We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed in Kuhio Shores #119 in June with five of our family, it was perfect for us, we loved being ground floor, where we could walk right out on the perfect lawn to relax in the sun or snorkel at the small beach right next to the complex, see the sunset without even leaving the condo! There were surfers and turtles to watch every day, and we had some very calm water the last few days, could snorkel right on reef in front of the condo and swim with the sea turtles. It's a short drive to Poipu Beach (with great snorkeling also, and got to see a monk seal) or the Sheraton Beach for a surf lesson. We have rented on Maui and Oahu where there was a long walking beach in front, but we honestly didn't miss that at all. There are so many great beaches to go to, like Tunnels and Ke'e on the north shore, and many others, that we spent much time exploring other places. Holo Holo Charters sunset Na Pali cruise out of Port Allen was the highlight of our trip, and exploring Waimea Canyon.
Everything in the condo is beautiful, we slept great without air conditioning because of trade winds. We needed an air bed for our son in the living room, and the caretaker was there with it within few minutes of our call! A chair on the lanai broke while we were there and the owners ( who happened to be on island) brought four new chairs within a few hours. Everything about it was wonderful, would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clbbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Kuhio Shores Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 477 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

Ok, better than our home, because we are not located 30 feet away from soothing waves and swimming sea turtles. Much has been written about all of the condos at Kuhio Shores. Though all are independently owned, they all seem to inspire rave reviews from their guests. I am no exception, and would like to add that 205 is definitely a place I would return to. Comfortably furnished, ideally located, superbly equipped for cooking and relaxing, with just about every extra amenity you could imagine, including a boogie board, beach chairs and towels, beach umbrella, snorkeling gear in all sizes and more. Communication with the manager was prompt, professional and friendly. We even received our deposit back within a week of our departure. You will not be disappointed with a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karylj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This condo was awesome!!
It had plenty of room for my wife and I. Everything is
furnished and the view is great! It is centrally located
in the south shore and just a stone’s throw away from
beautiful beaches. It's about 40 minutes to the Waimea
Canyon road to go up and see it. You can see turtles
swimming right out in front of the condo. Great snorkeling
right out in front of the condo. People were friendly and
laid back. This was very relaxing which is what we wanted.
I definitely would recommend this condo!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauaiorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed in condo 216 while visiting Kauai for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was a terrific place to stay right on the ocean with one of the best places for dinner next door. The condo had everything we needed and it made for a special trip. We were impressed with the entire complex but 216 was great for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We had another wonderful stay at the Kuhio Shores condos this month. Stayed in unit #216. Poipu is sunny and has easy access to a variety of activities and good restaurants. Koloa town is a very short hop away from Poipu and has shopping, a takeout fish market and even a good wine store. We made a day trip to the north shore, as we usually do. Beautiful and lush as always.

In Poipu, the Kuhio Shores location simply cannot be beat. There is some of the best snorkeling around right next to the condo. Saw turtles swimming every day and a dolphin sighting from our lanai. In the evenings, the surfers put of a magnificent show and it is my favorite thing to do --- sip wine, watch the sunset and all the surfer action on the ocean right from the condo.

The #216 condo is beautifully located in the complex and has all the amenities you'd want and very reasonable for what it offers. The owner is great to deal with, this is our second stay in this particular condo and fourth stay at the complex. After visiting Kauai several times and staying in different locations, I cannot imagine choosing to stay anywhere else.

Security always on the site. Nice barbecue area on site. The owners of this building take pride in their building and keep it up. Laundry on each floor if you need it. By leaving balcony door open and the bedroom window open, a wonderful breeze kept us cool day and night.

Kauai is my favorite island. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live4thesights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We had a great stay, facing the sea, surfers and turttles. The owners are very nice people, taking care for everything to be the best it can be. It was very easy to live in this condo, as if you were home.
We'd love to be back there as soon as possible !!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahine077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We have stayed at #301 in the Kuhio Shores complex for several years now, and have enjoyed our time there, and consider it our home away from home.
Although near the road, this condo is actually quite sheltered by palm and other trees. In fact; beside the incredible views, the only sounds are the ones of waves.
The condo itself has been updated with a new bathroom, doors,and a 32 in. flatscreen in the living area. The kitchen contains everything to prepare a quiet meal at home. While the dining area is decorated with a large original painting of Koi.
On the spacious lanai is a chaise lounge for relaxing with a book or having an afternoon snooze. The lanai also has a table and chairs for enjoying your morning coffee, or a romantic evening meal while watching for sea turtles and whales.
The 3 story complex itself is easy to get around, with elevators, and is very quiet.
Nearby are two beaches for swimming or snorkeling, Within a short drive are grocery stores, as well as a variety of restaurants.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank Scrumpy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $175 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing