite to the Presidential Suite--2700 square feet of pure luxury, including a full kitchen! The resort grounds are lushly tropical, and we were so impressed with how immaculate the facility is inside and out. We have found the service everywhere, from front desk to room service to housekeeping to cabana rental to be friendly and personable.

As everyone has mentioned, the hotel is huge, but even during high occupancy times, does not feel crowded. Be prepared to do a lot of walking unless you specifically request a room close to the lobby--we love walking around the beautiful grounds, so this is never a problem for us.

We had a delicious meal at Tidepools, although the kids' menu is a bit exotic--a kid-friendly option like fried shrimp or some kind of plain pasta (other than somen noodles in a sauce fit for a sophisticated palate) would be welcome! We did felt the room service menu was a bit lacking, especially for a hotel with such nice restaurants on premises.

I want to personally thank Brian, our photographer from Pacific Dream Photography, for taking gorgeous photos of our family, including our squirmy kids--we had a sunset session, and he did a great job. Thanks as well to Matthew, PDP branch manager, for making the photo review and selection as pain-free and efficient as possible.

We'll be sure to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uiopqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay with us, and are already thinking of returning for a third visit to Grand Hyatt Kauai! It is a pleasure to know that you and your Ohana enjoyed many aspects of the resort, including playing around the pools and dining at Tidepools, and that you also had Pacific Dream Photography capture some of these treasured moments. We can't wait to welcome you back soon, until then we send our fondest Aloha!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing