We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Service was over the top. We usually stay in a condo so this was extravagant but well worth it! I was surprised there were so many kids but there is an adult pool-nice! Beach isn't the best for swimming/snorkeling but the lagoon is lots of fun. Restaurants are outstanding and pricey. A definite treat!

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial ov is the way to go! Service was over the top. We usually stay in a condo so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzilou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're delighted to have had you join us here on your recent trip to Kauai. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the Adult pool, the lagoon and your dining experiences here on property.

We look forward to having you join us and treating you to another wonderful visit.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,033 - 5,039 of 6,775 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here on hyatt points and were delighted. The room with ocean and garden view was lovely and conveniently located to the Grand Club, where we were able to satisfy ourselves on the delicious breakfast, cocktail with appetizers as well as desserts. A well appointed bar at significantly less cost than the upstairs bars was a nice compliment. The trail along the bluff was a lovely morning walk that ended, if one wanted, at Poipu Beach. If you want to body surf, Poipu Beach is great. The beach in front of the hyatt is for strolling, not swimming. Best of all was meeting other guests in the Grand Club who shared experiences and suggestions for things to do. The concierges were extremely helpful in booking day excursions. The highlight of our trip was a helicopter tour in a 4 passenger helicopter without doors! Even when it was rainy on other parts of the island, the sun always shined over the Hyatt! Since we took the red eye return, we used the Hyatt facilities all day. Then the Hyatt provided shower facilities before our departure. We had much needed pampering during our Hyatt stay.

Room Tip: If you are allowed to use Grand Club, ask for a room close by. Swimming pools are furthest away thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scimommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

A doors off helicopter is one of the bravest ways to see the island! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed that experience and also enjoyed your stay here with us.

Many thanks for all the kind words you shared about our Grand Club team, concierge and your overall experience. We look forward to having you join us again and pampering you once more.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've never stayed at a hotel where the everyone you come across is so eager to meet your every need. It was luxurious, beautiful, and everyone is utterly responsive. We were there for our honeymoon, and the champagne in your room, complimentary beach/pool cabana, various coupons were great perks. The hotel is big and the property is expansive, but it's not like the Hilton Waikoloa on the Big Island where it takes you 15 minutes to walk anywhere. The spa is beautiful and the outdoor showers there are to die for! I can't find a single thing to criticize. Perfect!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a club level room! Having access to the free complimentary breakfast, mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saffie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're honored to have had you join us for your honeymoon, and we're thrilled that you had such a memorable experience. We take pride in exceeding our guest's expectations and couldn't be happier to hear that we were able to do just that for you on this special trip.

We look forward to having you join us again and helping you celebrate many more momentous occasions.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I visited the Grand Hyatt Kauai as part of a company sponsored trip. The hotel grounds are amazing. We loved spending time by and in the pool and strolling along the gardens. Even though we were there with a group of 700, and there were many other gusts, the hotel never felt crowded - there was always an intimate feel in the rooms and restaurants, and always space by the pool. The staff was attentive and the food and beverages were excellent. My only complaint, if forced to provide one, would be that there were no fans in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the parking lot and tennis court - still beautifully landscaped and probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're delighted to have hosted your company event and are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We couldn't be happier to hear that your stay with us felt intimate and private. We look forward to welcoming you back for more fun days at the pool and strolls around the grounds.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have been to Maui and Kauai was a totally different experience. We thought Maui was great- but this IS paradise.
The Grand Hyatt is exactly what you would expect. Open air lobby with an ocean views. The rooms are standard Hyatt issue but luxurious. Restaurants on site are Fabulous. We barely left the property it was so huge! Did the ocean view massage in the spa and it was perfect.
The island offers Amazing hikes and activities. We rented Harley's one day and rode to the top of Waimea Canyon- a must see.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcharbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and for coming to visit us here on the Garden Isle. Kauai is really unlike any other island, and we're thrilled that you had the chance to experience the island with us. We love that you enjoyed the resort so much, and we'll look forward to having you enjoy more and helping you to explore the island on your next visit.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt was by far my best experience ever at a resort hotel. Located next to Poipu Beach near (but not in sight of) the other south shore Kauai resorts, the Hyatt boasts scenic shoreline and the diving cliff at Shipwreck Beach, along with a man-made river and lagoon on site. It's ideal for families, couples, and partyers alike.

We had a beachfront room with lovely views, and there simply is nothing in the world – NOTHING – like opening the sliding glass door to one’s room and going to bed and waking up to the sound of the waves crashing outside. We’ll never forget that experience. Likewise, we capped every evening and began every morning sitting on the balcony having a drink or coffee while thoroughly enjoying the sight and wound of the waves and the gentle Hawaiian breeze.

Also memorable, every single employee of the Grand Hyatt, from housekeepers to bartenders, from front desk staff to groundskeepers, unfailingly greet guests with a sincere smile and a hello or aloha, and often they ask how you’re enjoying your stay. Their genuine warmth and pleasant greetings made our stay that much sweeter. I’ve stayed at several of Hyatt’s competitors – Westin and Sheraton come to mind – where you’re lucky if a single employee smiles and greets you warmly. The Hyatt is utterly spotless, and the attention to detail is simply unrivaled in my experience.

There are many dining options at the hotel, all predictably expensive. We bypassed the more popular and even more pricey Donderos and Tidepools, not wishing to take out a second mortgage to pay to eat there, instead having a meal at each of the Ilima Terrace and Poipu Bay Clubhouse on site. Both provided very good food, even if both were quite overpriced. Twenty bucks for an omelette and a five-spot for coffee? Out of sheer hunger and with few other options very late one night we ordered a $17 room service pizza and were presented with what had to have been a cheap frozen pizza. Do what you must to not need room service.

Overall, a truly wonderful experience and a recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room, ideally on the third floor or higher, and enjoy the sight and sound of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're delighted to have had you join us on your recent visit to Kauai, and we're happy to hear that you had an exceptional stay. Your kind words about our team and the service you received is greatly appreciated and our General Manager has shared your comments with everyone here at the resort.

We look forward to having you join us again for another great stay and welcoming you back with Aloha.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

As large as the Grand Hyatt is, not only is it beautiful and in a fabulous location on the Hawaiian Island of Kauai, but the staff and ammenities are wonderful. From start to finish our stay with this hotel was fantastic. There's no need to leave the property because there are restaurants,golf course, shops of various price ranges, and relaxation by one of the many pools and lagoons. The conceirge was very capable in helping us make the arrangements for our zip line excursion, sunset dinner sail, luaui, helicopter tour, and flying to Honolulu to swim with the dolphins at Sea Life Park. It was a dream come true anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Each of the three lovely rooms we had were located on the fifth floor facing the ocean and had their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,446 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $517 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing