We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This property has changed since we were there many years ago - for the better. We stayed on the top floor, in a "Grand Club King" room. The Grand Club lounge is located on the 3rd floor of the wing furthest away from the pool area. Staying in that wing is therefore quiet, but a long walk to the pools. It should be noted that that wing is actually unusual in that rooms on the third floor facing the ocean are actually on a ground level. You would have a small patio outside your sliding glass door and after that a lawn. That lawn extends for a short distance and then there is a drop off. Floors 1 and 2 are below. Therefore, in that wing there are two ground floors. If you would rather have a balcony, then avoid floors 1 and 3.
Concerning the price, I have to say that I was able to get a "special" rate and by prepaying it was "only" $409.00/night+ tax. The rack rate is over $650.00. The most annoying thing is that they add an additional mandatory "resort fee" on $25.00 + tax/night. I know that many hotels do this now, but I think it is nonsense. I would rather they were honest and say what the rate is and include the "resort benefits" as standard.
The resort fee allows access tot he fitness center; basic internet access [they actually have a "premium access" for file downloads, gaming and streaming video for an additional $7.50/24hrs.] self parking, 2 bottled waters, the coffee maker and the local newspaper.
As far as the Grand Club Lounge is concerned, it was worth it for us. Staff is very helpful. They have a limited continental breakfast, with one hot egg type dish, but it was sufficient for us. It also provided soft drinks and coffee during the day. In the evening, there are snacks and cocktails from 5pm to 7pm. There is a charge for beer, wine, and liquors, but it is at least half what is charged elsewhere on the property. Beer was $5, wine and cocktails were $6. There apparently is also desert later in the evening, but we never went back after dinner.
I would avoid rooms on the third floor next to the Club Lounge. The patio for those room are only separated by some plants from the Lounge patio. So those rooms have people outside your room, on the Club patio, for most of the day.
Our king room was large and elegantly decorated, with a very large bathroom with walk-in shower. There is a small in-room refrigerator, and an in-room safe large enough for two laptops. The grounds are impressively landscaped. There is an adult pool, and an activity type pool with water slide. The salt water pool has a sand beach. The golf course is basically right next door and the hotel provides a shuttle to the course and the course restaurant.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor near the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlyslightlyLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your recent review!

We are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us, and had an enjoyable time at our Grand Club lounge. Mahalo for recognizing the staff there, they appreciate your kind remarks. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Until then safe travels and Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,576
    1,101
    336
    116
    64
See reviews for
1,785
2,963
69
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful property and rooms. The pools are so numerous and spread out you can always find privacy....and the "lagoon" is so much fun. The staff is genuinely helpful and friendly. I cannot find anything I did not love about this resort. It is expensive but you will get your money's worth.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HBTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review!

Thank you for being our guest, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. The lagoon is one of the best places to relax or play, and we're glad you thought so as well. Mahalo for also recognizing our amazing staff, we truly appreciate your kind words and will share them with our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I went to Hawaii for the first time to celebrate her birthday. We chose Kauai for its natural beauty and a chance to relax in a beautiful setting. The Grand Hyatt was perfect. At check-in we were greeted with fresh flower leis. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the pools and beach. We loved the salt water lagoon. The Dondero resaurant had wonderful food. The veal osso bucco and scallops wrapped in prosciutto were delicious. Service was exceptional. Be prepared for high prices but a five star "Leading Hotel of the World" doesn't come cheap. This resort is a perfect place for couples to be pampered. Leave the kids at home.

Room Tip: Book a room in the shipwreck wing, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyedocNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Aloha EyeDocNewJersey,

Thank you for your recent review of the Grand Hyatt Kauai! We're glad to hear that your wife had a wonderful birthday here with us, a great occasion to celebrate on your first trip to Hawaii! Mahalo for commending our service and delicious entrees at Dondero's, we will be sure to pass along your comments to their team.

We hope to see you again soon, until then safe travels and A Hui Hou!

Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was somewhat of a mixed stay so I think I’m going to go with a “plus and minus” format…

Plus
The property is beautiful and sprawling. I liked getting a little bit of a walk in when going from place to place.
Our room was a lovely, comfortable club room. Spacious, clean, nicely appointed, quiet and had a great view of the ocean from our lanai.
The concierge we dealt with almost exclusively (Mike) provided excellent service and really seemed to care about our experience.
Enjoyable dinner at Tidepools.
Managers were quick to make problems “right” (but would be better to avoid problems in the first place).
I loved the saltwater lagoon. Since you can’t really use the ocean, it was nice to have a little beachy spot right there.
Showers in the spa were amazing – I would have taken all of my showers down there if I’d discovered them sooner!

Minus
A 600 person conference was taking place at the hotel, which put it at nearly 100% capacity.
The conference reserved the lagoon for a private event so it was closed one day.
The pools were beyond packed and chairs were all occupied. It was a total zoo and not the relaxing environment I was expecting.
Various service issues – overcooked burger, slow to arrive drinks at Stevenson's, cold edamame, and, the worst, a salad that came to our cabana without dressing that then took 40 minutes to correct. As I said, every time we had a food/service complaint, they were quick to offer something to make it right (burger comped, drinks with the edamame comped, cabana & lunch comped plus a dinner credit, but I’d honestly rather just pay full price than get these things for free. It’s not worth the annoyance!)

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we would likely return, but hopefully when it’s not at full capacity. A group of that size puts a strain on the staff so all of the guests suffer as a result.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fleurdelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your recent review!

We are delighted that you chose to stay here with us, and enjoyed your Club level room. The spa is a great added bonus to the Club level, and as you said the open air lava showers are quite amazing! Thank you for also recognizing Mike at the concierge, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to his team!

We'd like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. However, we are grateful for the feedback you provided and the opportunity it provides to us to improve our service and experience for our future guests. Your comments regarding service will be shared with our team and we will continue to ensure that the Aloha spirit is shared with all of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back once again, thank you for being our guest!

Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I took our Son's family with us to Kauai, we had been here a year ago and had a great time. The resort was beautiful, only thing bad a company was having a week long retreat and overwhelmed the pool area, as there are 5 of us, they had reserved all the lounges but a few pairs, this also slowed down drink and foodservice poolside. Everything else was great from Dining in the evening, Camp Hyatt, and location. The rooms are beautiful with stunning views.

Room Tip: we had room 6023, Grand Club, great to get to club as directly below 3 floors, but away from lobby s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb2real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for joining us once again, and for bringing your family along as well! We love to have our guests return and share the Hawaiian experience with their Ohana. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of the resort, such as the view, location, and Camp Hyatt! Thank you for your feedback regarding the pool area, we will share your comments with our management team.

Mahalo for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!

Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a great, well-run property - the Hyatt resort recipie works perfectly.
The rooms are large, it has lovely pools (and a waterslide for the adventurous), the staff are great and the whole place is well kept and under control.

On the donwside it doesn't have a lot to do after lights-out at 9.00PM and its not a beach resort insomuch as you take your life in your hands going in to the ocean at ship-wreck beach (the name gives it away). It also sits at the far end of Poipu so all the restaurants are always a drive away - everything is a drive except for the golf course and tennis.

We liked our level three room on the pools side of the complex (and it is a complex) as you can walk out on to the grass and the pools.

The service was great - check-out was terrific, just because they asked if I had a good time and you know I think they meant it. The Bell-man spent time with us when we arrived, but maybe the $5 tip, helped.

I am just not sure where this place goes from here - clearly succesful (and if it isn't it should be at these prices) - it does lack a little personal character and an individual identity - the Italian (in Hawaii) restaurant was part of the Hyatt recipie, but something purely fish driven (A sushi bar paerhaps) would give it a twist on the recipie - and you could have been in Transylvannia (well except for the palm trees and perfect weather and well a few other things) to be honest.

It did seem a shame not to use the darkness as a backdrop for an evening event - even if they showed South Pacific - to pull people together before bed. It would be great enjoying a film or a show while sitting on the pool chairs.

Thoroughly enjoyable though - well run and pricey - but worth it. Stay her and you won't be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Try the third level pool side rooms - easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uniquepartofparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Aloha Uniquepartofparadise,

Mahalo for your recent review of our resort, and thank you for commending our staff as that is what we strive for each day! It's wonderful to know you had a great stay here with us, and fully enjoyed the pools and lagoons. We'd like to also thank you for your feedback regarding adding late night activities, it will certainly be discussed among our management team. We hope to welcome you back soon, until then safe travels and A Hui Hou!

Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voohees, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a great time here! We traveled with my mom and our 11 year old son and all were very happy with this hotel and resort. The pools were incredible. My son, of course, loved the slide, but we all enjoyed it. The salt water lagoon was great...the only thing that could make it better is if there were fish in there to see while snorkeling.

The breakfasts were awesome! Our server made us special passion drink which was a mix of guava, passion, and orange (we think) that we tried each day to replicate which was a lot of fun. Omelettes were great! Dinner at the sunveiw terrace was great.

We loved the parrots and other birds in the lobby and we REALLY loved the koi and fed them each morning with squeals of delight. The other birds...white and black swans and cool white-beaked birds at the entry way were fun!

Although a lot of resorts really nickel and dime you, we found this resort very reasonable. It was a shame to have to pay for innertubes but they weren't super expensive. And other prices were quite reasonable when other high end resorts would have charged more.

We would stay here again without any hesitation!

Room Tip: We had a pool view, but I don't think the non-view rooms would have been as awful as our travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcarr262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Aloha mcarr262,

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you loved your time spent here with us, it's our pleasure to have you as our guest and part of our Ohana (family). Your son seems to have had a wonderful time with the wildlife around the resort, the Koi fish and birds are quite entertaining. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo and Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing