We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has everything for an unforgettable Hawaiian holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It has everything for an unforgettable Hawaiian holiday”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent four nights at the Grand Hyatt Kauai as part of our honeymoon in August 2012.

It is one of the most beautiful resorts we had ever been to. Imagine yourself arriving in a open lobby facing the ocean, with birds and flowers (in the lobby itself!).

What we appreciated the most :
- the very special treatment we had as honeymooners, including an upgrade to a wonderful room facing the lagoon and the ocean, the complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, and the discounts for some of the hotel's restaurants
- the most fantastic lagoon and system of connecting pools we have ever seen
- the comfortable room (no noise, great bed, high quality bathroom amenities)
- the complimentary yoga classes and other activities at the spa / gym or elsewhere
- a very attentive service overall
- the ability to rent a car at the Avis stand in the hotel lobby
- the possibility of having breakfast late in the morning, unlike in any other Hawaiian hotel

The areas for improvement are :
- more personnel during peak checking in time (we had to wait 10 minutes)
- better control of the beach chairs (we had to walk around a lot to find two available beach chairs next to each other, as many people live their used towel on beds they do not use anymore)
- the restaurants inside the resort are expensive and it is difficult to access other restaurants within the Poipu area without a car
- there should be a shuttle service between Lihui airport and the resort (or resorts in Poipu), as not everybody wishes to rent a car

Overall, it was a very positive experience and we recommend it to any fellow travelers (families and couples).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A and G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Aloha A and G M,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay here at the resort. And congratulations on your recent honeymoon, we're delighted to hear you experienced much of what the hotel offers, including the honeymoon amenities. We'd like to also thank you for your recommendations for areas of opportunities, these items have been addressed with the appropriate managers. We hope to see you again, until then safe travels and A Hui Hou!

Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,506
    1,086
    332
    114
    64
See reviews for
1,740
2,929
68
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dos Vientos Ranch,
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Each year when we return to KAUAI we check out the new hotels, upo grades and condos. We always seem to end up at the Hyatt. the staff is wonderful. nWe are not world travelers but we do travel at least once or twice a year. And we know service and value. You will be met at the entrance by Mayette, Victor, Irwin, George and many others. The next day they will all remember your names and greet you with such. The ;pool is the best you may ever see, the food is top shelf, the views arte some of the best on the island. Remember, south side of the island always sunny, north side take your chances. But the northside is lush and beautiful. We were excited to check out the new St. Regis in princeville. Very nice, but not the WARM FUZZY FEELING of Island luxury, more New Yorkish.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early, and dont forget kieep your eyes out for the specials. If they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your kind feedback about the resort and your interactions with our staff. It is always our pleasure to ensure each guest has a memorable stay and feels like they have become a part of our Ohana (family). Thank you for also taking the time to recognize a few by name, we will be sure to share your warm comments with them and their respective managers.

Mahalo again for being our guest, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Aloha and A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent four nights here with my new husband on our honeymoon. I don't even know where to begin. I stayed here back in March 2008 with family and knew ever since that my honeymoon would be spent here someday. This is the perfect destination for honeymooning couples. Pool area is incredible. I have never seen a pool area so beautiful in my life. Plenty of chairs for everyone, and they were padded chairs too! Extremely comfortable. Lobby and terrace views are spectacular, and I love the parrots in the lobby. All of the staff is very friendly. There are really not too many families with young kids like a lot of other resorts in Hawaii, so you wont be overrun by kids at the pool. Lots of honeymooning couples and older adults. Tidepools restaurant is fantastic. You must eat here if you stay here. We ate here twice. We had room 4001.. all the way at the end of the hall (quite a hike). Do you hear me complaining? Heck no. Our view was incredible. Waking up to the peaceful ocean every morning and not hearing the noise of other people was worth that walk. The rooms are very nice, but the bathrooms are what make the rooms. The shower is large and walk-in. There are double sinks with a large changing area and a separate toilet room. Very luxurious. If I had to find one thing I didn't like about the room it would be that the pillows fall flat fast and are not my favorite, but I generally find this true of most Hyatts. However I am picky with pillows so it is such a minor detail. I suppose another downside (not for me but could be for others) is that the immediate beachfront at the hotel is a little rocky and not ideal for "beaching" if you catch my drift. But I was completely fine with the pools. This is the perfect place to spend a honeymoon or vacation with adult family members. Just be prepared to pay the price. This is an expensive resort and the food and drinks and amenities are expensive. If I could recommend one thing to definitely do, go to the luau. Considering it is all you can eat and drink (includes alcohol), you actually get your money's worth and more in food and drink alone. Plus the experience and the show is really fun! We also got a spa treatment and while the spa facilities are wonderful and you can use them all day the day of your treatment, I probably wouldn't do it again because of the astronomical price of the service. However it was our honeymoon, so we don't regret a thing! I can't wait to come back here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha and congratulations on your recent nuptials! We're honored you chose to spend your honeymoon here with us, and delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay!

Mahalo for your kind words about your time at the resort. It's great that you experienced much of what the resort has to offer, relaxing at the pool and spa are definitely top things to do during your stay! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Mahalo and Aloha,
Kaila
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated with well thought out for guest convenience.
The restaurants are terrific and all of the hotel staff genuinely friendly and skilled at there tasks.Will certainly return in the future.
Lots to do in the area and no feeling of crowds anywhere.

Room Tip: Tell them your wishes and they will work to satisfy you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qualityoverload60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us qualityoverload60. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here and absolutely LOVED it. We are very much doers rather than sit-and-relaxers, but I'm pretty sure we could have easily spent a week just lying poolside at the Grand Hyatt. Everything is so beautiful and everybody we spoke to was beyond nice and helpful. We can't wait to go back. Also, if you go mid-September, you'll likely experience a resort that is not very full and has very few kids, as we did. This was ideal given our occasion. We scored the two nights here for free by applying for the Hyatt credit card from Chase. This also gave us platinum status, which gives you access to the spa for free without booking treatments. Do not hesitate to sign up for this card and book your room in paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlienc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We're honored you chose to spend the first 2 nights of your honeymoon with us. Romance certainly abounds at the resort. For the ultimate bliss, be sure to experience a treatment at Anara Spa on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Grand hyatt on my honeymoon with my husband we enjoyed every minute of it. Everyone was very nice from the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out. This place is the ideal honeymoon for any couple especially around this time of the year because there's not that many kids. Even though we love kids, but who wants to spend there honeymoon with kids all over the place. It was beautiful all around we had a partial ocean view room which was gorgeous waking up every morning to the view of the whole resort where the pools were and the lagoon was priceless. This place is like paradise and I think if you're on your honeymoon and want to stay somewhere where its peaceful and relaxing and have that one on one time this is definitely the place. Everything closes early except stevenson's library and Llima terrace but still they close around 11pm, that was fine with me because we were on our honeymoon and just looking for some QT with each other not clubing or dancing if you want that then go to honolulu thats more city like and we're from the city so we get enough of that. Hawaii is expensive no matter where you go so just bring enough cash, credit card and you'll be fine. We went kind of on a budget but still had fun did the luau which was like 200.00 for the both of us and went on Captain Andys sunset cruise which by the way I recommend doing that was also 200.00. Drinks are about 14.00 beer 9.00 so it's not that bad. We shared alot of meals because they serve a pretty good portion enough for two, so just be smart on food we didn't have a rental to go into town so we just ate everyday at the hotel which wasn't bad the food is delicious all around. If you're looking for nice cheap places to eat at the hotel go to bay golf course there breakfast and dinner is cheap and delicious you can share it, seaview terrace is also cheap, the dock is good, everything else could be a little pricey like llima terrace had a breakfast buffet almost 70.00 for two that's alot just for breakfast but we tried it once it wasn't bad unless you have breakfast included with your stay which I highly reccomend I would definitely do that for my next trip. But overall this place is gorgeous you don't even have to leave your resort its beautiful. One last thing if you're in the pool are rent a cabana they're nice and for first time honeymooners they give you one for free only for the first rental which was nice. I HOPE YOU ENJOY YOUR STAY I CAN HONESTLY SAY I FOUND NOTHING AT ALL WRONG WITH THIS PLACE AND I AM PICKY AS HELL. P.S THERE IS ONETHING JUST REMEMBER THAT IT IS HAWAII AND THESE EMPLOYEES DON'T GET PAID AS GOOD AS YOU THINK SO EVEN IF ITS A $5.00 TIP PLEASE TIP THEM THAT'S HOW THEY MAKE THERE MONEY =)

Room Tip: Floor 5 room 5137 perfect view of the whole resort poolside and partial ocean view couldn't ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Mahalo for your kind words, Kenya C. To have pleased someone who's "picky as hell" is a real testament! We hope to see you again someday. (And I'm sure every tipped employee in Hawaii thanks you for your final note) Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Our first stay at a Hyatt property in a decade, and it was great. Being late September, it was not that busy, which helped, because in high season it could be quite hectic. We really enjoyed the beautiful grounds & saltwater lagoons with their own beach. The ocean was treacherous due to rocks and 5-7 foot surf. There is a sandy section where you can body surf or belly board, but only experts need apply. The dining was great. We had a ocean view suite on the west end that was superb in all aspects. That end is closest to the ocean but furthest from the lobby. Definitely the place to be when it's busy if you are into long walks. Free parking was a nice amenity. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Don't miss the swan feeding the koi in the lagoon next to Tidepools.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha Crikel, glad to hear of your return to Hyatt. Hope you enjoyed your stay so much that you'll visit other Hyatt hotels as well as us in the future. There are some nice hotels to choose from. I am looking forward to visiting the Hyatt in Santa Barbara next week for the first time. I too love how the swan shares its food with the koi fish. It's always nice to share good food with friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing