We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Condo on the Beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I loved 113 Kuhio Shores. It is a ground floor condo, and we loved that! Literally about 20 feet from the ocean, and the sound of the waves crashing against the lava rock in front of the condo we found amazing.
Clean clean clean, nicely renovated. No air conditioner (which would have been fabulous, as May is quite hot) but ceiling fans and a stand up fan.
Laundry is on every floor, not in the unit, which would have been a bonus also.
Nicely equiped unit, toilet paper and shampoo, lotions etc.
Quiet area. Turtle watching, husband saw 2 whales (although april is the end of the whale watching season, so he was lucky) and surfers out on the ocean doing their thing!
HIghly recommended. We would come back to this unit.

Room Tip: 113 ground floor, right in the middle of the condo block. very very private lanai. you cant see yo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Kuhio Shores Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 477 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This property is by far the cleanest we have ever rented. My wife is a "clean freak", so she really appreciated it. The views are fantastic, and access is very easy as it is a ground-floor unit. The unit has all the amenities. Noting lacking that we noticed. We have stayed at Kuhio Shores before and returned because we love the fact that the units are directly on the water.
Nearby are good restaurants: Beach House, Paradise Burger (excellent for Breakfast) and Pomodoro. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very nice condo on third floor, wonderful views (corner unit for perfect sunset viewing).
Inside unit is well kept (clean), very nice kitchen, bedrooms, living area, and
balcony sitting area. Located next to Beach House restaurant on the way to "spouting horn" area. Perfect location for Poipu Area (lots to do).
Owner is very nice and easy to work with. Plenty of off street parking. Easy walk to nice new shopping center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJWca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just got married in Kauai, and we stayed in Kuhio Shores #303 for 6 nights. I can't imagine better accommodations.

Kuhio Shores is on the waterfront across the street from Prince Kuhio Park. Traffic was relatively light and the speed limit is only 20 because of the nearby beach. This made crossing the street easy. Several mornings we went for walks or runs on the boardwalk that stretches for miles in both directions. There isn't much to see going west: houses hide the beach and a golf course is on the right. The east path is much prettier, and I found it interesting for miles.

The unit was spacious and comfortable. We had a wedding party of 13, and we were able to comfortably host two dinners and a lunch. There were just enough plates. The BBQs in the parking lot were a nice addition. I hooked up my laptop to the HDTV to show slide shows. Internet access was speedy, and we were able to connect all four of our devices and our guests devices.

The lanai faces east toward sunrise, which is important if you want to be comfortable in the afternoon and evening. We watched whales and turtles, and one morning we even spotted a pod of dolphins. We snorkeled near the complex and saw gigantic turtles. I had to move out of the way of one big fella.

The unit does not have air conditioning. I was concerned about this when I booked it, but the proximity of the ocean and a cool breeze made it so we never needed one. It was close to 80 degrees most of the week, and we were always comfortable with the ceiling fans and rotating floor fan.

The unit comes with one parking pass. We never had difficulty finding parking. A landscaping crew even blocked off a bunch of parking spaces to trim trees, but there was never an issue. Our guest were able to park on the street less than a two minute walk away.

We would definitely stay here again. Why anyone would stay in a hotel and pay the ridiculous resort fees is beyond me. My new sister-in-law was charged $22.50 per person per day at her hotel. Consider that weekly hidden cost for a family of four.

Kuhio Shores #303 was clean, comfortable, and beautiful. It is conveniently located for the south side of the island, and is maybe 20 minutes from the airport. I just hope we can still book the place after you read this review.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a delight to have discovered kuhio shores unit #206! We could not have asked for more in a rental unit, although it didnt even feel as if we were in a "rental". Everything about the unit made us feel at home from the tastefull and luxurious decor in a tropical/asian/pacific theme to the amenities like beach gear, coolers, all appliances (except for washer/dryer which is just down the hall) , and household, bath, and kitchen supplies. The condo was spotless when we arrived and we were happy to have plenty of guide books, extra keys, and the owners own recommendations for local activities. The building has an elevator and luggage hand cart as well, which was very much appreciated after lugging around heavy suitcases all day.
The owners Ken and Wanda were wonderful to work with and made for such an easy and seamless rental process that made us feel so relaxed about staying in somebody else's "home" (unlike another rental unit on the island that we stayed at and had so many rules and restrictions that we felt like we couldn't even enjoy it)!! The booking was quick and simple, self check-in was super easy and accurate, and I was so surprised to have received my deposit returned so promptly... It was in my mailbox hours after I returned from vacation!
I can't say enough good enough things about the location and views from #206, either! We enjoyed every morning and evening on the waterfront lanai (in exceptionally comfortable furniture) watching snorkelers, kayakers, sunrises and the lulling sounds of the water. During the day we enjoyed walking to little hidden beaches around the corner, viewing the spouting horn up the road, or just sitting on the lawn of The Beach House restaurant nextdoor with a cocktail to watch the sunset.
Have no doubt that you'll be totally satisfied with your stay at Kuhio Shores #206 from booking to leaving! But be forewarned, you won't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAP0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We didn't really expect too much from the description, but as soon as we entered this condo, it was a tropical paradise. As many reviewers said before me, it's right at the oceanfront and we saw so many whales from our lanai, it was incredible! More than on our whale watching trip, in fact!
The condo was very well equipped, really a home away from home. The king-size bed was comfortable, which for us is a really big deal. But the view is to die for... Enjoy the sunsets off the lanai or have an upscale dinner at the Beach House (right next door), where people really did everything to accommodate us on short notice.
It's close to all the Poipu attractions such as Poipu Beach, Allerton Gardens and Spouting Horn. We also revisited Waimea Canyon, which is always worth a trip and for the first time dared the (unpaved) road to Polihale Beach, which is absolutely incredible.
Tip: give the "Shops at Kukui'ula" a miss and visit the "old" Poipu Village! Have a (slightly overpriced but delicious) Hot Dog at "Puka Dogs", with Mango relish and their homemade lemonade...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VidaBoheme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have traveled to many vacation destinations over the last twelve years so we know what we like and #415 at Kuhio Shores is one of the best places we have stayed in. The oceanfront condo is like walking into your home. Lovely hawaiian themed furnishigs accent the rooms making it feel warm and tropical. The sound of the ocean is ever present allowing you to relax and enjoy the amazing view and the evening sunsets. You may even catch a whale breaching outside your window or a sea turtle catching some sun on the rocks below. Mike and Sue have covered all the bases if you want to go to the beach everything you need is right there or if you just want to spend the evening home cooking a lovely meal and having a glass of wine on the lanai. Mike was very easy to deal with and delivered on all accounts I really appreciated his attentivness in making sure we had a good visit and that we experienced the aloha spirit that Hawaii is known for. Whether your a couple or a family Kuhio Shores #415 is a great place to stay with close proximity to beaches as well as great hiking trails and if your going in the winter this is the place to go for sun. While other parts of the island might be having showers it's sunny and warm in Po'ipu. We will definitley choose #415 the next time we come to visit Kauai.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vaughn67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $175 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing