We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded My Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the momemt we arrived until the day we left our experience was wonderful. If you're looking for luxury then The Grand Hyatt is for you. It definitely met our expecations but of course being on of of the most beautiful islands does help. The concierge was wonderful, especially Julia Wu. She helped us with our daily excursions, activities and with our dinner reservations.
The Grand Hyatt is a large resort but it was very easy to get around. The grounds and pools are beyond gorgeous and we loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,346
    1,056
    315
    111
    62
See reviews for
1,667
2,835
63
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
521 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Total Paradise..the only place to say on Kauai!

This resort located in Poipu offers so many amenities but its location is perfect.

The beach the pool the sunsets the sunrises and the food are incredible.

This is a must stay place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My first trip to Kauai with 3 kids. This hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was eager to please. The pools were great and my kids spent at least 6 hours a day swimming in them. It was not busy which after being at the Grand Wailea twice was a nice change.

The downfalls - location-there is no where to walk to get food so you are kind of hostage to the hotel food which is very pricey. We did drive out for dinner but didn't want to venture out for breakfast or lunch. Also the beach was surprisingly rocky and had very big waves. We did not let our kids too far out. However after seeing other hotels that seems common. We drove to Poipu beach one day which was amazing. The rooms were average. I actually was not impressed with the rooms as my shower had mildew and there were stains on the furniture. However loved the Toto washlet toilets. We were barely in the room so it wasn't a big deal.
Kauai is beautiful. However, weather was unpredictable.
Hotel- a great experience for us. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 9 days and 8 nights.

First of all, up arrival you will not be disappointed with the open air grandeur. You will receive a lei along with a warm aloha by the door men. Nothing short of what you'd expect from being in Hawaii.

Check in went smoothly and a nice map was provided as the grounds are so vast that it's easy to get lost.

We were in room 4124 which over looked the adult pool and the Captain's bar. It had a King bed and was close to 2 stairwells and an elevator. Just below us were also the laundry facilities that were free. Not a lot of people were aware of this but the machines themselves were free to use and you only needed to pay $2 in quarters for soap. Be warned though, if you are not waiting by your clothes, others who are waiting for the machine will put your clothes into the dryer for you. This could be good or bad depending on if you have delicates.

Here's my break down of the good and bad of the resort.

Good:
Wait staff - always had a smile and were happy to help.
Door men - always had a smile and provided helpful information on things to do, etc.
Ambiance of resort - you never felt like you were going to be bored. So much to cover and places to relax.
Pools - there are so many pools and as an adult, having the private adult section was a welcome retreat when you had had enough of the kids and ruckus that come from water sports.
Room safe - the room safe was large enough to store a 15 inch laptop.
Free laundry services - just have to pay for the soap. $2 a box payable by quarters only.
Mini fridge - handy if you buy some food/drinks locally and want to keep it cool.
2 bottles of water/day - our mini fridge was restocked with 2 bottles of water/day.
Poipu Village Shopping - 1 mile away and we did this via taxi as well as by walking. Walking = 20 - 30 minutes. Taxi = $10 one way. We used Westside (door men called them and we were also provided a card to call for pick up on the way back)
Spa facilities - the facilities for the spa were very nice. Love the eucalyptus steam room and dry Finnish sauna. The lap pool was a nice touch for those who wanted to get some exercise in.



Bad:
Room noise - wasn't very pleasant when people walked by our door chatting loudly or slammed their doors. We found that we had a huge gap under our door which probably contributed to the issue.
Car rental at hotel - Avis is the company at the hotel and they easily charge an arm and a leg. When we were there, they were asking for almost $300 USD per day for a CMax which is a small hybrid Ford. Needless to say we passed and managed to find a car at the airport for a lot less.
No change machine in the laundry room - if you needed change you had to go all the way to the front desk or bar. Not very handy.
Spa - we had a couples massage and the private thatched huts. It was a pleasant experience with the open air experience however, I would honestly not do it again. It did not 'wow' me. The cost is per person, not per couple = close to $450 when it was all said and done.
Self parking - this can be a schlep so make sure you're always wearing comfortable shoes.

Tips:
-When having breakfast at Illima Terrace, ask for a to go cup for your coffee/beverage. Nice to have it in hand while strolling the grounds.
-Going hiking? When you're having breakfast buffet at Illima Terrace, ask for a to go cup and put some home made trail mix from their granola bar (dried fruits, mac nuts, granola, etc.).
-Book a car rental **way** in advance or else you will be subject to outrageous prices. You can always cancel if things don't work out rather than not having anything to book.
-Plantation restaurant. Try something off the resort. This small restaurant about a mile out by the Poipu Village Shopping area was charming and tucked away. A must try is their Lychee & Asian Pear martini. So smooooth!
-Want a relaxing excursion? We went horseback riding just literally next door to the resort at CJ Ranch. Had a great time and saw some amazing views. A friendly sheep dog named Boots accompanied us.
-Seaview Terrace is a good option for a quick small breakfast in the morning. Food like croissants, fruit plate and coffee are bountiful. Save your cup for a refill at half the cost.
-It will rain. It's just a matter of when and how often. Sometimes it was not uncommon to have 4 - 6 small rain bursts through the day. Bring a small umbrella if you please or cover up with a towel while lounging under an umbrella. Locals just suck it up and walk in it.

The daily resort fee could be a good or bad thing. Depending on if you have a car to park and if you use WiFi, then the charge would be justified. I can see how some might be annoyed with this.

There were quite a few kids at this resort and there is also a Children's Camp along with nannies for hire after hours.

Overall this was a pleasant experience. The resort is nice and sits on beautiful grounds. This is one place you'd have to stay at least once in your life. Would we come back? Yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sweetee Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A very nice resort with an open / airy feeling; elaborate swimming pools, several hot tubs, and a salt water lagoon. The beach felt somewhat secluded from the hotel, the surf was pretty rough. I saw only a few locals with gear getting in the water comfortably. The resort is located far from shopping centers and restaurants, so that you will be held hostage to its exclusive and pricey offerings. I would definitely visit again, but I would arrange for a car rental in advance since the local desk ran out of cars, and the last-minute prices were high.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our second holiday organised by My Holiday company. It was excellent. All three Hyatt Hotels were great but the oustanding one was at Kauai. The grounds and pool area were fantastic and very enjoyable. The standard of the room and amenities was good and service excellent. The setting is beautiful and next time we would like to spend more time at this great resort.

The Hyatt in Maui was good, rooms a bit dated, but okay. The Hyatt in Waikiki has a wonderful location and we enjoyed our stay there. Service etc very good. We did not like our first room there - next to the lift - when the lift went past it sounded like a freight train was in the room! We paid for an upgrade. I think the package should be increased and include a better room, but maybe not a big issue as you could update.

The whole package was excellent value and very well organised by My Holiday. The flights were terrific, the transfers to and from hotels very well organised and we really enjoyed everything. The bonus excursions were great too and we used Roberts for other trips and were always happy.

We thought the holiday certainly was good value and were very happy.

Room Tip: The Hyatt resorts on Kauai and Maui are very large and you need to get a room close to the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8843anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Business/ pleasure trip. ALL of staff friendly, from bellman to concierge to landscapers to shop workers to spa. The entire property is immense and jaw-dropping. We were there 6 days and didn't see the whole thing. Intricate details everywhere you look. Appreciate that after you check out, you can use game room facility to shower after beach, pre red-eye flight. Location is perfect. Nice sandy beach. Saw a protected monk seal. Stunning shore hike just east of beach. Pools went on and on, great for families. Highly recommend. Oh, and love the Toto washlet toilets!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing