We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kuhio Shores Oceanfront condo #304”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kuhio Shores Oceanfront condo #304”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

This condo is perched right on the ocean. Sound of waves can be heard throughout this 3rd floor unit. Balcony over ocean is perfect area to relax and enjoy the fabulous view. Outstanding snorkeling right in the bay below, including lots of fish and sea turtles. This spacious condo is clean, modern, and incl TV/DVD player, WIFI, snorkeling and beach equipment, and pull-out queen sleeper sofa. Unbelievable value for location- convenient to shops, restaurants, and other nearby beaches in Poipu Beach area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    59
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
316
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband & I just returned from Kauai and Kuhio Shores (unit 213) was a dream. I had high expectations after seeing all of the wonderful reviews of this unit on Trip Advisor, however, when I walked in I just kept saying "this is amazing, this is beautiful" as I wandered around taking everything in.

This unit is beautifully appointed and so easy to settle into. A wonderful ocean retreat. The surf was loud but lulled us to sleep each night in the very comfortable large bed.

We loved waking up early and taking in the sunrise, it's such a tropical location and very comfortable to sit on the lanai, relaxing with our coffee. We saw many turtles right in front of the unit in the rocks, watched some surfers, snorklers, boats and saw a few whale blows in the distance. Fabulous. We even were back in the unit in time to see some sunsets as well, you get the best of both in this spot!

The unit has absolutely everything you need. We used the ice chest, made ice each day and put it in a container in the freezer so we always had ice. We stored the beach chairs and umbrella in the car so we always had it handy. They even have extra beach towels, but we used our own. We bought sandwich makings and bagels for breakfast and picnics but ate out each night, there are so many great restaraunts, and there's a list in the unit as well.

The only issue we had was the ceiling fan in the bedroom had a squeek so we didn't use it. I think it rubs in one spot. I read an earlier review that another guest bought a stand up fan and left it there, which we used quite often. Very nice.

The Beach House restaurant next door was wonderful as well. And just behind that, on the street side, is a Boss Frog's rental place for snorkle gear at very reasonable rental prices, and you can rent a digital camera in a waterproof case, only $60 for the week and they burn a disk for you. It takes video as well as over 800 photos. Great for snorkling and any water pictures you take.

Everything else was great. We really enjoyed our stay and it was very hard to leave. When we come back we'll probably stay here again, it's a wonderful home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmkeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

My husband and I had the opportunity to vacation in Kauai, Hawaii. We stayed in Kuhio Shores, Unit # 304 and the condo was absolutely amazing. It had everything that we needed plus. It was clean and was next to a cove in the ocean. We feel asleep and woke to the sound of the ocean waves and the sunsets and rises were tremendous. It was incredible. If ever given the opportunity again, we will go back and hopefully stay much longer.

Thank you Chris and Pat!

Sincerely,

Jay and Kathy Webber
Parker, Colorado

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

This unit is at the corner and has wonderful view (PK bay on one side and the ocean on the other). When you are stuck in the unit (like waiting on your teenage kids to get ready), you can be watching for turtles, snorklers, and surfers or just the beautiful waves or just enjoying steady breeze on the lanai. We saw 2-3 rainbows from the unit during our stay, and we also saw a seal sunning itself on the sun by the condo lawn. We snorkeled next to the condo...lots of turtles closer than we would ever imagine! We hiked the nearby Mahaulepu Beaches. Anyway, this was the last leg of our 3 week vacation so eating out was getting tiring, and this unit had everything to cook with (common grills available - they looked clean so we didn't mind cooking our food on them). The unit is a one bedroom with a comfy king size bed. The queen sleeper in the livingroom was comfortable enough for our 2 kids. The unit was spacious enough for the 4 of us (yes, 1 bathroom was not fun with 2 teenagers who are used to having their own bathroom but it was manageable). This condo is in a great central spot to see all of Kauai! It was a quick drive to the west for Napali boat tour, Kokee, and Waimea Canyon and to the east side for coastal bike ride, snorkeling, waterfall jumping, and pretty beaches. Going to north shore for hiking and pretty beaches was a little far ... about 1 1/2 hr drive each way ... but it was worthwhile because staying at Kuhio Shores #309 was so wonderful. We watched the sunset from the condo lawn a couple of evenings as we enjoyed our drinks....beautiful! The McCartins keeps their unit so tidy and clean and have their rental system down so it was easy getting the key from/to them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonTravelFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Rented from Mike and Sue Galvin again. What excellent hosts and what a special place. Walking thru the front door and seeing and hearing the ocean so close was just paradise. Being able to sleep to the sound of the waves was so peaceful. There is everything you need for a vacation there as far as chairs, towels and coolers are concerned. Very comfey bed and lots of closet and drawer space. Like the fully equipped kitchen with full sized appliances, including dish washer. Breakfast on the lanai with turtles and surfers is a great start to the day. Watching the sunset from the lanai with a special person and watching the moon and stars from the lanai with a nightcap makes for great memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shantybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

You can't get any closer to the ocean than this condo. With a unit on the third floor we had a great view of the Sea Turtles feeding just off the shore. Kuhio Shores is well located. There's a good snorkel beach within walking distance and a wonderful restaurant. There's also a new shopping center very close with some very nice restaurants.

Unit 314 is spacious and very well appointed. The bedrooms get a very nice breeze, which was great for sleeping. The unit and the entire building was clean and well maintained. The owner was quick to respond when I sent in the request for dates and gave us a good rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoRail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

All in all a nice condo in a great location with a couple of things we thought you should know. The unit is on the third floor with a lovely view of the small cove below. We loved watching four green sea turtles as they grazed on the plants on the rocks below. It is beautifully furnished by a decorator. My question to said decorator is," the furniture is nice to look at, but did you actually SIT in any of it before you put it in the condo?" The only comfortable piece was the sofa. As readers, we could find no good place to read. There was a wide screen TV, DVD player, free WIFI so couldn't there be a comfortable chair with good lighting? If you are a sunset person you would be better off picking a unit on the front of the building or going, as we did, to the lawn in front of the Beach House restaurant next door. You do get lovely sunrises every day from this east facing condo. One caviat...since this unit is at the turning of the L shaped building, the entry is in an enclosed area of the mostly open walkway. Three doors open to this 10 feet of echo-y hall and your bedroom windows are right there. If your neighbors are noisy, they are right there for you to hear and for them to look in if you leave the windows open. Not having the windows open means no cross breeze which is why the owners have supplied an extra fan in the tiny bedroom. Also, there is a bright light just outside the window, which the bamboo blinds only mostly block out. If you are bothered by light at night, this would be a problem. The kitchen is well appointed with GE Profile appliances but the cookware is a bit in need of replacement (non-stick pans are really scratched, for instance). You must register your car with security but it took us the better part of a day to find someone with whom to get a pass. When we did, he was very laid back about giving the passes out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Property: Kuhio Shores Condos
Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing