We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuhio Shores #303-Great value for price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 21 days this past December in Unit 303 and had a fantastic experience. The condo was very well equipped, comfortable and quiet. The unit faces East and get's nice sun exposure on the deck until just before noon. If you do like the afternoon sun, it's an easy stroll to the front oceanside of the building where you can park yourself in the supplied beach chairs. Nice cross section of folks stay here as well, everyone seems very friendly ( who wouldn't be in Kauai?).

Very well located building, close to amenities but far enough out to be peaceful. Tim was great to deal with and we'll definitely look forward to returning soon.

Cheers

Randy and Colleen

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 481 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

I won't repeat the physical descriptions about the building or the surroundings except to repeat it is oceanfront at its extreme meaning. Nothing between you and the Pacific. Being on the fourth and top floor was a bit reassuring tsunami wise, that and the fact the building seems to be rock solid. We found the unit to be in reasonably good shape but a bit tired looking in the kitchen. The stove looks like it's the original from 1976 and smaller than the standard 30". Also the cutlery was in short supply and we ran the dishwasher (which is newer) more than necessary. As has been mentioned the bedrooms in the building are towards the back of the unit and the window fronts on the open hallway, so anyone passing making noise will be heard. This unit is far from the road and parking lot so those are not issues and the three weeks we were there the ocean waves drowned out any such distractions.. Apart from the kitchen improvements the rest of the unit is nicely furnished and the Wi-Fi is good.We also got a great deal on the rental car through the referral system when you rent the unit and used it extensively to explore Kauai. BTW Parking at the condo was never an issue.

For us the biggest downside was that once we got back for the day we did not want to go out. There is no way to improve your dining experience. You have the ocean in front of you, whales spouting in the distance the sun setting off to the right, why go out. I would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: on the fourth floor units 409 and higher face the ocean. the 01's are closest to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wyseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our week at the Kuhio Shores 403 was very good. The condo was all it was advertised as. The location, overlooking the bay, was nice and, we had a good view of the ocean.

We enjoyed watching the turtles in the bay, along with snorkelers, and seeing many migrating whales, with the ocean view we also had. Sunrise is spectacular from this unit.

The housekeeping was outstanding. We arrived a little early, met the housekeeker, who allowed us to store our perishable items in the frig. We noticed the cleanliness of the unit as soon as we entered. She did a fabulous job!

The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of cooking utensils and enough dishes and glasses to keep us happy for meals.

The king bed was very comfortable for us. One of the best rests we have had on our journeys away from home. There was plenty of space in the closet and enough hangars for all our clothes.

The bathroom was also nice. The tub and shower was good, with plenty of hot water and water pressure.

In general the unit was exceptionally quiet. There was no noise between units and outside noise was minimal. We were not bothered by any street noise. The restaurant next door had an outside event one evening, but the music stopped at a very reasonable and early time, so it was not an issue at all.

This was a perfect location for exploring the immediate area, as well as outlying areas of the island. It is an ideal condo for a couple.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Prius909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

All in all a great groundfloor ocean front condo. The overall condition is slightly tired, but spotless and well equipped. Both bedrooms/beds are large and well appointed, the kitchen is complete, and the living room is set up for maximum ocean view. I would prefer the current smallish flatscreen tv be put into a bedroom, and a larger flatscreen be placed in the living room, especially during football season. The location is best of all. Surfers, snorklers, SUPs, whales, turtles, dolphins right out your windows/doors. Total unobstructed view, gorgeous sunset over the ocean. A bonus is the Beachhouse restaurant 30 feet away. Great sunset viewing from the open air bar. 5 minutes to cool old style town of Koloa, 20 minutes to airport/Costco. On site maintenance staff very helpful, and the owner, Don Brown is super guest friendly. Only regret, couldn't stay longer. Will be back, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned about this unit being ground floor. No trees, shrubs or anything obstructing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This condo (#402) was top notch!! It's got a beautiful east-facing lanai (balcony) that offers gorgeous sunrise views and overlooks a bay that occasionally offers a turtle or whale-spouting performance. Everything in the condo was complete and new (or felt like it). Besides an enormous TV screen in the living room, it has a very complete kitchen as well as games and a beautiful tile floor throughout, which is also very practical for a beach unit. It has a very modern and complete kitchen with microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, waffle iron, and much more. The bedroom is very home-like, including a second large-screen TV (not used, but still there if needed) and an ironing board and iron in the closet, along with Tommy Bahama chairs that can be taken downstairs and set on the west lawn to enjoy the Hawaiian sunsets.
We enjoyed all of the amenities that allowed us to cook and eat "at home" (knife set, cutting board, quality selection of plates and silverware, glasses, Tupperware, etc.). Being January, we did encounter quite a bit of rain but there were also plenty of hours of beautiful skies for hiking, touring the nearby National Tropical Botanical Garden, going on an awesome helicopter ride out of Lihue, and snorkeling nearby. Absolutely loved the entire stay and look forward to renting this condo again in the future for an even longer vacation in Kauai. Perfect location in South Shore!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredCole2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have just returned from 3 fabulous weeks staying at Kuhio Shores in this great condo. It is spacious and beautifully furnished and maintained with everything you need for a wonderful stay in Kauai. The unit is truly oceanfront with unobstructed ocean views and a very convenient location in Poipu. The building itself is very well maintained with nice grounds, and my favorite restaurant is right next door! The owners are very friendly and helpful and provide lots of useful information before you arrive and during your stay if needed. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone who wants to visit Kauai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drphil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This condo is absolutely beautiful! Ground floor location was very convenient for getting to the beach for snorkeling or just hanging out on the lawn watching turtles, dolphins and whales. No need to go anywhere else! The unit is very nicely appointed with everything we needed for the kitchen...plenty of wine glasses! I liked that there were 2 bathrooms...his and hers. I cannot say enough about it. We WILL be back next year! We have stayed in other units here...all good...but this is my favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $175 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing