We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family spent a week at the resort in July 2012. After spending a week at the Hyatt resort in Maui, we found this to be a much more laid back and relaxing atmosphere. The resort is very spread out, which we liked. It is not too far of a walk anywhere. We loved the walking paths along the beaches, the golf course and all around the tip of the property. We stayed in a suite and requested two rollaways for our teen boys so we didn't mess up the living space each day. Wow, the rollaway beds were full size, very comfortable, pillow-top beds. The boys loved them. My son and I played golf and loved the course. The scenery is spectacular. The concierge desk was very helpful and found us much better prices on some things that I was able to find myself. The Sunday brunch was excellent. And, finally the spa experience was the best. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4FunTravelers76234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,491
    1,083
    332
    114
    64
See reviews for
1,730
2,922
68
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Unfortunately, our trip to the Grand Hyatt during the week of Christmas was very disappointing. Everyone speaks so highly of this hotel, yet, we found it to be completely overrated, expensive, and unpleasant.

The 'Garden View' room we had was nothing more than a view of the parking lot with a morning wake up call of lawn mowers at 5:00 a.m. I will say, however, the complimentary condoms in our room next to the Bible were quite a touch. I didn't realize hotels were providing these in addition to bathrobes, which hadn't been replaced from the previous guests since they had dried toothpaste in the pockets.

The utility closet for the floor was located in our room, and I believe provided the bugs that were in our room halfway through our trip.

While the grounds are lovely, we were unable to use the adult-only features of the hotel because they were filled with children; the adult pool, filled with children, even at night; the bar, filled with unsupervised children fighting over the pool table, even after the specified 9:00 p.m. rule of no children in the bar.

The hotel-supplied literature touted guests receiving leis upon check in, which we didn't receive. When we approached the same front desk person who had checked us in two days prior and asked about the leis, he questioned the validity of our stay, and quizzed us on the room we were staying in and when we had checked in. While the leis are only a small example of the customer service, they speak volumes in regards to the attention to detail and customer service the hotel prides themselves in. More than anything the hotel staff seemed bothered by the hotel guests. The best part of our stay at this hotel was leaving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience.

We do regret to hear that your expectations were not exceeded after your stay, and extend our sincerest apology for any inconvenience. We can assure you that this is not a common experience and we take the matter very seriously. A private message has been sent to you to gain further details.

We again thank you for your feedback and invite you to join us again.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great property to stay when visiting Kauai, but I will start with a few things they could do better. Internet is slow (even for casual browsing and email retrieval), if you don't get a chair by the pool by 9 am do not plan on getting one (and the hotel could place a few more chairs in less desirable, but nearby locations to accommodate guests), and just be prepared that the property amenities you will purchase are very expensive.

...okay, all that said, I'd come back in a heartbeat to this property...I spent 7 nights here with the lady in my life and we loved the pool the beach the entertainment, the on property luau, and the view (get an ocean view room - it is worth it). The rooms were clean and beds comfortable; we slept with the slider screen each night to hear the ocean and never heard another guest. The concierge was very helpful...yes, go to that orientation meeting the first day of your stay they have some great suggestions that would have been missed had we skipped it...some were the highlight of our stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view and ask for floors 2 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for kind comments about our concierge team, it's great that you enjoyed some the activity and sightseeing suggestions they provided. As you know there is much to see and do on Kauai! We'd also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the internet and pool chairs, we appreciate your suggestions and will share this with our management team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in december 2012. This is a beautiful property. We had ants in our first room and Sophia promptly send a bellman (Rueben) over and moved us to another (nicer) room. We ate at Tidepools- food was very good but it is pricey, especially for cocktails. Dondero's was closed. The Chinese restaurant was fabulous but again pricey. They have an adult only pool and a nice fitness center. We went with no itinerary which was good. The concierge booked us at blue Hawaii helicopters, and we went to Boss Frog's for snorkleing gear and to book a kayak trip. We could have spent all 5 night at this beautiful resort and nearby poipu beach! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms near 6031/6032 offer a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! Our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you experienced with the first room, and we thank you for commending our staff for providing you with a quick resolution. Your kind comments will be shared with our team. Thank you for also sharing your great experience at the restaurants and with our concierge service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful and relaxing vacation at the Grand Hyatt. We've stayed in many resorts including the Ritz Carlton in Mauii but this was our favorite resort location by far. The grounds and pools can not be beat and the salt water lagoon is a great change of pace. I recommend purchase of a floatable chair to use in the pools and lagoon (they sell them for about $10.00). Also, make sure to have a romantic dinner @ Tidepools! We booked through Costco Tavel and our trip included breakfast every day which was excellent as well as rental car and overall the cost was very reasonable for the level of vacation.

Room Tip: I would recommend a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay! It is great to hear that you and your husband had a relaxing and romantic vacation. We too love spending time lounging in the salt water lagoon, and enjoying evening dinners at Tidepools! We hope to welcome you back soon for another Kauai escape!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The sheer enormity of this property is off-putting (people everywhere!), and it's terrifically expensive. That said, what a gorgeous resort! Hats off to the Hyatt folks: All their staff were consistently accommodating, polite, and very professional. Very impressed. Will return, for sure.

Room Tip: Join the Regency Club for nice extras. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acjo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were pleased with the Grand Club amenities! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff for their service and friendly Aloha spirit! Your kind comments will be shared among our team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our first time on Kauai and we couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay at. The pools, lazy river, and beach are wonderful.The kids enjoyed the water slide and the salt water lagoon. Pool service was fantastic. There was always someone around checking to see if you needed anything. Everything was very clean. The hotel was peaceful despite it being a very busy time of year. We had breakfast there and a lunch by the pool. Both were fine. We were looking for a particular type of muffin that they had for breakfast. The waitress went out of her way to locate one for us. After driving around the island on a few sight seeing adventures, we are sure we pickled the right hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taralshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for kind comments about our staff and the great service they provided. It is wonderful to hear that you and your Ohana (family) enjoyed your stay and the various swimming pools and waterslides throughout the resort! We hope your kids also had a chance to participate in the waterslide races as well. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing